2/23 Mookie PMBG 127, +2 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randa & Mookie

Member Since 2011
We have been w/out power since 6pm last night & now have a heavy snowstorm.
I reduced M's dose this am to 1.5. (sent from phone)

Power back!

Condo Yesterday
numbers yesterday
293 AMPS
110 +3
64 +4
60 +5
46 +6
60 +6.3
75 +6.6
101 +7.5
310 +11
368 PMPS
293 +4

What a night last night, testing by flashlight! And what a day today! I cancelled an appointment I had today when I saw his AMPS of 78. Our power came back on a couple of hours ago. We got about 7" of snow, and we stayed warm because we have a wood stove as a secondary source of heat. I pretty much kept it going all last night and today.

For those who didn't see it yesterday, Mookie went down to 46 and bounced back up to 368 for his PS test. I kept his dose at 1.75 last night, and I took the reduction this morning when we got the AMPS of 78. :shock:
 
Re: 2/23 mookie amps 78

Hi guys .. wooot wooot on that amps! Boooooo on no power and heavy snow .. we are under a winter storm advisory for tonight and tomorrow morning .. hope we don't lose power! have a great day and stay warm!
 
Re: 2/23 mookie amps 78, +1/106 +4/156 +5/106 +6/120 +10/69

This evening Mookie has dropped again into green, which is the first time that's happened. :RAHCAT

There are two things I've done differently in the past two days, which may or may not have influenced the good numbers. In either case it's worthy of a notation. I've drawn much more Lantus into the syringe (at least 3x more than I need) and shot the excess out into the sink because of air bubbles. Second, I've started shooting into his side rather than his back. Perhaps it's a coincidence that his numbers have improved since I changed my loading and shooting techniques -- both of which I probably should have been doing all along. Anyway, I'm enjoying the good numbers. :-D
 
Re: 2/23 mookie amps 78, +1/106 +4/156 +5/106 +6/120 +10/69

Now that IS some excitement - big snowstorm, green numbers, testing in the dark...holy cow. Looks like the stress didn't cause Mookie to miss a beat and back to green again! haha_smiley
 
Re: 2/23 Mookie +11 43/60, PMBG 127, +2 311

In case the 43 at +11 was correct, I fed Mookie 1 tsp MC. His +12 was 127 and a food-fueled number--if I hadn't fed him at +11 he probably would have had a PMPS in the 60s. I decided to skip the shot rather than stall or lower his dose, because he was starving, and I didn't want to risk his going too low tonight.
 
Mookie, I'm sure you enjoyed extra cuddle time and having your bean home. Let's keep it on this greenward trajectory! We didn't see any snow this year at home. Usually we get at least a bit! It was crazy warm here today. Weather is goofy all over lately.
 
Great day yesterday and today. Nice work!

Just want to suggest a few things to help Mookie keep up the good work.

It was fine to feed the 40s but it might have been a good choice to feed him LC. Then you could have had a bit lower PS and shot on time even though it might have been a small food spike. Once you shot, you could have given him a good dinner.

The other option would have been to feed the +11 with LC, stall to +12.5 and then shoot. You absolutely have to shoot low to stay low....and it looks like he was ready to bounce.


Glad you got the electricity back on and stayed warm. Wow..testing by flashlight! Great job! :-D
 
Interesting -- this is the first time I've ever felt afraid to give Mookie his shot. In the past I've always known he'd bounce up no matter what his PS number, but yesterday and today he's had such low numbers... :o
Yes, next time. Thanks for the suggestions, Marje.
 
Hi Randa - WOW: alot going on there - i can't imagine testing in the dark. :shock: My hat goes off to you on that one!

Wow on today's numbers too. I can understand your reasoning for not shooting at PS for the PM cycle. It's is so hard to say what Mookie would have done if you hadn't fed - I do know that one has to be comfortable shooting these low numbers, and if you're not, well you have to go with what you feel is the best. In time it will be much easier to deal with, and feel comfortable with, shooting the lows - that all comes with experience. No one can predict when a kitty will bounce (what I'd give to have that crystal ball!)- all we can do is follow their lead, and care for them the best that we can. In time too you will have a great grasp on what food you need to feed when numbers are low - whether it be LC, or MC... it takes alot of experimentation to know what Mookie will do with different carb foods. You're doing great with Mookie - all those greens is evidence of that. :-D

Sorry for the bounce - but no worries, he'll come down soon. I hope your day was a good one!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top