? 2/24 KARAMELLE AMPS 349 +6 250 +9 192 PMPS 289 +3 352

I know how hard the first couple of months after diagnosis can be :bighug::bighug::bighug: you just haven't hit that breakthrough dose just yet. Unfortunately we just have to be patient.
How much YA is Karamelle getting a day? Will she eat maybe a freeze dried or Air-dried raw alternative? If so, you could switch to TR which will get you to a good dose faster.
 
I know how hard the first couple of months after diagnosis can be :bighug::bighug::bighug: you just haven't hit that breakthrough dose just yet. Unfortunately we just have to be patient.
How much YA is Karamelle getting a day? Will she eat maybe a freeze dried or Air-dried raw alternative? If so, you could switch to TR which will get you to a good dose faster.
I could try the freeze dried or air dried raw. What brands do you recommend? Are they on a list somewhere? She gets about 1/4 cup of YA a day, at 1/8 at 5pm and 1/8 about 11pm. Its treat time. She really looks forward to it, but I have changed the "treats" (never used actual treats, just cat food) from time to time, so if she likes the raw, that might work. So the dry raw is ok for TR?
 
Looks like she just hasn’t gotten to a breakthrough dose but you have 4 more days to see if that’s the case. Hang in there. We often say it’s a marathon and not a race.
Thanks. Im really trying to be patient. I guess i just dont know when its just me being impatient or if there is really an issue.
 
ZiwiPeak makes air-dried raw in different proteins that has a very similar texture to kibble. That's what I used with Cleo in the beginning. We also tried Instinct Freeze Dried Raw. She now accepts Orijen Freeze-Dried Raw Treats which she rejected at first.
A lot of companies have introduced a line of "freeze-dried" toppers. You may have to experiment to find a flavor that Karamelle will accept!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
ZiwiPeak makes air-dried raw in different proteins that has a very similar texture to kibble. That's what I used with Cleo in the beginning. We also tried Instinct Freeze Dried Raw. She now accepts Orijen Freeze-Dried Raw Treats which she rejected at first.
A lot of companies have introduced a line of "freeze-dried" toppers. You may have to experiment to find a flavor that Karamelle will accept!
I actually was at the pet store picking up some stuff and decided to try this Primal Freeze-Dried Nuggets. I see on thier website that its really low in carbs. I dont know how with all the vegys and fruits in it. I have no idea if she will eat it. I really wanted something "like" dry food, but Ive fed Ziwi in the past and everyone got sick of it after a while. It says on the primal bag you can feed it dry, but its best to add water, I just dont know if she will think a wet food is a "treat". I will try it tonight tho. Its super pricy. $16 for a tiny bag.
 
Trying to find something that they will consistently eat can drive you bonkers! If you eventually find a freeze dried raw food to replace the YA kibble, you can switch over to TR. You test enough for it :).

I feed all wet now and she only gets the freeze dried treats as after test treat and sometimes as a post nadir snack.
 
See if Small Batch bites are available where you shop. They are freeze dried and don’t need to add water. The Primal you bought is actually a food and not a treat. My two like both but I think SB is a better food.
 
Also the Primal freeze dried nuggets pork and venison are impossible to rehydrate and will not crumble. I get the raw frozen.
 
See if Small Batch bites are available where you shop. They are freeze dried and don’t need to add water. The Primal you bought is actually a food and not a treat. My two like both but I think SB is a better food.
I think I can get small batch here. I'll look for the bites. I'll try this primal first. Ive never fed 'treats" Ive always just used regular cat food.
 
Also the Primal freeze dried nuggets pork and venison are impossible to rehydrate and will not crumble. I get the raw frozen.
well that sucks. Good thing I bought a small bag. They have the small batch bites at my local pet shop. Are these all ok for low carbs. Are they just treats, or a full meal? I worry about getting enough calories into her.
 
I suggested feeding freeze dried in place of the YA kibble so that you could switch from SLGS to TR.
@tiffmaxee Elise, is my assumption correct that if she switches out the YA for freeze dried, she can switch to TR?
 
The Small Batch treat’s composition is 95% protein.
Which protein Primal did you get?
The pork. I just broke one nugget up (it broke up easily), added a tablespoon of warm water, and she devoured it. :) I wonder if she will continue to eat it like this. We'll see. I will try some variety so she doesnt get bored tho. Yes, Im in socal! Redondo Beach.
 
Last edited:
Another one to buy is Steve’s Quest Real Food. I bought a bag of frozen for dogs and cats and the cat I gave it ti likes it but it’s too high in produce. Their Quest is what you would want and is freeze dried. I have been feeding her sister SB lamb. If you continue feeding Primal do you shop at Centinella Feed? They have great sales and a loyalty program for Primal. The one who gets Primal pork frozen loves it. Same as freeze dried but more economical.
 
Another one to buy is Steve’s Quest Real Food. I bought a bag of frozen for dogs and cats and the cat I gave it ti likes it but it’s too high in produce. Their Quest is what you would want and is freeze dried. I have been feeding her sister SB lamb. If you continue feeding Primal do you shop at Centinella Feed? They have great sales and a loyalty program for Primal. The one who gets Primal pork frozen loves it. Same as freeze dried but more economical.
Yes, Centinela is where I bought it. its a block away from me. I used to feed Lotus frozen raw to everyone. Then they just decided they didnt want it anymore. i still have some in the freezer. its still good, but only till sometime this year. Karamelle loves the lotus venison but I could hardly ever get it. It was always out of stock. I just ordered a bunch more Weruva and now shes barely eating that. Cats! I swear they drive me nuts. I have 6 of them.
 
Back
Top