2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 +4 298 +8 295 ~would like input~

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
I can't help wondering if something else is going on here? Infection, maybe these sores he keeps getting are not helping. I hope we are not dealing with a possible pancreatitis here. I can't afford an appointment for him at all, let alone the others at the moment. We are having some rather difficult times right now. But please don't let that stop you all from giving me some insight here.

Thanks!
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 ~would like input~

tell us more about the sores... where are they, how many, what do they look and feel like, are they spreading, and is there a pattern? do they heal? if so, how long does it take?
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 ~would like input~

How does he seem to feel? Is he acting differently than he normally does? It is possible that you aren't at the right dose yet. We started Gracie really low (.5u) and had to make our way up to 1.25u to start seeing a difference and she is a small cat. I think I'd check with the dosing experts on continuing to take him up .25u at a time per the protocol. Without a vet visit, I am not sure what your other options might be.
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 ~would like input~

Like Christie, I'd like to know more about the sores you mentioned.

Are there other symptoms that would lead you to think that Mike has pancreatitis? Most cats who have a flare are "meatloafing (sitting/lying in a sort of hunched position)," don't want to eat, are nauseated, may vomit, lethargic, and just seem "off." Are you seeing any of this?

I think I had mentioned this previously and like Marjorie, I tend to think that when you are ready to raise Mike's dose, you do so by 0.25u. Adding a drop is a technique that is used if you need to fine tune a dose. I don't think Mike is at that point yet.
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 +4 298 +8 295 ~would like in

It has been a terrible morning for us, the furkids are fine. We had a doctors appointment for some serious pain issues regarding the caboose (I'm sure some of you no what I mean). In mid stream of waiting I was told that I had to come back later because the doctor was running behind (I would have at another time thought that to be funny - but I was rather miffed!) I told the receptionist I could not (ie Buddy, work, etc.). So I am scheduled for Monday. And we feel like crap so forgive me if I seem a little unsettled.

Buddy's sore seems to radiate about his upper area, neck and head. They can be the size of a fingernail to the size of a half dollar. Sometimes they get to be irritated so bad they become seeping wounds that I have to keep cleaning and putting something on them. I am going to give him some Atopica when I get home tonight. They take sometimes about two weeks to close up and crust as long as he does not scratch them. About another week or so to become soft healed over spots. They some and go, and not with much of a pattern.

As for his attitude its pretty good. He is 11.5 years old. Has allegory based asthma, a slight heart murmur (I do not now what stage it is but its not serious as yet). Weighs 10.2 but use to weigh 12.8. He eats fine, drinks good and plays well for an older kitty. He only throws up when he gets a little mad because their is no food in the dish and he goes around meowing and running about and it make his tummy get upset. So far no keytones in the strip tests. Or hairballs, he seems to be into the over grooming mode which I think is related to the sores. Also we have a bad case of strays running around the area and that teds to make him upset too. As far as I know my insulin "looks" fine. I guess you can't test this stuff somehow.

But no lethargicness, no bumping into things or hiding.
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 +4 298 +8 295 ~would like in

no helpful input from me other than hopes that Buddy feels better soon...

celi & binks
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 +4 298 +8 295 ~would like in

Thanks, it's really frustrating for the moment.
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 +4 298 +8 295 ~would like in

So sorry that you're having pain issues and had to reschedule a doctor's appointment, Mike. :( Hopefully all your issues can be resolved soon!

Do Buddy's sores seem to radiate in a symmetrical way... spreading up the sides in a similar fashion? I'd really recommend getting Buddy to the vet, a dermatologist if possible, for a skin biopsy. His symptoms just sound really familiar. Some possibilities include food or environmental allergen or even pemphigus, which is an auto-immune condition in which the immune system goes wonky and starts seeing skin cells as the enemy, and attacking them. For Willie, the sores started on his belly, but then radiated upward, in almost a straight line up his body. Over 2 months, it affected his paws, legs, face, ears, etc. Most of the possibilities are ones that will not go away without proper treatment. The biopsy will either provide a clear answer, or at least narrow the range of possibilities. Willie was ultimately diagnosed with pemphigus about a week and a half ago. He began treatment with cyclosporine and the turnaround has been nothing short of miraculous. Other than 2 tiny spots, his scabbing is completely gone. HIs face and ears literally cleared overnight after starting treatment. Take a look at his spreadsheet... his numbers dropped like a rock almost immediately as well. Plus, if the sores are seeping at times, it is likely he has some infection going on in them as well. A skin issue and/or an infection can have a very dramatic impact on BG#s.

I would strongly suspect that getting to the bottom of that issue will be the key to getting Buddy's numbers under control. If you have any questions, feel free to PM me!!
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 +4 298 +8 295 ~would like in

Christie & Willie said:
So sorry that you're having pain issues and had to reschedule a doctor's appointment, Mike. :( Hopefully all your issues can be resolved soon!

Do Buddy's sores seem to radiate in a symmetrical way... spreading up the sides in a similar fashion? I'd really recommend getting Buddy to the vet, a dermatologist if possible, for a skin biopsy. His symptoms just sound really familiar. Some possibilities include food or environmental allergen or even pemphigus, which is an auto-immune condition in which the immune system goes wonky and starts seeing skin cells as the enemy, and attacking them. For Willie, the sores started on his belly, but then radiated upward, in almost a straight line up his body. Over 2 months, it affected his paws, legs, face, ears, etc. Most of the possibilities are ones that will not go away without proper treatment. The biopsy will either provide a clear answer, or at least narrow the range of possibilities. Willie was ultimately diagnosed with pemphigus about a week and a half ago. He began treatment with cyclosporine and the turnaround has been nothing short of miraculous. Other than 2 tiny spots, his scabbing is completely gone. HIs face and ears literally cleared overnight after starting treatment. Take a look at his spreadsheet... his numbers dropped like a rock almost immediately as well. Plus, if the sores are seeping at times, it is likely he has some infection going on in them as well. A skin issue and/or an infection can have a very dramatic impact on BG#s.

I would strongly suspect that getting to the bottom of that issue will be the key to getting Buddy's numbers under control. If you have any questions, feel free to PM me!!

I would love to send him to a specialist really. But the budgets not there and I fear it will not be for along time, each day we pray no one needs a run to the ERV because it would be a disaster. The last of what was available was used on Buddy when we found out his BG was high. Since then its been just bare essentials, BG meter, insulin and food.
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 +4 298 +8 295 ~would like in

Not sure which condo is preferred, and I have nothing to add but ... gosh, Buddy's avatar photo is cute.

Sending healing thoughts your way. I hope you get the rash cleared up. Maybe you can cross post on health for more input.
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 +4 298 +8 295 ~would like in

Thank you from Bud an me. Yep, yep he's a photo op if there ever was one! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/24 Mike's Buddy PMPS#345 +4 298 +8 295 ~would like in

Maybe think about putting a cone collar on your cat to stop him from licking on his sores so they can heal.

A cheaper way is to buy chinet paper plates, make a cross slit in the middle of one and fit it over his head.

Of course you will need an open litter box so he can get in it. (not a covered one)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top