Re: 2/23 Tessie Lou AMPS 282, +9 is 345 Won't eat--I'm worri
Sienne and Gabby said:
Re. Ketones: If there's a trace level of ketones, you just need to get as much water as possible into Tess' diet and keep a close eye on ketone levels and behavior. If the level is above trace, then you need to get to the vet/ER immediately.
Ok, good to know. If there is a trace level, I will post for more advice.
Sienne and Gabby said:
I do think you need more tests during the PM cycle. It's hard to extrapolate what's going on without the PM data. (I don't know if you work evenings. If you do work then, we'll manage.) I also think you're holding on to a dose for too long. The protocol suggests not holding a dose for more than 5 days if nadirs are primarily 200 or below and only 3 days if most nadirs are above 300
Agreed. I just did a PM +3.5 and it was 239. I will plan to get another one at +7 and +10.
I agree on the dose holding, too. I have had her on this dose for 10 days, so it's time for an increase (unless this new pen makes a big difference).
Sienne and Gabby said:
Gabby did completely refuse DM after eating it for a while. I brought 2 cases of it back to the vet. If your vet is being insistent, share the facts. What I told my vet was that I could buy a far better quality cat food (i.e., human grade food vs. animal by-products) that was lower in carbs, contained no grain or gluten and was cheaper. My vet stopped pushing the Rx food once she realized I understood what was nutritionally important. (Wellness chicken or turkey is 4% carb and is human grade. DM is animal by-products and 7% carb.) It's more important that a cat eat than not eat a prescription food. Also, Gabby refused Nature's Variety. I ended up using another commercially prepared raw food that I thought was far better quality (no hunks of bone or gristle) and I finally was making up raw myself. It turned out she would eat Wellness and her numbers were the same.
That is so interesting...I do think Tessie is having gastric distress. She doesn't want me to rub her tummy tonight like she usually does. And, you mentioned hairballs? She has never had one, but guess what? A few minutes ago, she actually coughed a few times! That's also a first for her. What's causing that, I wonder?
I think she is trying to tell me (by burying it) that the food is not agreeing with her, although I don't know if it's the DM or the raw, or both. I promised the vet tonight I would stay with the DM for 2 weeks or until and if Tessie refuses it. She ate it all at her evening meal, so...I guess I'll see what happens in the morning. If she refuses it, I'll give her cooked chicken and go get some Wellness. I agree on the poor ingredients of DM--and I read that they source the meat outside the U.S. (read China), which I don't like. I also don't like the bone and gristle in NV, and I also just read in Dr. Hodgkins book that you shouldn't give them any canned food with carrot, apple, or other fruit. Well, NV has all those things. :cry: This is so frustrating to try to figure out! I hate seeing her in discomfort like this, on top of higher numbers making her not feel well.
Well, I guess this is that marathon you all refer to, right? I can't believe Tessie and I have been doing this for almost 3 months already. :YMSIGH:
Thanks for all the insights. As always, it is much appreciated. I'll start a new post in the morning...
Night all,
Sandy and Tessie Lou