Re: 2/24 Pepper AMPS 458 - Question?
that was a nice day yesterday, sorry about the bounce.
This is a good question, and it is one that you will probably find different opinions on depending on who you ask. ;-)
This is a point at which a lot of the high dose parents will say that you need to keep increasing every 4-6 cycles, even though Pepper is hitting green. My opinion is a little different. I think you still need to pay some attention to what the numbers are saying. I would wait and see if the bounce clears before deciding. Notice I say "if" the bounce clears. See how after Pepper's last couple of greens, he bounced but then never really came out of the bounce until you increased again? That is pretty common with insulin resistance. If the bounce doesn't clear, then he'll need an increase to start things moving again. I'm not talking about waiting long, just a couple of days.
I disagree with the people who go ahead and assume that the bounce isn't going to clear, and increase anyway. They are probably right that he will need an increase, but one of these days Pepper will be at a good dose and the bounce WILL clear. If you keep increasing and increasing before that has a chance to happen, then the cat is always seeing NDW and you may never see what a dose can actually do. I understand the concept of getting ahead of the resistance, but I also think it needs to be done with some consideration toward letting the insulin do its job.
Sienne is right that as you go along, you'll want to learn as much as you can about Pepper's patterns. We always say ECID, but that seems to be even more true with the high dose cats. Your job is to become the expert in Pepper. I have a tendency to say that I made a lot of decisions about Jazzy's treatment based on gut instinct, but really it was gut instinct based on my knowledge of how Lantus/Levemir work. You will find that you are doing the same.