2/23 Kitty AMPS 301 + 2 167, + 5 211, + 8 290 PMPS 220 +3 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

worldtraveller

Member Since 2011
Good morning.
After last night's no shot and then little dry food feeding, Kitty's AMPS was 301.
Gave the normal 2.5U dose, a little dry food to eat and now we see how the day goes :smile:
I tried to put some crumbled dry food over the wet food, but he just ignored the plate. We have a long way to go for wet food......... :cool:
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301

good job trying! he'll get there.

so it's good to know that the with a skipped shot and some dry crunchies, he's at 301. more data gathered!

i'm off to bed as you're getting up. have a great day, mia!
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301

That's practically yellow! Hope he come down for you today. Good luck with the food switch! I lucked out with mine; they love wet. Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301

Hi guys .. almost yellow!!! Not bad for a skipped shot either .. Good luck with the wet food change .. we lucked out also, as mocha just lubs her turkey and giblets!
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301 + 2 167, + 5 211, + 8 290 PMPS 220

So we had bluish yellow day today :)

Now I am keeping Kitty's food similar to what I think it will be during next week when I am gone (yes, dry food, sigh...), and I am thinking of taking his dose down tomorrow as well.
So, Kitty originally started Lantus with 2U BID as prescribed by vet. The dose was probably this high because of dry food. When he was on 2U for first 2 weeks, his BG was regularly over 300's, no clear nadirs. A week ago I increased the dose to 2.5U and it showed the improved results so that we now have a curve and even got to green last night even though I did not shoot (though he did not eat much we I was trying to convince that wet food is for his best ;-) )

I'm thinking to take the dose down now to 1.5U or 2U for the week when I am travelling and when kitty sitter does not test. we need to keep in mind that he will be on dry food, so we probably should not go too low.

Any thoughts?
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301 + 2 167, + 5 211, + 8 290 PMPS 220 +

Just tested +3 after PM shot: 95! So nice to see the greens on the SS...

Now just have to decide how much to lower the dose for the coming week laptop_smiley
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301 + 2 167, + 5 211, + 8 290 PMPS 220 +

there are a couple of people experienced with dose changes for during pet sitter time - i'll see if i can get some advice for you on that.

good you've got the food somewhat settled now before you go.

hang on for some advice. :-D

ps, and yes, looking mighty good today. it'll probably all go crazy while you're gone, but then kitty will get back on track when you get home.

almost forgot - edited to add your post from yesterday. that way when someone arrives to help they can see what's been said recently and what the story is http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64362&p=697427#p697427
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301 + 2 167, + 5 211, + 8 290 PMPS 220 +

Yes, I am prepared that Kitty's readings will be a mess when I am gone, but based on past 2 days I am so encouraged since Kitty is positively responding to Lantus and am full of hope to have him regulated at some point .... when ever he starts to eat wet food ;-)
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301 + 2 167, + 5 211, + 8 290 PMPS 220 +

by the way, when you see a big drop from the preshot test to the +2 or +3 test, it means you need to be extra vigilent until Kitty has passed his lowest point and is coming up. In a "perfect" lantus curve, the +2 is the fairly close to the same as the preshot. When i look at your morning preshot of 301 and a +2 of 167, i'd have thought Kitty was heading downhill really fast. He may have gotten into lower numbers between that +2 and +5. no way to know - but just so you know that's time to really watch.

Tonight when i see a pmps of 220 and a +3 of 95 - same thing. I usually test punkin at +3 because he's usually fairly flat - and when i see a +3 quite a bit lower, my eyebrows go up and i pay attention. (can you see my eyebrows right now?) :lol:

I would get another test at +3.5 or +4 if you haven't - not sure how long it's been.

and yes, Kitty is very responsive to the lantus. you'll see it even more when the dry food is gone.
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301 + 2 167, + 5 211, + 8 290 PMPS 220 +

Good point ... I also think he is coming down pretty fast after the shot. I just tested again, and he was now 112 after 40 minutes since the last test (which was 95). This is now close to +4 after the PM shot... Not sure why he hits his lows so fast after the shot --- perhaps the dry food thing again?
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301 + 2 167, + 5 211, + 8 290 PMPS 220 +

some cats do dive - we have several who seem to want to dive within 2-4 hours after their shots. hard to know.

i forgot to ask you if Kitty has any history of ketones or diabetic ketoacidosis?

re the dry food - let's talk about it more when you get back. the requirement of all low-carb canned food is part of following the TR protocol because the theory is that most cats will not experience a symptomatic hypoglycemia if they are on all high protein, all low-carb canned food diet. because the dry food last longer and acts differently within the cat's body, having them eating dry food removes one of the protections of the protocol.

the premise of the tight regulation protocol is that by putting a cat's body back into non-diabetic numbers - BG ranging from 50-120 - their pancreas will kick back on and the cat has a good chance of going off of insulin. in the Rand/Roomp study (that produced the TR protocol) 84% of the cats who went on the protocol went off insulin within 6 months. the sooner they get into the program after diagnosis the better. there is damage to the pancreas from high blood sugar that is reversible if it's short-term or intermittent, but if they stay in sustained high numbers the pancreas can become damaged and not recover. i'm not trying to scare you into anything, just educate you. and yes, Kitty has to eat!!! a whole new set of problems arises if a cat doesn't eat. so you've got your work cut out for you! hopefully something in the catinfo.org site will work in getting Kitty transitioned and loving that yummy canned food!

the petsitter - is this someone just coming in twice a day to feed and shoot? or will she/he be living with Kitty?
 
Re: 2/23 Kitty AMPS 301 + 2 167, + 5 211, + 8 290 PMPS 220 +

Good morning!

I have not been testing for ketones, but will try to do that once I am back. I will be actually coming to the US next week, so can buy the test stuff there. Can you please advise again what I need to have to test for ketones?

Kitty sitter will be coming in just twice a day. She is very reliable and takes really good care of my cats when I am gone. Since Kitty was diagnosed she has been coming at least on 4 different trips already, so she knows the basics. I just feel that each time I introduce a new change --- a new insulin, new syringes, new doses, new food, ... :) She has great patience.

I am thinking now to give Kitty 2 U starting this morning....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top