Jack & Mopem'sMom
Member Since 2020
Back in the yellow zone this morning after his trip to the pink bounce house yesterday afternoon, after a nice run of blue. I just don't know why he bounces after numbers in the 100's
I have to go to Brooklyn tomorrow so won't be around to monitor, and Jack had that illegal kibble incident this week, so planning on holding 9units until Monday. Hope everyone has a peaceful weekend and the kitties all behave! 
Anyway, question for anyone familiar/having experience with Acro/IAA: Jack is currently on 9 units of glargine and following the SLGS protocol. We seem to go through this 9 unit nonsense every year, and looking back, I see we actually hit 9.5 units at one point back in 2022. I did have him tested for Acro/IAA back in July of 2022 and he came back negative: Insulin-like Growth Factor 1 (RIA) [RANGE 12-92 mmol/L] result=68 (neg) and Insulin Autoantibody [RANGE </= 20] result= 2 (neg). I remember those tests were expensive, and it was an argument with the vet clinic to: 1. get them to do the tests, and 2. over the mark-up they put on them. I really don't want to go through that again, but if anyone thinks there is value in that, I'd like to know. I think 9 units is A LOT of insulin, the vet doesn't seem to think so, and is telling me he can have 15 units without cause for worry
. Thoughts? Advise (other than continuing to try to get him to give up the Elsey's/Ziwi Peak kibble mix in the morning, which he won't eat any wet food without??) THANKS IN ADVANCE! 
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-22-jack-103-amps-156-2-132-3.286945/#post-3155086

Anyway, question for anyone familiar/having experience with Acro/IAA: Jack is currently on 9 units of glargine and following the SLGS protocol. We seem to go through this 9 unit nonsense every year, and looking back, I see we actually hit 9.5 units at one point back in 2022. I did have him tested for Acro/IAA back in July of 2022 and he came back negative: Insulin-like Growth Factor 1 (RIA) [RANGE 12-92 mmol/L] result=68 (neg) and Insulin Autoantibody [RANGE </= 20] result= 2 (neg). I remember those tests were expensive, and it was an argument with the vet clinic to: 1. get them to do the tests, and 2. over the mark-up they put on them. I really don't want to go through that again, but if anyone thinks there is value in that, I'd like to know. I think 9 units is A LOT of insulin, the vet doesn't seem to think so, and is telling me he can have 15 units without cause for worry

Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-22-jack-103-amps-156-2-132-3.286945/#post-3155086