2-23 Sneakers- first 500 in weeks!

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Very Active Member
I get the results back from the blood work today so hopefully that will tell me something cause it is like she is reverting- hungry all the time, more water, more pee pats... Since I see a drop in her numbers I believe the insulin is still working :? .

I think she may be getting constipated so I need to get some pumpkin spread to add to her food going home after school tonight. Her poops have become small and round.
 
Have you tried Miralax? It has no sugar added. Dr. Lisa recommends using it. About 1/8-1/4 tsp mixed with water mixed into food.
Make sure you read the labels with the pumpkin. Some have sugar added.

Good Luck!
 
Jsut curiuos, cause this make a huger difference with Shakespeare,
have you changed the injection shot recently?
do you change on a regular basis
If you continue to shoot in the same spot you could get a build up of insulin
and it will become less effective...
just a thought :mrgreen:
 
Have you been giving pumpkin? If so, it might raise the numbers. No other people food?

Don't like this number though. Maybe time to raise the dose by .25? She isn't getting good numbers on these higher doses, but don't think any experiments with lower are a good idea with her ketone history.

Let's see what other people think.
 
I shoot in the flank- one side in the morning and the other at night.

No pumpkin as of yet. Miralax was suggested and I will run and pick that up in an hour or so to start tonight.

I upped her dose last night to 2.75u because her numbers have been climbing and want to give her until Sat to steady on that for... well, for laughs right now because she just seems to be climbing higher as the week goes on.

Around 4 i'll call my vet and see what the results of the blood test was.

I got one referral to a vet in NLR- about 5-10 minutes from home. I called and they do take cats with FD. If my vet doesn't start improving I will be taking Sneakers elsewhere- which is hard because I've been going there for 20 years.
 
Sorry, I should have caught your increase. I have to admit I really have trouble seeing the numbers on your ss, but maybe it's my IPad (or my failing eyesight)
 
We will go with the tiny numbers on the iPad :lol:

My vet said not to increase but I couldn't not do that. After telling me that he went to a class and the instructor 'diabetic guru' said no number was too high because 'they don't get toxins in their bodies like humans do' I kind of did the eyes popping out of my skull kind of thing and said "I don't think that's correct." I decided on dose increase right then and there.


A few question I will be asking my new vet candidates:

Do you approve of home testing? If so, what brand of meter do you feel is okay and how often?
Would you feel comfortable looking at on-line or faxed chart if I have a question on dosage or would I need to bring her in?
What diet should a FD have?
What insulin do you prescribe?
How high a bg number do you consider is too high?
Do you consider ketones to be a problem (in blood or urine)?
Do you have a ketone test meter?
Have you ever had a cat that went off insulin and ended up being diet controlled?
Do you keep up with other complications that cats with FD have a greater propensity to get with FD (i.e. DKA)?

Does anyone have any other suggestions?
 
I would maybe ask your current vet if they mentioned "renal threshold" in that seminar or "glucose toxicity". He should be thinking that BG above 250 is a problem. One high number might be a non-issue, but repeated high numbers, or numbers that stay high most of the day are definitely something he should be concerned about.

One thing on your SS that has me confused is the way he dropped from 498 to 387 in 30 minutes last night just at shot time. A drop right then is strange.

Please ask the vet for a copy of the bloodwork results that you can share with us. There might be some numbers in there that give a clue as to why Sneakers doesn't seem to be responding well no matter what dose you try.

Carl
 
Carl-
I will ask. If he isn't going to do any research on FD I really don't need him as my vet.
No idea why she dropped at that time- was very surprised as that hasn't happened before.

Sue-
I will be returning to my relion again. I got some free strips but they are down to 2 and have purchased more strips for the relion. They were, when originally tested along with the micro, 20 pts difference 9 out of 10 times. I have never tested on myself- maybe I should do that in the morning before breakfast. At least I won't have to sit on the poke pillow :lol: .

One possibility that came up in a break session talk with co-workers- I have a neighbor down the street that feeds the neighborhood strays- dry food, of course. As Sneakers is now feeling better and the weather has been nice it is possible that she is going across a busy street, down 5 houses and getting some candy contraband. I was too busy to call today before school so will call tomorrow morning to check on the blood work. If there is nothing wrong I might have to block the cat door a few days to find out for sure and see how her numbers do.
 
Aha! cat(2)_steam You are going to have to strictly control everything she eats. These high numbers are not good for her. You are working so hard with the pokes, spreadsheet, deciding the dose. If she gets dry food at the neighbors, all your work is wasted. And she continues in high numbers.
 
As Sneakers is now feeling better and the weather has been nice it is possible that she is going across a busy street, down 5 houses and getting some candy contraband.

If there is a will, there's a way. That is why we call dry food "kitty Krack". That would actually be a relief if you were to verify that she's been doing that. At least the numbers would make sense.

Carl
 
Dr, Lisa had suggested to me about the miralax too (1/8-1/4tsp 2xday). We started the 1/4tsp 2xday 1st and it worked great. Now we are down to the 1/8tsp 2xday.

Hope it works wonders for your kitty too.

Lori
 
Yeah kitty crack would explain a lot. I’d check on that sooner than later. If you explain I am sure folks will comply.
 
Will be doing that. I installed the pet door when I moved in because I had 2 kitties that would get me up at 3 in the morning to let them out to their "grand bathroom". Now that Sneakers has her own indoor box I will need to stop up the door for at least three days to check on it.

Possible :?: fasting numbers at home tonight- 569.

I have counted up all my testing in the last few weeks- 140 in about 18 days. That's a lot :!: . I knew that ADW has the strips for the relion confirm but I could never find the micro strips there- when I bought the new box at Wal-Mart they say they are for both Confirm and Micro- so that is where I will be buying them from now on :lol: .

Time for another test and shot- she was high pre-food, who knows what it is now.

Okay... it dropped 29 pts to 540 :? . Gave 2.75u.

I got the pumpkin- there were no other ingredients on the label and my boss uses the same thing for her cat for constipation- she needs it often because of a medical problem. If there is not improvement in a day or two I will go back for the the mirilax. I gave 1/4 teaspoon with first oz of chicken and lots of water and then mixed her another 2 oz of chicken and FF without pumpkin while she gobbled that up.
 
Vet said there was nothing in her blood work. Thinking it is KCC and have closed her door to the outside world for a while just to see how that goes.
 
Be very watchful, Helen. You increased her dose based on her numbers. If they were high because of dry food and not insulin needs, it is possible that she could drop fairly fast.
 
Thanks Sue.
I was just about to raise her dose anyway as she was slowly dropping :-D but not enough when the numbers started climbing up again :sad: - and would have needed a higher dose than a .25 increment.

Donnahc-
I don't know if I can control the neighbor- she free feeds the strays in her backyard and calls them by name if they miss a meal. She has no idea that my Sneakers already has a home and is just free-loading for contraband :o .

Sneakers always sticks close to me outside when I am home, so it will be when I am not at home that she needs to be completely indoor. I guess this means forever cat box but I can handle that :smile: .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top