2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +10 55

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

nckitties3 said:
Come on Gobbles, momma's got to go to bed some time tonight! :o

You're doing a great job Kat! :RAHCAT And you have Carl. :thumbup Hang in there girlie! :YMHUG:
Thanks Debbie; it means a lot. And I don't know what I would do without Carl's help and the cheerleading squad (including you!!!)
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

Actually, Bob was pretty easy on me. Of course, I was fairly ignorant, and half of his time on insulin was before I joined FDMB, and he was on PZI insulin, so it was a "different world". I only saw 40s twice although I might have missed some low numbers while at work or asleep too.

For AMPS -
First things first. He dropped below 50, so that means a reduction in dose next shot. Back down to 2.0 I think. You could "shave" the dose to someplace in between if you choose to.
I don't know at this point if you will see a bounce sort of number by then or not. He seems intent on staying in the greens so far. If he does bounce, don't be shocked, but I'm not sure what he's got in mind.

Let's see what the meter says at 8.5 and go from there? Eating would be helpful, and at this point, I'm thinking just a spoonful of the gravy lovers carbage.

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

+8.5 = 61.

He won't eat anything. I've tried the gravy carbage + 2 different of his fave FF 7% flavors. I do believe he might eat some boiled ham (lunchmeat)...I am going to try that now....

PMPS 149
+4.5 87
+6 49
+6.5 63
+7 69
+8 57
+8.5 61
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

He ate a pinch of the lunchmeat--actually, it says "ham off the bone" on the label (not "boiled"). Should I give him more?
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

Kat
All of the numbers he's had this whole cycle are terrific! His timing just leaves something to be desired. ;-)
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

He ate a pinch of the lunchmeat--actually, it says "ham off the bone" on the label (not "boiled"). Should I give him more?

Absolutely.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

Well, Gobbles sure just lived up to his name. I had to cut him off! I'd say he ate about the equivalent in ham of to 1/2 can FF.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

Hey Kat, I've been peeking in on you all evening and just wanted to offer support before I turned in. :smile:

I haven't had to deal with the 'lows' yet, but have watched many, silently. ;-) And you're handling it beautifully and as always, Carl is calm and cool through it all. :thumbup

Ya'll are doing great and I'm sure Gobblies will decide to settle down........about the time you have to get UP! :o He IS a cat afterall! :lol:

Sending big hugz. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

TheBowHuntress said:
Well, Gobbles sure just lived up to his name. I had to cut him off! I'd say he ate about the equivalent in ham of to 1/2 can FF.
Good. If he needs another snack, you've found a magic one that works! We want him to jump up into the 80s at least. Enough of this 50s junk, Gobbles!

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

nckitties3 said:
Hey Kat, I've been peeking in on you all evening and just wanted to offer support before I turned in. :smile:

I haven't had to deal with the 'lows' yet, but have watched many, silently. ;-) And you're handling it beautifully and as always, Carl is calm and cool through it all. :thumbup

Ya'll are doing great and I'm sure Gobblies will decide to settle down........about the time you have to get UP! :o He IS a cat afterall! :lol:

Sending big hugz. :YMHUG:
Hey Debbie, it is really comforting to know you've been checking on Gob & I :-D He has been in high numbers for so long, it really is kind of scary & strange when they suddenly start getting "good" numbers...you'll see..prepare thy self!!! Yes, Carl is cool, calm & collective!!! I will "talk" to you tomorrow. Good night!
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

Maybe wait till +9.5 since he ate that ham around midnight? So another 30 minutes? That good for you, Kat?

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

+9 = 74

Therefore:

PMPS 149
+4.5 87
+6 49
+6.5 63
+7 69
+8 57
+8.5 61 (ate a ton of ham)
+9 74 (and then he ate more ham...)

From the Tight Regulation Protocol:

"Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit."

Therefore, I'll back him down from 2.25 to 2.0 U next shot...
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

"Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit."

Therefore, I'll back him down from 2.25 to 2.0 U next shot...

Exactly, Kat! He doesn't have a history of not holding reductions. He's only had one, about a month ago. So you can drop the full .25u next shot, down to 2.0u.

Great that he gobbled! If you can check at +9.5, we're hopefully done for a whole 2.5 hours. :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

Kat --

It's obviously good to let Gobbles surf in these lovely numbers. If you're crashing, since Gobbles has already qualified for a reduction, you could abort the cycle by giving him some ham with some karo or honey, etc.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

Carl & Bob said:
"Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit."

Therefore, I'll back him down from 2.25 to 2.0 U next shot...

Exactly, Kat! He doesn't have a history of not holding reductions. He's only had one, about a month ago. So you can drop the full .25u next shot, down to 2.0u.

Great that he gobbled! If you can check at +9.5, we're hopefully done for a whole 2.5 hours. :lol:

Carl
I can do a +9.5 so long as I can find him....he took off...MAY have gone under the bed DH is sleeping in....hope not as the bed w/mattress weighs a minimum of 400 pounds....ugh...will look for him at +9.5 :-D
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 .5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61 +9

Bribe him out with some ham!
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61

Sienne and Gabby said:
Kat --

It's obviously good to let Gobbles surf in these lovely numbers. If you're crashing, since Gobbles has already qualified for a reduction, you could abort the cycle by giving him some ham with some karo or honey, etc.
Hi Sienne! I'm not following what you mean by "abort the cycle"...

He ate a little more ham at +9.0. His +9.5 test is in 10 minutes...hopefully I can find him as he's disappeared....hopefully not under bed
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 .5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61 +9

"Abort the cycle" -
Once a kitty has earned the reduction by dropping under 50, you can carb him up, get the numbers up quickly, by feeding high carb, karo, honey, etc. That's not a terrible idea if you're sleep deprived for instance. Especially if you are past nadir time. It's like "OK Gobbles, you made your point, here's some candy, get some sleep".

The alternative, what you've done tonight, it to try to keep him in the 60-90 range, surfing in the green numbers, because long term, that's what you want to try to do. Keep him in normal range numbers as many hours of the cycle as possible.

Aborting the cycle is always an option depending on the situation. Not the "best option", but it's a valid choice sometimes.

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 .5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61 +9

I'm not going to abort just yet! He just "appeared" and is snuggled at my feet. +9.5 forthcoming. If he is still low, I will then abort only because I have to get a few hours sleep and be back up at 2:50 a.m. for his 3:00 a.m. shot :lol:
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 .5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61 +9

Wow you all have been busy and great job both of you!

Carl...are you doing ok or need to go to bed?
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 .5 63 +7 69 +8 57 +8.5 61 +9

Hi Marje! Happy you could join us! Overall a good day in LL, I'd say.

I'm good for a couple hours, I think. Working tomorrow but not until noon, and it's my "Friday". :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

+9.5 = 67 He is adamantly refusing anything. No ham w/karo, ham or just karo....

Therefore:

PMPS 149
+4.5 87
+6 49
+6.5 63
+7 69
+8 57
+8.5 61 (ate a ton of ham)
+9 74 (and then he ate more ham...)
+9.5 67 (won't eat any more ham or karo)
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

I could rub karo on gums, but that's no use because it's just a quick sugar high, then back down, correct?
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

I'd let him surf....see what he can do. Hopefully he will start up soon. I'd probably test again in 30 sinceagobbles can wobbles! :lol:
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

All the numbers since +6.5 are really just flat. They look "up and down", but the meter isn't exactly a high tech instrument. We'd call this "flat".

Yes, karo is a short lived boost. But it might help him get over the hump if you could get him to eat "something" with karo icing.

Edit to add..... or surfing is good too. ;-) Really has to do with what you want to do. A nap before AMPS can be a good thing.

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

Marje and Gracie said:
I'd let him surf....see what he can do. Hopefully he will start up soon. I'd probably test again in 30 sinceagobbles can wobbles! :lol:
Hi Marje! joining the party?
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

Never tried it....

Marje? thoughts?

carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

Milk sometimes works for some cats. Ice cream has the same effect as HC and wears off fast.

Yep...just joining for a while!
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

+10 55

PMPS 149
+4.5 87
+6 49
+6.5 63
+7 69
+8 57
+8.5 61 (ate a ton of ham)
+9 74 (and then he ate more ham...)
+9.5 67 (won't eat any more ham or karo)
+10 55
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

Can you syringe some gravy into his mouth? Try that and retest in 30 :o pp
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67

Marje and Gracie said:
Can you syringe some gravy into his mouth? Try that and retest in 30 :o pp
kk...he just ate 7 temptation crunchy cat treats and would eat more but i put them up
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67 +1

Gobbles.

Dats enuf for tonite. Time for yor bean to get sum sleeps. swallow the gravy an make the next one a higher number!

Bob


I agree Gobbles, nice surf and all, but really...

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67 +1

so he had the 7 treats and probably 1 t. gravy--fought me and i used a spoon....no syringe
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +9.5 67 +1

And in 30 minutes, you'll see what it does. You doing okay Kat? Can you just sleep after the AMPS, or do you have to work or be otherwise conscious?

Carl
 
I'm doind ok...can sleep after AM shot...It been about 1/2 hour since crunchy treats & 20 minutes since gravy--test in 5 minutes?
 
Yes, that works. I hadn't realized it had been that long already!
 
+10.5 = 70

feed more treats or try lc?

PMPS 149
+4.5 87
+6 49
+6.5 63
+7 69
+8 57
+8.5 61 (ate a ton of ham)
+9 74 (and then he ate more ham...)
+9.5 67 (won't eat any more ham or karo)
+10 55
+10.5 = 70
 
Here's the issue: at this point in time, if you feed anything else, you could be shooting a food spike. You probably need to lay off the food now and see what he will do. You might have to skip his shot.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Here's the issue: at this point in time, if you feed anything else, you could be shooting a food spike. You probably need to lay off the food now and see what he will do. You might have to skip his shot.
I understand that completely. However, I just saw this post :oops: So here's what he ate: 7 crunchy treats, 1 t. FF LC & 7 small pieces of chicken (boiled, boneless, skinless, natural). Can't I wait a few hours (shot time is/was at 3 a.m.) to give the food time to digest, and shoot late?
 
Kat

Let me lay out the possibilities:

1. You can watch him now, not feed, and see what he does by shot time. He might start up or if he surfs, you could shoot the reduced dose, give him a good helping of food and go to bed for a bit

2. You can feed him now, plan to skip, and test to be sure hes coming up and go to bed.

It's is why it would have been a good idea to abort the cycle.....he could have had the time to come up enough that you could be assured of shooting.
 
I understand that completely. However, I just saw this post So here's what he ate: 7 crunchy treats, 1 t. FF LC & 7 small pieces of chicken (boiled, boneless, skinless, natural). Can't I wait a few hours (shot time is/was at 3 a.m.) to give the food time to digest, and shoot late?

Yes, Kat. Now that he's eaten, make sure he's going up. Then you can sleep. You won't want to shoot "on time" because any higher number would most likely include food.

However, if you decide to shoot late, you can pick any time you want to "start over". That will just be your new "regular 12/12 shot time".

I'd probably wait until at least 5 am to make sure the food boost is "gone". If you see higher numbers then, which you may see, he could be off on a well deserved bounce.


Marje, if she goes this route, would you say she should reduce this shot, or shoot 2.25u this time, and 2u next shot? (thinking the late shot is like a reduced dose thing).

Carl
 
If you just fed at 2 am your time, you could shoot by 4 am if he's on the way up or even if he's surfing. You can also wait until 5 am if you want to sleep longer and there's more of a chance Dyana will be on by then.

I think you should shoot the new 2u dose because his depot is really full and you could likely see some residual effects of it on the next cycle.

Do you feel comfortable on your own now?
 
I think you should shoot the new 2u dose because his depot is really full and you could likely see some residual effects of it on the next cycle.

And this is exactly why I was so happy to see you show up in this condo tonight, Marje!

Kat,
I shouldn't have jumped the gun and said "both" as soon as you asked about food. You saw that, and didn't see Marje's post about not feeding a few minutes later. That might have avoided putting you in this dilemma now. Sorry if I messed you up. :YMSIGH:

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top