2/24 Ozzy PMPS 324, +2.5 240, +4.5 163

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

This kitty is driving me crazy. I just want to get him back to blues/greens. I suppose an increase is in order. Should we bump him back up to .75U with tonight's dose?

It's been 5 days since the non-event. We skipped the PM dose that night and since then he's spent almost all his time in yellows and pinks.

What do you guys think? Increase??
 
Kind of curious why a kitty's insulin needs may change so frequently??? Why is there a need to keep increasing and decreasing the dose? I'm seeing that a lot with members on the board here. Obviously I get why a decrease is needed or why an increase is needed, but I don't understand why this fluctuates so much.
 
Last edited:
Checking in on you and your boys :bighug:......glad u have the 3 day weekend to sort this all out . It boggles my mind and I thought getting Elmo to consistently poop was an ordeal :banghead:. Hugs and cheering you and Team Ozzy on . :bighug::bighug:
 
Kind of curious why a kitty's insulin needs may change so frequently??? Why is there a need to keep increasing and decreasing the dose? I'm seeing that a lot with members on the board here. Obviously I get why a decrease is needed or why an increase is needed, but I don't understand why this fluctuates so much.
ECID. For acrokitties, the tumour can pulse up and pulse down. For IAA kitties, the antibodies play games grabbing and releasing the injected insulin. For other kitties (inflammation, infection, heart condition, kidney condition, pancreatitis, thyroid conditions, etc. ) there can be insulin resistance caused by the secondary condition. How the secondary condition goes with treatment can impact the insulin needs. For kitties without either of these conditions, it's more the pancreas beta cells role in things. They can heal, but if not given enough time to relax and heal in normal numbers, they can poop out again. Note - not scientific terminology. :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top