2/23 Mandarin AMPS 309 - back on the juice, dosing question

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

I think Mandarin is just not meant to ever come off the juice permanently. :arghh: I already figured that this would happen when I started seeing more blues, but yesterday's and today's numbers made it crystal clear that I need to put him back on Insulin.

I gave him 0.25 units this morning, but I am not really sure if that is a good starting point. Since he hasn't been without Insulin for very long, should I just count this as a failed reduction and start super low? Or do I base the starting dose on his weight? He weighs about 13 pounds (and could stand to lose a pound or two)... or do I just do something like 0.25 or 0.5? I am home to monitor today and tomorrow.

...and I think I am just going btb to feel sorry for myself. After 4 years of organizing my life round insulin and testing schedules, these last few weeks have been amazing and it was so nice to finally be able to go out to dinner at normal times and not have to worry about running home in between classes every day. :arghh::arghh::arghh:
 
How is he, health-wise?
He seems to be feeling just fine. He is active and playful, has a good appetite and is not acting like he is in any pain. In other words, I doubt that there is a medical reason.

Walter has been having some hairball issues the last few days, so I am still hopeful that his higher numbers are connected to that and that he is not planning on following Mandarin's example.
 
Oh no, sorry to hear that he's back on the juice.
I'm guessing you're certain he's not got into any contraband?
He may need more, I don't really understand how to work it out when kitty is coming back on to the juice.
But you could see how the 0.25u works out and fast track him if necessary. That's what I did , I probably started a bit low, but just watched the numbers and fast tracked until he got moving in the direction I wanted him to.
 
Mandarin, did you miss the juice? Christina: I'm sorry that he is back on the juice. I think the .25U is a good place to start. It's more than the drop he was on before OTJ, but it will take a few days to rebuild the depot and by then you should be able to see whether it is too much or too little.

I'm sorry you have to modify your new-found freedom. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top