2/23 Mickey amps 327 +2 341 +6 364 +8 352 pmps 315 +6 341

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/23 Mickey amps 327 +2 341 +6 364 +8 352

Air bubbles in the pen are ok. I end up with a lot of them as I am adjusting the dose with the needle still in the pen (I overdraw and gently ease back in what I don't need). I have always done this with lev and it has not seemed to effect it at all. When the insulin level gets down to about half I try and draw off some of the air, by upending the pen (opposite of how you draw a dose), inserting a new syringe and pulling the back the plunger slowly. The insulin level will move toward the tip of the pen with the removal of air. I withdraw the syringe, expel the air and reinsert to draw the dose.

Well, he is sitting in the 300s now - that's not good. Lets see if he come down at all on the "fat half unit". Since he was up to more than 3u on the other insulin, he may need a lot more lev. We just don't know how much and with the schedule changes (moving up shots) we don't want to rush the dose increases. But maybe you could increase by quarter units for the next couple of increases? Go to .75u next, then 1u after that. Are you comfortable with that? Normally, I would say to raise him on Saturday if he isn't coming down, but how does that fit with your working schedule and when you will be home to test him? And when is your next time moving him earlier?

What syringes do you have? I draw .6u by moving the top of the stopper flange to the bottom of the half unit line so they are just overlapping. My lines are about .2u wide. I always note if the zero line is at zero or not (misprinted) and compensate for any difference there. Recently I have had a group of them with misprinted lines that allow about .2u above the zero line, so I am taking that into consideration.
 
Re: 2/23 Mickey amps 327 +2 341 +6 364 +8 352

Tomorrow is 5a/p again. Thursday day off, I will do split doses 5a-8a-8p-11p.
Friday will be 11a/pm The syringes I am using ar 100u -31 gauge with 1/2 unit markings

The Prozinc 3.8 units, my concern with that is, it seemed like no matter what dose he got he was just about always in the 300's I know we are early in the game but, feels like I am going back there.

The fat half unit, I am really hoping it is .6 without proper lines to go by I think I am winging it. I was looking for syringes with .1 markings. Really don't think they make them, if they do I could not locate such a syringe on the internet.

Good idea on the air bubbles! I will try that. Thanks!
 
Re: 2/23 Mickey amps 327 +2 341 +6 364 +8 352 pmps 315 +6 34

Yeah, no one makes a small enough syringe... a 1/10cc would be nice, especially if it had .2u markings. Sigh... we can dream can't we?

With the dose, you are aiming for more than .5u and less than .75u and being consistent. (that's it basically for any microdose).

Since you are moving him later there is less chance of doubling up on a dose increase by shooting more and shooting early, but it does effect the settle time - meaning the data isn't reliably telling what the dose is doing because of the changing of times and splits, etc. When you do the splits you will be shooting .3u each time.

I guess you should get through the time change and then look at numbers before deciding to go to .75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top