Peggy and Mickey (GA)
Member Since 2010
.
I guess you should get through the time change and then look at numbers before deciding to go to .75u.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
And then the sentence Venita quoted came after Peggy answered my question about when the next time change was.Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:Well, he is sitting in the 300s now - that's not good. Lets see if he come down at all on the "fat half unit". Since he was up to more than 3u on the other insulin, he may need a lot more lev. We just don't know how much and with the schedule changes (moving up shots) we don't want to rush the dose increases. But maybe you could increase by quarter units for the next couple of increases? Go to .75u next, then 1u after that. Are you comfortable with that? Normally, I would say to raise him on Saturday if he isn't coming down, but how does that fit with your working schedule and when you will be home to test him? And when is your next time moving him earlier?
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:Since the syringe is in Peggy's hand, not any of ours, she is the best one to make the decision. I have posted several times about raising the dose and I don't like one sentence of my various posts quoted as if I was taking a lackadaisical approach here. In my earlier post I said this:
And then the sentence Venita quoted came after Peggy answered my question about when the next time change was.Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:Well, he is sitting in the 300s now - that's not good. Lets see if he come down at all on the "fat half unit". Since he was up to more than 3u on the other insulin, he may need a lot more lev. We just don't know how much and with the schedule changes (moving up shots) we don't want to rush the dose increases. But maybe you could increase by quarter units for the next couple of increases? Go to .75u next, then 1u after that. Are you comfortable with that? Normally, I would say to raise him on Saturday if he isn't coming down, but how does that fit with your working schedule and when you will be home to test him? And when is your next time moving him earlier?
I would be all for a faster raise if he was on a set 12/12 schedule, but he isn't. His shots get moved forward, and then back, repeatedly. When shot schedules are changed, along with the dose it is impossible to sort out what is causing the BG change, and it makes it take longer to settle on a given dose (as each time change causes enough upset to need its own settle time) so I feel that either smaller dose increases should be used or a longer settle time.
Yes, he needs more insulin. I have said that. I do think that the numbers need to be looked again right before an increase that was planned days before. You look at them and see they are still where they were, so you go ahead and raise the dose - or you see that they are lower and you ask yourself if that effects your decision to raise the dose or not.
Raising the dose from .6u to 1u is a 66% increase. I just don't know that it is a good idea with all the schedule changes happening here. But Peggy it's your call.