2/24 KiKi AMPS 384, +2 >600,+8 >600, PMPS 427

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & KiKi

Member Since 2010
Well, if nothing else atleast we are back on schedule again. I went ahead and gave the .75 and fed -- and now am driving back over to WalMart this AM and get another box of strips. New rule: Always order more strips immediately upon opening new box of strips I suppose 384 isnt too bad since we skipped a shot last nite? What do you think?

**UPDATE** +2 >600 Will be testing for ketones when I get back from the store.
+8 >600
 
Re: 2/24 KiKi AMPS 384, +2 >600,+8 >600

Hi Donna,

I don't think I've visited this condo before! Welcome to lantus land!
Good tip on the strips! And the same rule applies to HC cans! Cannot run out of those evah!

It looks to me like Kiki's pancreas is having a little fit regarding the decent greens that came by yesterday... totally normal. This bounciness (also referred to as rebound) may last up to 72 hours.

Please hang tight and be patient... it's an awful thing to be told, but lantus really works for the cats and also at testing our patience! :lol:
 
Other rule of thumb.... link yesterday's condo into today's condo.... otherwise it's very difficult to go back... too many cats.

So plan B... do you remember why the dose reduction the other day?
 
Ok, because AMPS was 157 and because you had to leave, right?
If that's the case, and you are going to be home this time, i would return to the original 1U and the reason being is that Kiki has not outgrown the dose. What do you think?
 
no actually, I was home all day after the .75 and by PMPS he was 39 -- then we skipped last nite shot cuz i was almost out of test strips
 
Last night I recommended that she keep the 0.75 dose because KiKi hit a 39 at PMPS last night (and that's when we decided to skip last night's shot). Today was a bad day because of rebound from the green, and because KiKi had to refill the shed we depleted by skipping last night. I'm thinking that 0.75 should still be good now that rebound is clearing (she has come down almost 200 points already!). It might not be, those greens yesterday were unexpected so KiKi might not be able to get back down to that level on a lower dose, but if it's not enough we can go back up in a couple of days.
 
I know from your profile that Kiki was on vetsulin before.... I'm sure you've been told that others in this forum that vetsulin and lantus don't work the same and that you will likely have to take a broom to the vetsulin part of your brain and sweep away the vetsulin thoughts.... many of us started with another insulin, so the broom is well used!

Oh oh... Self Noodling!!!!! kiki had a 39 yesterday.. that's a dosecrease... so... I take it all back 0.75U is the proper dose. I'm very sorry!

ETA - whatever Libby says... is what I should stick to.
 
KiKi likes that answer -- we went ahead with the .75u -- and will be
**Keepin our paws crossed**

and yes....trying hard to forget everything I learned about Vetsulin (all tho we had pretty good luck in the beginning with it) *sweep* *sweep* *sweep*
 
Hi Donna. Just wanted to drop by and say HI! Kiki is precious. I LOVE your avatar. cat_pet_icon
 
any update? I'm hoping you did a before bed test. This is the same PMPS that left KiKi in blue yesterday morning so the same could happen again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top