Re: 2/23 Mickey amps 327 +2 341 +6 364 +8 352
Air bubbles in the pen are ok. I end up with a lot of them as I am adjusting the dose with the needle still in the pen (I overdraw and gently ease back in what I don't need). I have always done this with lev and it has not seemed to effect it at all. When the insulin level gets down to about half I try and draw off some of the air, by upending the pen (opposite of how you draw a dose), inserting a new syringe and pulling the back the plunger slowly. The insulin level will move toward the tip of the pen with the removal of air. I withdraw the syringe, expel the air and reinsert to draw the dose.
Well, he is sitting in the 300s now - that's not good. Lets see if he come down at all on the "fat half unit". Since he was up to more than 3u on the other insulin, he may need a lot more lev. We just don't know how much and with the schedule changes (moving up shots) we don't want to rush the dose increases. But maybe you could increase by quarter units for the next couple of increases? Go to .75u next, then 1u after that. Are you comfortable with that? Normally, I would say to raise him on Saturday if he isn't coming down, but how does that fit with your working schedule and when you will be home to test him? And when is your next time moving him earlier?
What syringes do you have? I draw .6u by moving the top of the stopper flange to the bottom of the half unit line so they are just overlapping. My lines are about .2u wide. I always note if the zero line is at zero or not (misprinted) and compensate for any difference there. Recently I have had a group of them with misprinted lines that allow about .2u above the zero line, so I am taking that into consideration.