Re: 2/23 larry day 5 lantus AMPS 353 +3 250
Hi Pam and Sugardude Larry!
First, let me explain about the different protocols for Lantus so you can decide which one is for you.
The Tight Regulation protocol that most of us use is an aggressive treatment which requires more careful monitoring, therefor more tests to keep the cat safe, as well as in better numbers. It's the only protocol that's been tested and published in veterinary journals as being able to get up to 84% of newly diagnosed diabetics OTJ (off the juice) within 6 months. Increases are done in .25 increments, and re-evaluated every 3-5 days (6-10 cycles). If the nadir (lowest point in the cycle) is still too high after 3-5 days, we increase the dose .25 unit and the "clock" starts over again, so you give the same dose another 3-5 days. It's important that you hold increases at least 3 days (6 cycles).
IF Larry were to go below 50 during any cycle, that would mean he's getting too much, and you'd REDUCE .25 and hold for another 6-10 cycles (unless he goes below 50 again!)
The "Relaxed" protocol (also called Start Low, Go Slow) isn't quite so aggressive, and therefore doesn't require quite as much testing (although BOTH protocols require at least 4 tests per day. The 2 Pre-shot tests, 1 test somewhere between +5 and +7 during the AM cycle, and a "before bed" test on the PM cycle.) On the SLGS protocol, doses are held for 7 days (14 cycles) before increasing. Decreases are done anytime the cat drops below 90 instead of 50.
Only you can decide which one works best for you and Larry, and no matter which you choose, we'll support and help you. If you decide that the SLGS protocol works best for you, you can still post where you are most comfortable..either in the Insulin support groups,(TR or Relaxed) or the Health board, but the insulin support groups are probably the best because you'll be hearing from experienced Lantus users.
You can also use the SLGS method and post in the TR protocol forum too! It's totally up to you. The TR forum is busier than the Relaxed forum, but no matter which, you'll get experienced people advising you. If you do decide the SLGL is better for you but want to post in the busier TR forum, just add SLGS to your signature so we know.
Please don't feel overwhelmed. We totally understand that there's a lot of information being thrown at you very quickly and that the learning curve here is steep! If there's something you don't understand, please say so and we'll keep working with you until you do understand it. If we're giving you too much information too fast, don't be afraid to say "Hey, slow down!!".
Sometimes we can come across as "pushy", but please understand we all just really want to help you and Larry, and sometimes our enthusiasm can come off the wrong way.
Most of all, we're here to help you to help Larry!!
Edited to add....No matter which protocol you use, it's really important to get some tests during that PM cycle. Most cats drop lower at night, and without that testing, we just can't know if his AM numbers are high because he needs more insulin, or they're high because he's bounced off of an unseen low number at night. Think of it like a puzzle...without ALL the pieces, it's really hard to see the picture.