2/24 Pearl PMPS 51, +0.5 50, +1 52, +1.5 50, +2 48, +2.5 64, +3 64; +3.75 72, +5 60, +6 61, +7.5 69

I see you put your BOS's to good use again....Great Job Margaret!!! Your paving the way for me again!
Good luck with Pearl tonight... she's doing fantastic....and so are you...way to go!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you!! I can't believe it, we made it to a reduction! I am so happy for Pearl, and for her pancreas working! I didn't get a chance to respond to you earlier Tammy (had to go into the office, and once I got home...well you know what is going on HERE!) but THANK YOU for telling me that the spreadsheet is working better for you! I am excited for you and Missy and all the new information and patterns for you this way!
 
Congrats on the reduction!
I would probably give her more 3% food instead of 0. She still has the full 3 unit depot, and may not go up a lot. And its night time! I bet you know what to do. But what timing!
She is so dramatic! I gave double her usual 3%, test again in 5 min. If it hasn't done the trick, I will increase further. Thanks for the reminder about the depot. I can't believe this is happening! But now I have a pattern for what she does when she goes low...edges around the low numbers all day then, boom she kisses a little shark.
 
Great job everyone! Congrats on the reduction. Looks like my crystal ball was working. :woot::woot::woot:

Sorry I missed all the excitement but we were out later than I thought. You got some great advice and support!
Hi and thank you for your note! Yes your crystal ball always works!!

I would like to ask your input on feeding Marje - she isn't rising, and the PM dose will kick in in about 30 minutes to an hour I believe. I am going to add more 3% and another drop of the syrup, but I don't want to skyrocket her and am not sure how NOT to do that. Do you have any thoughts as you know Pearlie well?
 
I am going to add more 3% and another drop of the syrup, but I don't want to skyrocket her and am not sure how NOT to do that
I'm sure Marje will respond if she is around but just my two cents - every cycle is an experiment and she has nothing to prove this cycle as she got her reduction already...I was going to suggest a bit (1/2t?) of your MC. Then we could see what she does with that...she is still so early in the cycle...just my thoughts :)
 
I'm sure Marje will respond if she is around but just my two cents - every cycle is an experiment and she has nothing to prove this cycle as she got her reduction already...I was going to suggest a bit (1/2t?) of your MC. Then we could see what she does with that...she is still so early in the cycle...just my thoughts :)
Ugh, I gave the 3 tsp 3% and 1 drop syrup already. I will test in 30 and get the 13% MC ready. Does this sound ok? Her NADIR should either be flat as we are now or happen at around +2. But we have never been low like this all day so I don't have any idea what will happen.
 
Yes your crystal ball always works!!
Well, not always :rolleyes::p

No one knows her as well as you. But ...look at this morning. She dropped a huge amount from AMPS to +1.5. You got that stopped.

If she is eating well and you think she will continue to eat, give her a little more after you test at +1 and add a drop of syrup because you are still dealing with the 3u depot. What might be more ideal is if you have any higher carb food that you could just give the regular amount.

I was late responding and see you already fed but Susanne was spot on.

I’ve got to run out and pick up dinner. My treat for being out all day. I’ll check back in when I get back. But if Susanne is with you, that is great.
 
It really helps having a cat that loves food (Jax is the same way lol). I'm going to hop I the shower (yes I shower at night lol) but I'll see you in a bit..9:05? You're east coast, right?
Hi, after 20 min no change, still 52. So I gave another 3 tsp of the 13% carb and will check in another 30 min. Yes? If no change, I will do the HC food (24% carb). Yes?

And yup, East Coast. You too? Maryland. And lol I showered before her PMPS, it's a good way to relax at the end of the day!
 
Hi, after 20 min no change, still 52. So I gave another 3 tsp of the 13% carb and will check in another 30 min. Yes? If no change, I will do the HC food (24% carb). Yes?

And yup, East Coast. You too? Maryland. And lol I showered before her PMPS, it's a good way to relax at the end of the day!
Sounds good like a plan. I've used HC in the 50s after a reduction before (9/26/20...and that was after I skipped...his depot was so full!).

The depot is relentless (+ the new insulin on board) BUT this time in the greens is the payoff.

And yes, East Coast - down in NC :)
 
Hi, after 20 min no change, still 52. So I gave another 3 tsp of the 13% carb and will check in another 30 min. Yes? If no change, I will do the HC food (24% carb). Yes?

And yup, East Coast. You too? Maryland. And lol I showered before her PMPS, it's a good way to relax at the end of the day!
So i just did another test at 30 (10 min later)...it's 48. Does this mean another reduction or just leftovers?!
 
Sounds good like a plan. I've used HC in the 50s after a reduction before (9/26/20...and that was after I skipped...his depot was so full!).

The depot is relentless (+ the new insulin on board) BUT this time in the greens is the payoff.

And yes, East Coast - down in NC :)
Got it! Maybe that is what I've got to learn - the feeding after a reduction. So far, it's behaving pretty differently from when I usually stop a drop with her, I usually can do that with the 3% only.

And, Susanne - thank you. I know you've got a lot going on with your little Jax and I feel awful and yet so appreciate you taking the time to help me figure this out.
 
So i just did another test at 30 (10 min later)...it's 48. Does this mean another reduction or just leftovers?!
It’s the depot so you don’t take another reduction. She’s pretty flat, really but we have a long cycle ahead. If you overcarb her, it’s ok. They will wear off but it’s best she’s up a little more.

Susanne...if you need to do something else, I’m around now and will keep checking in. Up to you.
 
Got it! Maybe that is what I've got to learn - the feeding after a reduction. So far, it's behaving pretty differently from when I usually stop a drop with her, I usually can do that with the 3% only.
Yes I always found the cycle (or two) after a reduction required higher carbs. You'll learn. Just keep your notes (like you are doing!).

And, Susanne - thank you. I know you've got a lot going on with your little Jax and I feel awful and yet so appreciate you taking the time to help me figure this out.
Of course :bighug: And Jax is in recovery mode...I'm in worrying-a-bit-less mode :p

Susanne...if you need to do something else, I’m around now and will keep checking in. Up to you.
Thanks, Marje :bighug: That would be great if you could keep an eye out for Margaret & Pearl :bighug:
 
It’s the depot so you don’t take another reduction. She’s pretty flat, really but we have a long cycle ahead. If you overcarb her, it’s ok. They will wear off but it’s best she’s up a little more.

Susanne...if you need to do something else, I’m around now and will keep checking in. Up to you.

Thank you for being here, Marje! I gave her 4 tsp of the 13% 15 minutes ago. Should I wait until I test her in 15 min, or give some of the HC (24%) now you think? Up till now, the 3% I usually use, 2 maple syrup drops, and 6 tsp of the 13% haven't worked.
 
Thank you for being here, Marje! I gave her 4 tsp of the 13% 15 minutes ago. Should I wait until I test her in 15 min, or give some of the HC (24%) now you think? Up till now, the 3% I usually use, 2 maple syrup drops, and 6 tsp of the 13% haven't worked.
Give her 30:minutes from after she has eaten. It takes about 30 mins for food to affect the BG. If you try and feed every 15. Ins, you will overcsrb her for sure.
 
Yes I always found the cycle (or two) after a reduction required higher carbs. You'll learn. Just keep your notes (like you are doing!).

Of course :bighug: And Jax is in recovery mode...I'm in worrying-a-bit-less mode :p

Thanks, Marje :bighug: That would be great if you could keep an eye out for Margaret & Pearl :bighug:
Absolutely. Thank YOU for being here when she needed the help. I hope Jax is ok. :bighug:
 
Summary:
PMPS @ +12.25: 51
+0.5: 50
+1: 52
+1.5: 50
+2: 48

I know it’s a pain, Margaret, but if you have a second to update the SS, that would be super. Thank you.
 
I think I had it there, do you mean I should change and write it like this?
In the PMPS column, you would put: 46: 51 @ +12.25

That tells us you shot fifteen minutes after +12.

In the +1 column, you’d put: 50 @ +0.5; 52 @ +1; 50 @ +1.5
In the +2 column: 48; 64 @ +2.5

I’m going off the numbers in your subject line.

If she is hungry, you might give her some of her 3% and see if they bumps her up since the syrup will wear off. We want the LC to try and keep her flat or give her a little boost. Then please test 30 mins after she eats.
 
In the PMPS column, you would put: 46: 51 @ +12.25

That tells us you shot fifteen minutes after +12.

In the +1 column, you’d put: 50 @ +0.5; 52 @ +1; 50 @ +1.5
In the +2 column: 48; 64 @ +2.5

I’m going off the numbers in your subject line.

If she is hungry, you might give her some of her 3% and see if they bumps her up since the syrup will wear off. We want the LC to try and keep her flat or give her a little boost. Then please test 30 mins after she eats.
Ok got it. I have this in her SS. She won't eat right now (but that is ok I think she she is 64 at +2.5). I can try again in 30 min. The 13% MC seems to be doing the trick.
 
Ok got it. I have this in her SS. She won't eat right now (but that is ok I think she she is 64 at +2.5). I can try again in 30 min. The 13% MC seems to be doing the trick.
I’m confused on the SS. You have 52 @ +1 hour and 50 mins. I’d record that in the +1 column as +1.75. Think of it like this....for each cell, all the time numbers in it should start with the same number as the cell number except +1 because you can have +0.25, +0.5, +0.75, +1, +1.25, +1.5, +1.75.

The +2 cell will have the +2, +2.25, +2.5, and +2.75 tests. Make sense?
 
I’m confused on the SS. You have 52 @ +1 hour and 50 mins. I’d record that in the +1 column as +1.75. Think of it like this....for each cell, all the time numbers in it should start with the same number as the cell number except +1 because you can have +0.25, +0.5, +0.75, +1, +1.25, +1.5, +1.75.

The +2 cell will have the +2, +2.25, +2.5, and +2.75 tests. Make sense?
Oh ok, yes yes yes I understand now!

She is flattening out! Still 64 @+3, so that is good news! Still not hungry.
 
Oh ok, yes yes yes I understand now!

She is flattening out! Still 64 @+3, so that is good news! Still not hungry.
I wish the little one would eat a bit and you could let her go an hour. She’s had a lot of tests today (not being critical just thinking of her ears) and it seems that a little food might help her keep from dropping so you could give her a bit of a break. What do you think?


Summary:
PMPS @ +12.25: 51
+0.5: 50
+1: 52
+1.5: 50
+2: 48
+2.5: 64
+3: 64
 
I wish the little one would eat a bit and you could let her go an hour. She’s had a lot of tests today (not being critical just thinking of her ears) and it seems that a little food might help her keep from dropping so you could give her a bit of a break. What do you think?


Summary:
PMPS @ +12.25: 51
+0.5: 50
+1: 52
+1.5: 50
+2: 48
+2.5: 64
+3: 64

I don't mind going 45 min till the next test if you think that would be ok? I just tried again, and even the treats she goes nut for, she won't eat them. This is the usual time she takes a break from eating at night, so that is normal for her. But I know an hour between test right now might be a stretch b/c we don't have proooof yet she is flat. She does usually eat something in about 45 minutes from right now.
 
I don't mind going 45 min till the next test if you think that would be ok? I just tried again, and even the treats she goes nut for, she won't eat them. This is the usual time she takes a break from eating at night, so that is normal for her. But I know an hour between test right now might be a stretch b/c we don't have proooof yet she is flat. She does usually eat something in about 45 minutes from right now.
I will leave it to you whether you test 30 mins or 45 mins after the last test. You know her best. I would hope, as carb sensitive as she is, that the 13% would give her a little “mileage” but we are on a bit of u chartered territory here.
 
I will leave it to you whether you test 30 mins or 45 mins after the last test. You know her best. I would hope, as carb sensitive as she is, that the 13% would give her a little “mileage” but we are on a bit of u chartered territory here.
I tested 45 min later - 72, so moving up from 64! This is good news! But she is still not hungry again yet. Looks like it might be another 45 or hour before she may want to eat. She usually NADIRs early in the cycle (except for this AM cycle....), but I don't know what to expect tonight.
 
Last edited:
I tested 45 min later - 72, so moving up from 64! This is good news! But she is still not hungry. She usually NADIRs early in the cycle (except for this AM cycle....), but I don't know what to expect tonight.
I understand because you have two conflicting things: she’s had more carbs than she typically gets but you are working against a depot. I’d keep trying to get her to eat her LC food...probably 0%. You gave her syrup at +1 so it should be worn off by now. I’m thinking let her go until +4 for a test. Your thoughts?

Summary:
PMPS @ +12.25: 51
+0.5: 50
+1: 52
+1.5: 50
+2: 48
+2.5: 64
+3: 64
+3.75: 72
 
I understand because you have two conflicting things: she’s had more carbs than she typically gets but you are working against a depot. I’d keep trying to get her to eat her LC food...probably 0%. You gave her syrup at +1 so it should be worn off by now. I’m thinking let her go until +4 for a test. Your thoughts?

Summary:
PMPS @ +12.25: 51
+0.5: 50
+1: 52
+1.5: 50
+2: 48
+2.5: 64
+3: 64
+3.75: 72
Yes that is the problem exactly. She ate more carbs than used to and is now full. She is even turning up her nose at treats. I’ve got the 0% in the dish here by her. Usually between now (+4 11:15 pm EST) and +5 she eats so I will offer again midpoint. My sense is that she will get back to her normal pattern and numbers now, but I will stay vigilant and not assume that will happen! I know that I don’t know how she will respond to the depot given her unusual day. Fingers crossed for good things!
 
Yes that is the problem exactly. She ate more carbs than used to and is now full. She is even turning up her nose at treats. I’ve got the 0% in the dish here by her. Usually between now (+4 11:15 pm EST) and +5 she eats so I will offer again midpoint. My sense is that she will get back to her normal pattern and numbers now, but I will stay vigilant and not assume that will happen! I know that I don’t know how she will respond to the depot given her unusual day. Fingers crossed for good things!
Yes, fingers crossed.

I wanted to answer a question you had earlier today. It was regarding taking a reduction. After a week (14 cycles) in normal numbers mostly under 100.

When I look at her SS, I would have started the count of a week on 2/18 because that’s when she started spending more time overall below 100. That means today would have been 7 days and tonight 14 cycles. Is that clear when you look at her SS?
 
Yes, fingers crossed.

I wanted to answer a question you had earlier today. It was regarding taking a reduction. After a week (14 cycles) in normal numbers mostly under 100.

When I look at her SS, I would have started the count of a week on 2/18 because that’s when she started spending more time overall below 100. That means today would have been 7 days and tonight 14 cycles. Is that clear when you look at her SS?

Hi - so we are back down to 60 @+5. I've given 1T of the 13% mixed with a leeeetle 0% just now (but she only ate half so far). I don't think I want to mess with the 3% and what if it does/does not work tonight. She will not eat the 0% on it’s own. I am thankful she will eat something.

I appreciate you explaining about that alternate way to earn a dose reduction - how crazy that Pearl's period to earn would have ended today, so no matter what - she was getting that reduction! How FUNNY!!

I think I understand a little bit better why you were mentioning the depot - it's b/c her body still is operating on 3 units, yes? And that means it may pull her down again, yes? How long till that extra in the depot fades away?

Marje I don't want you to have to stay awake. I feel so bad b/c I know it is getting late where you are at. I will plan on testing again in another hour (1:15am EST). I don't know what to expect on how long this flip flopping may drag on. But I am hoping we can see definitively that the 13% will work and then I can feel comfortable handling it alone.
 
Last edited:
- so we are back down to 60 @+5.
That depot can be so stubborn!! I would try to get her up so you can get some rest tonight and I’m hoping giving the 13% this late in the cycle will get her Bg up for you. She’s safe but I know you have to be exhausted.

I think I understand a little bit better why you were mentioning the depot - it's b/c her body still is operating on 3 units, yes? And that means it may pull her down again, yes? How long till that extra in the depot fades away?
Yes and yes. The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles although it’s often more around four. That means, in the next four cycles, she might drop below 50 again but unless it’s in the 30s, you won’t reduce.

Marje I don't want you to have to stay awake. I feel so bad b/c I know it is getting late where you are at. I will plan on testing again in another hour (1:15am EST). I don't know what to expect on how long this flip flopping may drag on. But I am hoping we can see definitively that the 13% will work and then I can feel comfortable handling it alone.
If you need the support and company, I can be up another hour if that would help you.
 
That depot can be so stubborn!! I would try to get her up so you can get some rest tonight and I’m hoping giving the 13% this late in the cycle will get her Bg up for you. She’s safe but I know you have to be exhausted.

Yes I am really tired. And I can tell she is getting testy. She has been very patient with all the poking and prodding today!

Yes and yes. The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles although it’s often more around four. That means, in the next four cycles, she might drop below 50 again but unless it’s in the 30s, you won’t reduce.

This is good to know!! I'm hoping I will have figured it out by the end of tonight so I'll know what I need to feed her if she decides to go low and stay low again.

If you need the support and company, I can be up another hour if that would help you.

Maybe that would be a good idea, yes and thank you so very much. Just to make sure I can see the 13% does something and know that I have a plan for the rest of her night.
 
Back
Top