2/24 Kismet PMPS 139, +2 173, +4 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Happy Sunday Funday LL!

Time to party with Ruben party_cat Congrats guys! After the hairball scare last night, this par-tay is a way to take a load off! Speaking of a load off, I'm sending poo vines to all puds who gotta go. ;-)

Kismet is feeling much better this morning. He was uncharacteristically aloof and calm last night... I think he had enough of me and my poking. He sleeps with us every night, and last night when we were getting ready for bed, he decided he'd rather hang on the couch downstairs than come up for cuddles and pets. I woke up about an hour later when he hopped up on the bed, though, and then he settled on my chest for purrs and cuddles (our usual pre-ni-ni routine) so I guess he forgave me for any grievances I caused him. I never give treats after pokies (I've never had to... he's so cooperative) but I may start doing that. I read in a post in Health yesterday that Dr. Lisa recommends Jenny-Os fat free turkey as a protein supplement, so perhaps I will try using that!

I fattened up the drop this morning, too, so I am hoping we will get some green today. I feel like he's so close to going back to remission... Mr.P is slowly chugging along, like the little engine that could: "I think I can, I think I can..." I'd want to see him in healing numbers for at least a week, though, before we even think of a trial.

I hope everyone has a fantastic day and thanks for stopping by our condo.

Recap Yesterday 2/23http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89604
AMPS 104
+2--- 149
+4--- 155
+6--- 139
+8--- 153
+10-- 169
PMPS 169
+1--- 165
+2--- 167
+3--- 147
+4--- 142

Today 2/24
AMPS 141
+2--- 103
+3--- 108
+5--- 106
+6--- 98
+7--- 97
+10-- 117
PMPS 139
+2--- 173
+4--- 113
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +2 103

Hi Courtney, good luck on the fattened dose. That's a nice treat you mentioned with the Jenny-O's fat free turkey. I had been giving Mags Pure Bites chicken, but latlely she's not crazy about them. So cute the way Kismet snuggles in bed. Thanks for visiting and for spreading the poo vines to everyone. It seems it often does get to be a problem with some of the kitties. Have a great Sunday.
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +2 103,+3 108, +5 106

Thanks, Ann! I used to fee him pill pockets, but he developed an aversion to them. He used to eat around his pill (when he was on theophylline) and came to distrust the pockets all together.


I was hoping we'd see the lagoon today, but he has opted to surf these low blues instead, which is okay by me :) Why isn't he going any lower? Does this mean his pancreas is working somewhat? He has been surfing a lot these past couple of days.
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +2 103,+3 108, +5 106, +6 98!!

YES! We reached the lagoon! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: And I almost didn't get the +6... I figured he would probably still be surfing and would give him a rest, but seeing this green just made my day!
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +2 103,+3 108, +5 106, +6 98!!

So glad Kismet finally got to the lagoon! :mrgreen: A very nice surf beforehand, tho, too.
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +2 103,+3 108, +5 106, +6 98!!

Hey, Courtney -

Kismet is looking GOOD! Initially, I gave Hershey treats after every test, then he didn't seem to need them every time and didn't really care one way or the other. So, I don't give them on a regular basis anymore.

Nice that he forgave you last night. :cool:

Have a great evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +2 103,+3 108, +5 106, +6 98, +8 1

Nice green!!! Way to go Kismet. Work that juice. Have a nice night Courtney!
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +2 103,+3 108, +5 106, +6 98, +8 1

Hi Anne, so true... can't complain with these blues!

Hi Libby, the affront didn't end with poking -- it was also teeth brushing night (every other day). So he got tested and then held down for a quick brush. :evil: LOL Poor Kitties, the things we do to them out of love...

Hi Melissa! :mrgreen: Love that green!

Thanks for stopping by our condo! We're gonna pop some popcorn and watch the Oscars. Hope everyone has a great night!
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +2 103,+3 108, +5 106, +6 98, +8 1

Nice green today, Kismet! Great to see you in the lagoon. Keep on surfin' green!

Rusty, LagoonMeister (on vacation from the lagoon!)
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +6 98, PMPS 139

Great numbers Kismet, keep it going buddy :smile:
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet AMPS 141, +6 98, PMPS 139, +2 173 Dose Advic

Boooooo! Going the wrong way, Kismet! :sad: Maybe that insulin will kick in by +3.

I have a very long day tomorrow and won't be home until late at night ugh. I'm holding conferences with students (15 minutes each) which comes out to a total of 7 hours. I'm doing 5 tomorrow, and 2 on Tuesday. But after I finish with them, I have to go over for a reception/cocktail party thing. We are hosting a guest speaker for our Exile Studies Program-- the reception is at 5pm, and the lecture at 7. I will be home for amps and won't be back until pmps. DH is out all day tomorrow, too. With the way his numbers have been, I don't think shooting his regular dose (1 fat drop) will be a problem, but I am thinking it might be wise to shoot a reduced dose tomorrow morning (1/2 a drop). Does this seem like a reasonable idea? Thanks for any advice on this.
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet PMPS 139, +2 173 Need Advice Plz

I think that is reasonable, Courtney.

The other option, if you a truly worried,mis to just skip. He will probably get right back on track.

But if you want to shoot something, a half drop is ok.

Have fun tomorrow!
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet PMPS 139, +2 173 Need Advice Plz

Thanks, Marje! I may skip depending on what his #s are like tonight and in the morning. Do you think there is a number that I should look for? He's been somewhere between 100-140 most mornings.

I am going to have to skip the pmps on Tuesday night for sure. We have another university night time event that both DH and I have to attend and we won't be home until about 2 hours after his normal shot time. He is going to be pissed about the late dinner. I will probably leave out extra fuds.

I just really don't want him to get to off track and start mucking around with his doses.
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet PMPS 139, +2 173 Need Advice Plz

I think definitely if he is below 100 or if he's dropping into AMPS.

Tomorrow night....could you shoot two hours late when you get in?
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet PMPS 139, +2 173 Need Advice Plz

Do you mean Tuesday night? I could... but I would need to shoot an hour early Wednesday morning because I have to go to work. I guess we can play it by ear. When we get home Tuesday night, I will check him and see where he is and decide what to do. Wednesday is another long day for me ohmygod_smile so I won't be home to monitor him much.

Unfortunately, all grad classes are 3 hour long seminars at night. I have class Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday night and don't get home until 9:30 pm, so Kismet is on a 10 am/10 pm schedule. I teach Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays in the early afternoon and then have to hold office hours and do other departmental/committee work throughout the week (varies week to week). Most days, I am on campus between 10-12 hours :evil: (why did I think going to grad school was a good idea?!?)

Tuesday night, we probably won't be home until around midnight :sad:

DH teaches 5 days a week, at all weird hours, too. Kismet picked a crappy semester to come back from the Falls. Fortunately, this is my last semester of grad coursework, thank goodness. So he will receive much better care come April.

/end rant. :lol:
 
Re: 2/24 Kismet PMPS 139, +2 173 Need Advice Plz

Yes...sorry..Tuesday night.

It's been quite a while but I do remember the rigors of grad school.
 
LOL... I can hear your enthusiasm ;)

+4 (2am here) and we're at a nice 113. I've put down little LC and am calling it a night. Not enough hours in a day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top