2/24 Jersey AMPS-288, +8-305, PMPS-381, +2-205

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Ugghhh.....I just can't seem to get it right. I'm losing patience with myself and am sooooo frustrated right now. :sad:

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114295

Despite practicing my micro-dosing technique, I apparently didn't get anything in Jersey girl this morning because her numbers stayed high today.

AMPS - 288 (after skipping last night's dose due to a 123 pre-shot number); .10 units
+1.5 - 348
+8 - 305
PMPS - 381; .10 units
+2 - 205

The good news - different syringes are in transit; I'm hoping that makes a difference. I also practiced micro-dosing again today. When I practice, it's perfect. When I do the actual shots, it all falls apart.
 
I wouldn't necessarily assume that you gave a fur shot. If you look at Jersey's pattern, it's possible that she dropped lower than the 123 even without the PM shot. Whether she did or not, it's quite likely what you saw during the AM cycle was a bounce that was propelled by the skipped shot. One aspect of Lantus that isn't always anticipated is that you often don't see the response to a dose during the current cycle. It can be delayed. The insulin depot has to catch up. This can happen with dose increases (or a delayed response after a skipped shot) or with a dose reduction.
 
Thanks for your reply, Sienne. I understand the general concept of a bounce - in theory - but I simply cannot recognize it. With that said, it's easier just to beat myself up about missing shots! :YMSIGH: Your explanation does help me feel better, though!
 
Aw, don't beat yourself up! You're doing a super job. This is really tough, especially for us crazy cat ladies. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Hi Shelly and Jersey (who is very cute and looks like a she likes to have fun)

I haven't had a chance to welcome you all yet but I read back through the condos and messages from Julie, Dyana, and Sienne. You're doing a great job. There is a very steep learning curve to using Lantus so don't be hard on yourself. There are some concepts, like bouncing and the depot, which are hard to understand and can be difficult to recognize on a SS.

One thing you can look for on a bounce is a very quick rise in numbers. Jersey's a.m. Cycle on 2/22 is a perfect example of a bounce starting. It's Important to try and ignore the bounces when dosing and just focus on the nadir.

Keep doing what you are doing...asking questions. We're glad to have you here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top