2/23 Tiki PMPS 346, Skipped PM Shot, sick kitty

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/23 Tiki AMPS 151, +4 50, +5 37, +8 59,

aaaaccccckkkkkkk! 37!?! Tiki! way to startle everybody! good thing you're experienced, tonya - i see you just take it in stride and keep on going. :-D

hope you're having a nice sunday!
 
Re: 2/23 Tiki AMPS 151, +4 50, +5 37, +8 59, +10 195,

Hi Julie! Yep, I just roll with it. However.....

Not sure if today's low number was a good thing or not. Right after he tested so low I gave him MC (Roasted Chicken FF) food which he promptly barfed up and he has had two bouts with diarrhea (so stinkie I thought the paint might peel off the walls) since then. And he's as grumpy as can be. It's about 30 mins from his shot/dinner time so we will have to see how excited he gets. Right now he is still here next to me like a meatloaf. But he's here and not under the bed (I vant to be alone) so that's a good thing.

Sasha has had a really good weekend (all things considered). It seems like maybe, perhaps, (not daring to jinx things) the lasix seems to be doing some good. She is still panting, but not as badly. She wants to go for walks and happily trots ahead when we are out. Still eager for her treats. But still not really eating her dinner too well. She has even started to just lick the sauce off her kibble, but usually finishes her food by the end of the night. I gave her half of her dinner this morning wondering if a full tummy makes it harder to breathe and she ate that about mid afternoon. Watching her like a hawk still, but happy with what I'm seeing.
 
Re: 2/23 Tiki AMPS 151, +4 50, +5 37, +8 59, +10 195,

He just had his third trip to the potty box with diarrhea. I just tested him (it's his usual shot time) and he came in at 346. He has made NO effort to eat and I put his dish right in front of him and he doesn't want any part of it. I am going to skip his shot tonight given he isn't eating and perhaps today's low number sent him into this tizzy. I've noticed he has barfed in the past and has had loose stool when he drops that low so I'm not going to risk it. Poor kitty, he's just miserable right now. All meatloafed out. :sad:
 
Tonya, do you have any forti flora? You might try sprinkling a little on some of his favorite food. It will help with the diarrhea and most kitties like it (except my problem child). Sending good tummy vines!
 
:sad: darn. i'm sorry he's feeling yucky.

i second Tricia's suggestion about fortiflora. most kitties like it and it can stop up the diarrhea.
 
Well I just let him lick a little bit which he was quite excited over. Figured I'd only give him a little at a time just in case. But I did notice each version seems to be 1oz per packet.
 
Tonya, FortiFlora for dogs aren't good for cats.
You need FortiFlora for cats if you want to give to Tiki.

Please do not give canine Fortiflora to Tiki!!!!

ETA: I might be wrong, I am not 100% absolutely positive about this.
But I remember seeing at the vet office a caution stickie on the shelf that read something like "canine fortiflora dangerous for feline" or something like that.
Again, I might be wrong, but better be safe!
 
Thanks Mariko - I've been trying to locate this info online and I never really succeeded. Tiki only got a couple of licks and then I gave the rest of it to my dog. Do you know why the doggie kind is bad for cats? Other than its for DOGS! LOL
 
Tonya, sorry I do not know why.
I just remember seeing a stickie note of caution at vet office.
I remember double checking I got the correct box when I bought it for Lucy because I saw the note.
But my guess is that there are some microorganisms in there that are good for dogs, but not so good for cats?
 
You can always get a human probiotic like ReNew Ultimate (I've seen it at Whole Foods and GNC) or Pearls (at an pharmacy) if you can't find FortiFlora. I've only been able to find FortiFlora on line.

Re. your civvie, you might want to make sure the salt content in what you're feeding is as low as possible. Salt causes fluid retention which is exactly what the lasix is trying to prevent.
 
Hi Sienne - good point. Just tried to look up the salt content of her dog food and it's not listed. Guess that rules out most of the people food I've been trying to entice her to eat her dinner with. :oops:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top