? 2/24 Dimmu AMPS: 472, +3.25: 416, +7.75: 479. When should I increase again?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dimmu & KL

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Dimmu is recovering nicely. He's pretty active and likes to hang around us today. All signs are good except for the BG.

His numbers are very high now and he was all pink before the reduced dose yesterday morning, so do I really have to complete another 6 cycles of 3.5U before increase his dose?
 
His numbers are higher because of the reduced dose yesterday and all he's been through. I would give him the 6 cycles on this dose after the reducie.
I'm glad he is recovering well.
 
Thank you, Dyana.

When we were at the dental specialist, she kept saying Dimmu's on too low of a dose and we should increase by 1U right away after the surgery if he'd eat and if his BG was in his "normal" range. Her opinion carries a lot of weight, because she's the fifth vet we saw since we moved here to Belgium and the first one that actually has experience with Lantus, stresses the importance of hometesting and apparently has some knowledge of the protocols, too. But I was not comfortable following her instruction, knowing the drugs and the surgery would mess his BG up.

My boyfriend and I both agreed we should give his body a chance and decided we wouldn't increase right away. We stayed with 3.5U for 3 more cycles and although his BG dropped a bit, we couldn't bring him out of red. Last night we had a long debate (almost turned into a heated argument) about whether we should increase today, and this morning, Dimmu was still in the reds, so I budged and gave him 4U... We are home today and will monitor him, I hope this is the right call.

Apparently, it's not just a dance with the cat, it's also a dance with your human companion.......
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top