2/24 Doodles AMPS 290 +2 301 +4 315 PMPS 334 +4 267

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 2/23 No matter what dose, his numbers are basically the same:arghh: A few moments of choking last night @ PM+3 followed by some moaning. He seemed ok a few minutes later and went right back to sleep. His new spot is under the kitchen chair and he rests his head on the bottom rung like a pillow:rolleyes: Maybe he choked himself.

Finally going to get my hair done so I can look human again:p

Have a good day everyone...vines and extra scritches for all the kitties.
 
That's my dog's favorite spot too - but only when I am eating and when there's a chance that food will magically appear from the sky. :rolleyes:

And, Doodles, stop scaring your bean! It's time to finally head back down into some better numbers!
 
Please, Doodles....let's work that juice....pretty please???? Maybe he did gag himself a bit with that sleeping position. They sure know how to get our attention sometimes, don't they?

Enjoy the hair cut!!
 
It just looks like all of December and all of January, Doodles was in the blues and greens, which came on suddenly and seem to have ended just as suddenly. Did anything change around the beginning of December and also at the end of January or very early February? Just trying to think if there could be some kind of explanation.
 
If he is hiding under the bed, I am guessing something does not feel right for him and maybe he needs a vet workup? I'm sorry. I don't recall. Has he had blood work recently? He could have developed a food allergy, but the change was so abrupt. I would be thinking infection of some sort.
 
Has he had blood work recently?
I had him at the vet on 2/8, full bloodwork with xrays. CPK is triple the normal range (never was before) and his plates dropped to an all time low. All this started shortly after his last acupuncture on 1/25 along with a new vile of Lantus which I replaced again on 2/5. Mind you I replaced it at the same pharmacy and both viles have the same lot number & exp date.
 
Have you ask Margie to look at the blood work? Maybe she can shed some light for you. Hiding usually means they don't feel good. Any other symptoms? How the LB?
 
Many people have looked. The only thing we see is that his numbers went up when I started feeding Stella & Chewys. I've cut way back to only a new morsels a day. Obviously he doesn't feel good and something is wrong. I'm meeting with the vet later today.
 
I think meeting with the vet is a great idea. It also might not be a bad idea to re-run his BW to see if anything has changed in the last few weeks. Sedning along tons of hugs and prayers.
 
So sorry that Doodles is still not playing along Karen, it must be hard for both of you - him for not feeling good, and you for not knowing how to help. Paws crossed the vet can give you some answers today.

Enjoy your haircut, I bet it will make you feel a million times better :-)
 
Met with a different vet in the same office who is supposed to be the "cat vet"...over a year and no one said this until I threatened to leave their practice . Anyway, she does know Lantus unlike my other one who prefers Vetsulin. Met with her for over and hour, looked at his labs and radiology report again. Basically it's a mystery. I'm going to 3.5 units at PMPS and will hold until Monday. If there is no movement in numbers Monday he'll go in for an antibiotic to rule out infection. She's also familiar with Roomp & Rand TR.

I was gone most of the day and DH said he was out watching the birds. Think he's under the bed hiding from me because of the scale experience yesterday. Guess he's still mad at me.
 
Sounds like your new vet might be helpful for Doodle, at least he knows Lantus and TR. Great that Doodles was bird-watching, guess that means he's feeling pretty good :-)
 
I hope the new vet works out. I wish they could talk. Max started going under the bed years ago when my other cat got sick. Now it's not necessarily a sign that he doesn't feel well. I hope it's just a new habit for Doodles as well.
 
If he is hiding under the bed, I am guessing something does not feel right for him and maybe he needs a vet workup? I'm sorry. I don't recall. Has he had blood work recently? He could have developed a food allergy, but the change was so abrupt. I would be thinking infection of some sort.
I am thinking this as well--just my opinion but if this was Dre and his numbers are so very different I would consider a week of clavamox regardless of the BW--I know people would disagree but if all else was ruled out that is just what I would do (and I am not a fan of AB) but something is off--the fact that he is not fluctuating that much just staying up there makes me think something isn't showing up even if the WBC is "normal"-
Also that his numbers were so good and he was feeling so good-
Just my thoughts... not that you asked :oops:
 
I would consider a week of clavamox regardless of the BW
I was trying to get answers/clarification/discussions going with my vet. Luckily I lost my sh*t and feel there might be progress with the new vet I met today. Not sure which AB but we did briefly discuss the shot that lasts 2 weeks. I won't pill Doodles and lord knows I can't count on him eating it in his food:rolleyes: Your opinions are always welcome. I'm totally against mystery AB's but at this point I'll try almost anything to rule it out.
 
Karen, in the event of having to do the AB later, could you crush the pill and mix with one hydrated S & C piece? That was Andy's trick and it has worked for me. The Convenia shot is too scary in the event Doodles has a bad reaction to it, there is no taking it back out of his body. And that said, Bubba did have it prior to his dental back in September and after I realized what I had let the vet give him I was very upset. However, he did not have any reaction to it and quite a few beans came forward saying their cats had it also with no ill effects. Everything's a crap shoot
 
Last edited:
I agree with Bobbie about the 2-week injection, Convenia. Not only is it scary because there is "no going back" once it's in, but it is also geared primarily towards skin infections, so it's not a great AB to use for other possible infections.

Can you do liquid meds with Doodles? I think most ABs can be compounded into a liquid form. We have a great compounding pharmacy that can add ANY flavoring to a med (including cat-oriented flavors!), plus they can use a non-sugary base appropriate for diabetics.

FWIW, Trix had been through a few courses of ABs last year even though her BW didn't seem to indicate any infection. She was "off" and our vet suggested we try it, just in case. The ABs actually did make a huge difference in whatever it was that was going on with her. Zeniquin is her magic AB. Also, she ultimately did show a hard-to-treat urinary bacteria (enterrococus, which I'm sure I spelled wrong). Her BW was fine and initial inspection of urine was fine; the bacteria showed up (barely) in a culture. So sometimes things can "hide" from traditional BW.

I hope he's feeling better!!
 
Karen....when Doodles was in for blood work did the vet run a culture? In the past there has been instances when the BW came back normal but the vet had run a culture and it showed positive for a UTI.
Also, did the vet take his temperature? When Boomer came out of remission in August he had a fever although tested negative for a UTI. Started on AB anyways because something was causing the fever.
 
skin infections
Good point, it's not even an AB that helps for dental infections (the reason it was given to Bubs) It has become the new "convenient" AB that vets get a lot of $$ for as it goes by your cat's weight (Bubble and Doodles are very large cats) and these vets get big bucks for it (If I remember correctly I was charged about 50 bucks for that useless AB for dental and potentially dangerous) Okay, I am off my soap box about that.

Amy's point about compounding to liquid is also another good point as long as they compound it with flavorings with NO sugar.

We are all pulling for Doodles!
 
useless AB
If we don't know what the infection is what options do we have of "selecting" the appropriate AB? I'm not discounting the suggestions/ concerns of covenia and there has not been any decisions yet. Will have to wait until Monday and discuss the options in more detail. I was actually the one who asked if there was an injectable AB because of my fear he won't eat it and my unwillingness to pill/syringe. We had to syringe 4 times a day for over a month and needless to say both DH & I were horrified as he fought beyond belief.

We are all pulling for Doodles!
Trust me, all your support is more appreciated than you know.
 
If we don't know what the infection is what options do we have of "selecting" the appropriate AB
Good point. My point was that it is an AB primarily for skin infections and yet the vets are RX it for dental and UTI's and other aliments where another AB is the drug of choice. Your new vet sounds like she is thorough and smart and I am sure you and she will come to the right decision for Doodles. :bighug:
 
I don't know what ABs are available for cats now. The last time I used one was in 2003. Is there a really good broad spectrum one? I'm no good at pilling. I always choose liquid meds for anything. Even though that's still a little stressful for kitty, I can get in the side of their mouth, squirt and we are done. Knowing it's for just a few days helps. When my civvie was on her thyroid suspension it eventually became extremely hard for her. I was more worried about hurting her back because it had become quite twisted over the years from her missing leg and her other had become severly arthritic.

Sorry I digressed. So what options are available for you to consider?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top