2/23 Noodle AMPS 505 +2 405 +4 330 PMPS 358 +2 324 +4 200 +6.25 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia & Noodle

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...404-10-365-pmps-376-2-300-4-373-6-367.133533/

My highest test to date. :(

Her appetite isn't a great as it normally is this morning, either. I'm giving this one more cycle then trying a new insulin pen. I'm just at a total loss right now and feel like I'm on the verge of tears. I think I'll also go grab a case of the food she ate right out of the hospital to try to eliminate a new food as a factor (looking at her SS, this streak started after the food experiments).
 
Last edited:
Oh, Noodle....please come down! And please eat for MamaBean.

How old is her pen? It is possible it could be the juice.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:to you, Patricia....
 
Oh, Noodle....please come down! And please eat for MamaBean.

How old is her pen? It is possible it could be the juice.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:to you, Patricia....

Thanks. At least she ate a bit, just not going after it as much as usual.

The pen isn't old at all and I'm not sure it's really that, but I'm willing to try anything to cross reasons off the list at this point. Maybe it got too cold in the fridge, I left it out too long, or managed to get some insulin back in when I reinserted a needle after a botched measurement. I just feel the need to reset--go back to the original food, new insulin pen--and try from there.
 
No tears, Patricia!!!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Plain and simple this sugar dance sucks sometimes. But we cannot let it beat us, so we hunker down and work on getting a dose that works. And that is what we need to do. You are doing such an amazing job with Noodle! Just remember Noodle is getting used to the insulin and her body is adjusting. If you look at Skooter's 2014 spreadsheet, you will see he was all over the flipping board for so long and I just felt like I wasn't doing anything right.

One thing I learned with Skooter is that he is pretty carb sensitive. So some cats can get 3% or 5% carb food and it makes no difference, in Skooter that could send his numbers up a little bit. I would start with the food and go from there. You don't want to change too many things because if you start getting better numbers, there is no way to know what caused the drop. Due to how expensive the pens are, I would change insulin pens last. Skooter's first pen lasted 108 days and he got darn good numbers up to the end, so I don't think it is the insulin (and yes there may have been a time or two where I may have left it out all night :banghead:).

At this point in the dance, patience is the name of the game, and I am not great at patience. But, to make me feel better, I did as much testing as I could to get lots and lots of data and then from there the super smart people can start noticing trends, etc and may be able to help as well.

Is Noodle on any medications?
 
Is Noodle on any medications?
She gets Denamarin every other day or so, I only give it when I can keep an eye on her since it made her vomit occasionally.
She also had a 10 day round of Zenequin post-hospital that ended 2/1. She was on cyproheptadine, but that ended 2/14 (about when her numbers started staying high).
 
Well, Noodle seems to have done some work to talk me off of my ledge this morning. I'm still planning on going back to the drawing board with food and getting more ProPlan Kitten Chicken & Liver tonight, but a 170 point drop by +4 is nice to see given her AMPS. :)
 
Looks like the insulin is working, perhaps it was just a little NDW. Keep sliding down Noodle - and eat your fuds!

I'm not familiar with cyproheptadine, what was that for?
 
Looks like the insulin is working, perhaps it was just a little NDW. Keep sliding down Noodle - and eat your fuds!

I'm not familiar with cyproheptadine, what was that for?
It's an appetite stimulant! We wanted to be very sure she was eating enough after her bout of FHL, she'd lost 3-4 lbs prior to DX.
 
The pen isn't old at all and I'm not sure it's really that, but I'm willing to try anything to cross reasons off the list at this point. Maybe it got too cold in the fridge, I left it out too long, or managed to get some insulin back in when I reinserted a needle after a botched measurement. I just feel the need to reset--go back to the original food, new insulin pen--and try from there.

I always start second guessing my decisions when things are not going right, but most of the time it isn't me it is just the Sugar Dance.

I am not familiar with the medications that Noodle is on, are any of them for upset stomach, like Pepcid (famotidine)? If not maybe you might want to try that. I am not sure of the dose, you might need to talk to your vet, but in the past I gave Sami ÂĽ of a 10mg tablet 2x daily when she wasn't eating.
 
I always start second guessing my decisions when things are not going right, but most of the time it isn't me it is just the Sugar Dance.

I am not familiar with the medications that Noodle is on, are any of them for upset stomach, like Pepcid (famotidine)? If not maybe you might want to try that. I am not sure of the dose, you might need to talk to your vet, but in the past I gave Sami ÂĽ of a 10mg tablet 2x daily when she wasn't eating.
Denamarin- liver supplement for FHL recovery
Zenequin- antibiotic
Cypro- appetite stimulant

Thanks for the tip on the Pepcid. I'll look into it with her vet if her appy issues stick around. (fingers crossed she just felt yucky this morning with that high BG!)
 
Tina brings up a good point...Pepcid helps with tummy acid and that can help settle a tummy, but if Noodle is nauseated and that is affecting her appy, she may need cerenia or ondansetron. With the FHL, I'm surprised your vet hasn't prescribed these...
 
Tina brings up a good point...Pepcid helps with tummy acid and that can help settle a tummy, but if Noodle is nauseated and that is affecting her appy, she may need cerenia or ondansetron. With the FHL, I'm surprised your vet hasn't prescribed these...
FWIW, this is the first day (aside from her first day home) that she's shown any appy issues--and even today she finished her breakfast within 60-90 mins. I only noticed because she usually wolfs it down within 30 min and I was watching her like a hawk after that 500+ AMPS.
I do wonder if Saturday's scarf & barf was actually nausea, so I'll keep a closer eye on how she's eating, but she was normal after Saturday AM up until this morning. She only seemed off because she didn't seem to want to eat it all at once. I wasn't even aware nausea was a common side effect with FHL recovery, is it?
 
Hopefully this morning was just a fleeting moment. I think we sugarcat MamaBeans are so hypersensitive and every little nuance really stands out to us. I know I do the same thing with Trix....sometimes I drive myself crazy o_O:confused:!!

This is so true. I find myself checking Sami for every little cough, sneeze or twitch, to make sure she is breathing. LOL! I know she did all of these things prior to being on insulin, but when we are watching so closely everything seems to be a problem.
 
Finally, a non-red PMPS and she didn't come up much from +4, I hope that means she went down and this is the highest after that!

*anti-jinx* Maybe this is progress?
 
It's blue on the World version of the spreadsheets. :cool: Keep on sliding Noodle - you can do it. Looks like the insulin might be OK.
 
:cool::cool::cool:

It's way past my bedtime, she's due a LC snack. Think I'm ok to just give that and go to sleep? I forget what it's like to take lower numbers into consideration. Lets hope Rosa hid that trampoline well, @manxcat419 !
 
I told Rosa if I see that trampoline again, or if she lends it to anyone else, she's grounded for the rest of the year!! ;) Though I think Regan's been busy rounding up all the trampolines she can find and sending them back to the salesman - she doesn't like getting less attention than her twin ;)

Noodle's looking great tonight - it's so good to see her back into blue numbers :D :D

She looks good to me for the night - she's past the mid-point between doses, but I've just about got used to leaving Rosa with plenty of lc anywhere in the 90's or higher so I might not be the best judge of that at the moment.
 
That 136 tonight says there's nothing wrong with the insulin. Most insulin lasts for months.

I think what you have going on is that the reduction to 0.1u was too much for noodle. In the failed reduction, her body got used to high numbers (glucose toxicity.)

Now you're having to go up in dose to overcome it. You're getting there.

Loved the cuddle puddle picture!
 
That 136 tonight says there's nothing wrong with the insulin. Most insulin lasts for months.

I think what you have going on is that the reduction to 0.1u was too much for noodle. In the failed reduction, her body got used to high numbers (glucose toxicity.)

Now you're having to go up in dose to overcome it. You're getting there.

Loved the cuddle puddle picture!

That's what it seems to me, too, after pouring over threads and other spreadsheets. In that case, do I consider her a cat who doesn't hold reductions well and make her show me <50 three times? As opposed to letting her take reductions back to back within a couple cycles. Am I right to suspect that in the 6 day dive she took, some of those <50s could have been affected by the depot from previous doses?

And yes, those two are adorable. Pauli & Babycat :cat:
 
No, don't go there yet. Noodle has only been diagnosed for a month and it's definitely too early to make the decision to vary off the protocol yet.

Let's take it one step at a time. I would hold this dose now and see if she can get back to this range again. She's likely to bounce from this, and you don't want to increase during the bounce.
 
Oh, your second question. ..a larger dose can influence as many as 6 cycles after you reduce the dose. I'm not sure which days you are talking about.
 
The depot can influence the following 4-6 cycles, so it's possible you went from .75U to .25U too quickly. But she did get down to 50 after 6 cycles on .25U so that should have been just the .25U depot talking. As Julie said, it's early days so not enough data to say she's failing reductions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top