2/24 Rosa AMPS 92 +1 98 +4 69 +5 86 +8.75 75 PMPS 100 +2 76 +3 66 +4 41 +4.5 92 +5.25 116 +7 95

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thank you for looking in on her ss - that's getting updated while I'm out, but I'm doing her condo when I get home so it's great to have people looking in on how she's doing :) And it looks like I get an early finish for a few days while I'm training which is quite a nice gently way back into working too :)
 
Well hopefully she'll do like she did today and just surf....she dropped about the same this morning

Rosa! Give your bean a break!! PJ parties are fun and all, but us beans do occasionally need to sleep more than 1 hour at a time!
 
It would be nice if she did, but I'm just not sure - it was a bit later in the cycle this morning when she dropped the same amount.

She doesn't like giving me a break - why would she want to do that when she can get all the attention (and spoon-fed gravy) by making me stay awake? ;) Though she's already eaten at least 2 dinners I think - I had to make sure Regan actually got some food tonight!!
 
Oh they do - the main problem I have is keeping her head out of the bowl...she'd finish the lot in one go if I didn't stop her ;) She even likes the honey when I have to add that. Though I don't think she's realized that if she keeps going down the doses like she has been, she won't be getting any more gravy or honey...or pj parties...but let's not tell her that ;)
 
When China dropped under 50 her first time, I'd been told to give her some Karo/honey/syrup...but nobody said how much, so in my panic (thinking she was going to die if she dropped to 48) I dumped about a cup of maple syrup into a bowl and gave it to her. I was shocked that she really liked it!!

Of course when you give them a cup of syrup to lap up, their numbers go up...and up...and up....LOL
 
Haha :) She must have thought it was all her birthdays and Christmases come at once!! I remember thinking that not so long ago when Rosa went under 50 for the first time - I was literally waiting for her to have a seizure or go into a coma the moment she went below 50 lol. Serryn was helping me and told me to give her a little honey (fortunately she stressed the little or I'd probably have had the lid off the jar of honey and offered her the whole thing)!! I totally misread the numbers on the needleless syringe I was using - I said I'd given her 1.5ml when I'd actually given her 0.3! Fortunately, the 0.3 seemed to be enough.
 
OK, I just did a bad Mom thing and tested Regan - just to see where she's at on the same meter with the same food as she's the genetically closest to Rosa. She actually sat still for me too...and she's at 71 so comfortably in the healthy range. I guess I've nothing to worry about with her!!
 
So for the first time ever, Rosa did seem to show slight symptoms at the 41 tonight - when I picked her up for the test, she tried to bite me...not hard, but she NEVER does that. I think she was feeling a bit off - though if I maybe got a meter reading towards the +20%, she might actually have been quite well down in the 30s.

I doubt I'll make a habit of testing Regan - she was there and I was kind of curious about what her normal level might be, and what sort of numbers might be reasonable to expect from Rosa at a similar point in the day as they were both fed at the same time. Didn't seem to bother her any though :)
 
So for the first time ever, Rosa did seem to show slight symptoms at the 41 tonight - when I picked her up for the test, she tried to bite me...not hard, but she NEVER does that. I think she was feeling a bit off - though if I maybe got a meter reading towards the +20%, she might actually have been quite well down in the 30s.

I doubt I'll make a habit of testing Regan - she was there and I was kind of curious about what her normal level might be, and what sort of numbers might be reasonable to expect from Rosa at a similar point in the day as they were both fed at the same time. Didn't seem to bother her any though :)
Once when my Lucy had a reading of 2.3/41 when I picked her up she was very grumpy and growling and the vet suggested maybe cats gets grumpy when their glucose levels are low like people do. I thought I would tell you that as I found it interesting that your Rosa seemed a bit grumpy too.
 
Thank you - that does help to know. :) My old vet thought Rosa might get headaches occasionally - apparently some cats just do, the same way some people do. So I wonder if she got a headache from being low - I know if I go too long without eating I get a headache, and I don't generally have any sort of BG problem. She's been fine with the tests since then so it has to have been related to the number somehow. And she clearly is very, very carb sensitive - the small amount of hc and one drop of honey brought her right back up within half an hour. She seems just fine now - and she got her reduction too which is good. :D
 
Congrats on the reduction. :D I'm glad she did it at night when you are home. Now you get to try those really small doses!

I've only tested my civie once (53), but that's because he tested over 200 at the vet the previous day. :eek:
 
Thank you - that does help to know. :) My old vet thought Rosa might get headaches occasionally - apparently some cats just do, the same way some people do. So I wonder if she got a headache from being low - I know if I go too long without eating I get a headache, and I don't generally have any sort of BG problem. She's been fine with the tests since then so it has to have been related to the number somehow. And she clearly is very, very carb sensitive - the small amount of hc and one drop of honey brought her right back up within half an hour. She seems just fine now - and she got her reduction too which is good. :D
You and Rosa are doing very well and congratulations on the reduced dose.
 
Thank you :D I'm glad I was home too - I'm not sure how she'd have done if Michael had had to test her when she was grumpy as she's very definitely MY cat so it's as well I was here. I'm going to have to get the calipers out first thing in the morning and figure out the 0.1 dose - hopefully with just enough left to measure that I can still go down to 'a drop' if she gets herself another reduction...she's gone so fast I'd prefer not to withdraw all insulin support too quickly now!! I think I'd be just as scared to stop it completely as I was when I started giving it to her.

It must have been a worrying moment when your civie tested high like that - though it sounds like it must have been vet stress fortunately! Poor Regan was very good about it - she was just in the wrong place right at the time I thought about maybe getting a spot check on her - I guess it doesn't hurt to confirm that she's healthy though :)
 
Thank you Voula - she's back to being her usual relaxed self now so I'm not too worried about her overall :)
 
It must have been a worrying moment when your civie tested high like that - though it sounds like it must have been vet stress fortunately!
Yes - it was definitely vet stress. It was a Sunday and he was having a cystitis episode so a long drive across town cause his vet was closed, waiting in a vet clinic with barky dogs, then a male vet - all in a skittish cat. Thank goodness I could test him at home and rule out another vet visit.
 
That makes me kind of glad I tested Regan here - she has very bad vet stress...and travel stress...and every other type of stress there is unless I'm holding her! She'd probably test really high at the vet too. At least it'll be something I can always take a spot check on for her if I think I need to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top