2/23 Minner AMPS 116 +3 54

MinnerPip

Member Since 2024
:D:DHi !!! We’ve not posted in almost 3 weeks. Minner had just reduced to 7 unit dose then.

Prior Post

She’s been rocking it at this dose with more of a curve so I haven’t faced uncomfortable pre shot numbers yet still good nadirs. Her nadir point seems to have shifted, it’s been happening earlier in her cycle with some serious action from +2 to +3. So she gets her highest carb meal (5%) at that time.

I decided we were overdue saying hello and giving an update. This morning I took a little reduction b/c she’s inched downward again. She broke her low value record this morning (54) after breaking it last night (56). Since I use calipers now to improve precision of her dose, I went with a 0.125 reduction. She’s not gone below 50 to earn a reduction per the protocol guidance, but I think it’s close enough. I don’t want nadirs in the 50s. I’ve gotten comfortable with 60s so trying to get back there. Not sure how many cycles to wait b4 determining if 0.125 reduction is enough to trigger slightly higher nadir.

In other news … I discovered the Tiki Cat Stix Mousse Treats .,.. they do NOT contain tapioca like Churu and Hartz Bisque which actually makes those treats medium and high carb. Instead of tapioca, they use xanthan gum as the thickening agent. Altho it’s a carb, it’s net zero carb content and actually can lower blood sugar based on several studies. But if your kitty has any GI sensitivities or food allergies, proceed w/ caution as it can irritate some cats. For Minner I can attest that it does not increase her BG like churu and hartz bisque. :cat:
 
Hi Laura, So good to hear from you and that Minner is doing well. I'll give the Tiki Cat treats a try--we're always looking for something new and safe.
 
Happy to hear this update! We get the early nadir too, not sure how or why. But Minner is looking great. That dose number looks wild on the spreadsheet, it’s cool you can do that level of detail though.
 
Happy to hear this update! We get the early nadir too, not sure how or why. But Minner is looking great. That dose number looks wild on the spreadsheet, it’s cool you can do that level of detail though.
Hi, thank you Tim! Yes, I’m also wondering how/why the nadir has moved. There has to be some explanation or theory. I started wondering if something happens over time with the behavior of the depot buildup which I think are crystals under the skin. I envision a little town of crystals in the two general areas where I inject Minner. Often I can even sense or feel what I assume are the crystals when I inject, a very very subtle feeling as if punching thru a super thin scab. Now that she has a well grounded crystal community and I inject in same vicinity repeatedly, am I disturbing the crystals and causing an earlier nadir? Totally and complete imaginative fabrication! Who knows???

Regarding the 6.875 … it does indeed look funny and I’ve not seen others do this, but Wendy did mention adjustments for Neko of 0.125. Thanks to @Staci & Ivy for the caliper encouragement. I love them now and feel more confident about my dosing consistency.
 
Never seen that “veterinary solutions”. Can’t find any percentages on it either. We have some of the Tiki Cat Stix here, it’s like those ones in the tube pouch.
I've never seen it before either. The recommended feeding instructions are 2 1/2 cans per day per 7 lbs. of body weight. Jude is 15 lbs, so I think it would cost us a fortune.
 
Hey, try this link. This is exactly what I bought.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0C5S22MLG?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

I had seen that vet solutions, but only very recently. Note that it has the xanthan gum ingredient too, like the Stix. It also has powdered cellulose, a fiber, which comes from wood pulp, so you are basically eating sawdust, but it’s a plant … :p I think its ok in small amounts, but like xanthan gum, it can cause GI irritation for some. In fact, same is true of FOS ingredient as well.

I’ve made a note to try it as it looks very creamy and given Minner’s limited wet food willingness being primarily pate’s, maybe she would like it. Yikes though, you are right, that’s not very affordable. Ouch.
 
Woohoo! A Minner post. How is she doing, other than her numbers?

Note to any lurkers, Minner is "complicated", she is on a higher dose of insulin and got a reasonable high score on her insulin auto antibodies (IAA) test, so do not follow what Laura does. Second note, although I did do smaller reductions too, I only did them if Neko went below 50.
 
Woohoo! A Minner post. How is she doing, other than her numbers?

Note to any lurkers, Minner is "complicated", she is on a higher dose of insulin and got a reasonable high score on her insulin auto antibodies (IAA) test, so do not follow what Laura does. Second note, although I did do smaller reductions too, I only did them if Neko went below 50.
Thank you for asking Wendy, knock on wood, she’s been quite active, happy, eating well (maybe too well). She has become very accommodating for all the ear pricking, I can do it pretty much anywhere anytime. Even her injection I have started doing wherever she happens to be lounging at shot time. She also lets me know when her BG is getting low, vocally and physically (will walk all over me if I’m reclining). Despite being overall healthy and her diabetes now regulated, that IAA coupled with large depot looms in my mind every day … so I feel I won’t ever be able to “relax”.

Here is the mighty mouse hunter!
upload_2025-2-23_20-37-17.jpeg


Life is rough. :)
upload_2025-2-23_20-38-43.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-23_20-37-17.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-23_20-37-17.jpeg
    51.4 KB · Views: 137
  • upload_2025-2-23_20-38-43.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-23_20-38-43.jpeg
    39.2 KB · Views: 136
Thank you for asking Wendy, knock on wood, she’s been quite active, happy, eating well (maybe too well). She has become very accommodating for all the ear pricking, I can do it pretty much anywhere anytime. Even her injection I have started doing wherever she happens to be lounging at shot time. She also lets me know when her BG is getting low, vocally and physically (will walk all over me if I’m reclining). Despite being overall healthy and her diabetes now regulated, that IAA coupled with large depot looms in my mind every day … so I feel I won’t ever be able to “relax”.

Here is the mighty mouse hunter!
View attachment 72936

Life is rough. :)
View attachment 72937

So glad to here miss Minner is doing well! Look at that face, she looks like she is smiling with her eyes closed...So cute ❤️❤️❤️❤️
 
Hi, thank you Tim! Yes, I’m also wondering how/why the nadir has moved. There has to be some explanation or theory. I started wondering if something happens over time with the behavior of the depot buildup which I think are crystals under the skin. I envision a little town of crystals in the two general areas where I inject Minner. Often I can even sense or feel what I assume are the crystals when I inject, a very very subtle feeling as if punching thru a super thin scab. Now that she has a well grounded crystal community and I inject in same vicinity repeatedly, am I disturbing the crystals and causing an earlier nadir? Totally and complete imaginative fabrication! Who knows???

Regarding the 6.875 … it does indeed look funny and I’ve not seen others do this, but Wendy did mention adjustments for Neko of 0.125. Thanks to @Staci & Ivy for the caliper encouragement. I love them now and feel more confident about my dosing consistency.
I’m sooo glad to hear you are feeling more confident using the calipers. I do too!
Every little trick helps for peace of mind, Laura.
I love the sweet pics of Minner.
Safe surfing you two :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top