2/24 Buster- AMPS 229- vet- weight issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bustercat

Member
Buster had his pre dental check-up this morning. the 256 was just after we got home :smile: The vet got on the phone with MSU while I was there to find out how to submit the two tests... they are waiting for the office manager to come in and give me a price.

Buster will need 1 extraction for sure... a back tooth broke off and there is still a root in there, it is pretty red/inflamed. The other teeth are so coated with tartar that she has no idea what condition they will be in. I've got Clavamox and will start giving it on Tuesday... his dental will be Friday. She said night before as usual. Morning of, 1/2 dose insulin and no food.

***Buster has gained 3 pounds since October!!! He weighed in at 17- he's got a beer belly! I think 12 or 13 is optimum for him. She gave me prescription for Royal Canine, and said my home made food would also be fine... just no more Friskies. Any one else having weight issues? Buster is so ravenous... three 5.5oz cans a day and he still begs for more!
 
Three 5.5 oz cans a day, seems like a lot to me. I think my cat J.D. eats about one and one half to two 3oz cans of FF a day, maybe a little more. He's 16.5 lbs and has been for about a year. I think J.D. would look better at 14 lbs.
This is a really good read by Dr. Lisa http://www.catinfo.org/feline_obesity.htm
 
I second what Dyana says. Tizon gets just over 1 5.5 oz can per day - but he's also oldish and just shy of 19 lbs. Have a read at Dr. Lisa's site before switching to 'the food". Your Friskies is likely not as bad as you led to beleive.
 
I hope the vet didn't suggest the calorie control with fiber -- it's 28% carb.

I think you'll be fine if you pay attention to the calories and spread the food out throughout the day.
 
Thanks Dyana, that was a good link... I had not read that one before.

The vet did want me to give him the food with more fiber. Said it is one of the best to help regulate the kitty. I told her it's too expensive for me.

I thought because Buster is unregulated I should feed him as much as he wants. I will slowly cut him back to 2 cans and see what that does for him. Even two cans is more calories than he needs. He is indoor kitty and not a very playful one at that.

He would probably eat 4 or 5 cans a day if I would let him.
 
Bustercat said:
I thought because Buster is unregulated I should feed him as much as he wants. I will slowly cut him back to 2 cans and see what that does for him. Even two cans is more calories than he needs. He is indoor kitty and not a very playful one at that.

He would probably eat 4 or 5 cans a day if I would let him.
yes, unregulated kitties don't metabolize their food properly, so they're always hungry. they do need to eat more, but peeps forget to mention one shouldn't feed kitty so much that he'll get overweight. :-D

just gradually decrease the amount you're feeding.

glad you're getting the dental done and looking into testing...
 
3 cans a day - wow - Luna ate about two cans a day in the pre-regulation days, now down to 1.
He's a still a piggy sometimes thou, lol



The vet did want me to give him the food with more fiber. Said it is one of the best to help regulate the kitty. I told her it's too expensive for me.

:lol: that's my excuse too, lol
you go Buster's mom!!
 
MSU...you are getting the acro test correct? that might also be a reason for the weight gain. however three 5.5 oz. cans is a lot of food for a indoor cat.
you know the whole after dental plan that ngiht right? get the BG when you walk in door and then feed him a couple of bites of food only (if he is awake enough) and then get the PMPS number to compare. if it has dropped make sure you post first before drawing up a dose, often that night after anesthesia they need a reduced dose due to side effect of anesthesia 'eating glucose'. also make sure you are coming home with pain meds (buprenex is best) since there will for sure be extractions.
glad you are getting the testing and the dental done. :)
~jojo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top