2/24 Fred AMPS=225 (.8),+2=299,+7.5=213

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
Back down this AM. Found where he may have gotten into a left-over snack yesterday AM. Wonder if that affected his numbers (2/23). Anyway, decided on .8 again, since I won't be able to test again until +2 and then not until +7 or +8.
 
Re: 2/24 Fred AMPS=225 (.8)

I think that 0.8 looks good on the lower 200 range for a pre-shot. Let's see what he looks like around +7 or +8. That will give us a better idea if that dose will be effective for a pre-shot in the lower 200 range.
 
Re: 2/24 Fred AMPS=225 (.8),+2=299

If you have a minute to look at my posts on the lantus side! that would be helpful. They seem to look at things a little differently where insulin is concerned, and I need to learn the best way to read Fred's chart.

Thanks
 
Re: 2/24 Fred AMPS=225 (.8),+2=299

Kathleen, you can't compare Lantus and ProZinc. They work completely differently and are dosed completely differently. Lantus is a depot insulin that is sometimes in a cat's body for 16 hours or so. If you skip a dose, you deplete the depot, so they seldom skip a dose. Lantus users also shoot at much lower numbers than PZI users because their cycle is shallower. I would be very careful trying to use any of the protocols for Lantus on ProZinc.
 
Re: 2/24 Fred AMPS=225 (.8),+2=299

Oh no! I never would combine the two. I was just trying to understand if, at some point down the road, I should consider switching to Lantus, based on Fred's numbers and the way one is more/less long-acting, etc.

My vet would have to get involved here, so nothing will happen just now. I just need more information! because I've been told that he could be close to OTJ and I want to use the most effective vehicle.

First, to get on the best low-carb food and see what a difference that could make. Then, I may consider a switch, based on the advice I get here and over at the Lantus sight.

Thanks
 
Re: 2/24 Fred AMPS=225 (.8),+2=299

Okay. I was worried you might be going to apply dosing rules for Lantus to ProZinc and that made me nervous. :-D
 
Re: 2/24 Fred AMPS=225 (.8),+2=299

Well, I'm a little too scared at this point to do much of any changing without the consensus of this Board!! Don't worry - just on a fact-finding mission....with pages and pages (already) to read. Almost wish we'd get another snow day so I could take off and study!!

If I can get my head around all this, maybe, one day in the far future, I could help someone else, too. :-D
 
Switched to Friskies pate for his first dinner of low carbs -- in probably years!
and I thought all I had to do was go with wet food!!
Anyway, I shot .8 even though he's been relatively flat all day (as much as I could test.)

Question: do I have any "wiggle room" on the time of shooting? If I can't be here right on the dot of 12 hours, (maybe 15-30 min off) will that hurt him?
 
Kathleen and Fred said:
Question: do I have any "wiggle room" on the time of shooting? If I can't be here right on the dot of 12 hours, (maybe 15-30 min off) will that hurt him?

ProZinc has more wiggle room than some of the other insulins. :smile: 15-30 minutes off is really not a problem with ProZinc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top