? 2/23 Ivy Amps 154, +3 239, +6 272, +9 278, Pmps 338, +3 236 Libre Low Appetite

Staci & Ivy

Very Active Member
2/22/25
Amps 154 Libre

Good morning, well yesterday was quite a day with an ER visit due to Ivy not peeing or pooping all day. As as well as a very diminished appetite for the past several days. (See prior links for more details)

The ER vet felt she was probably dehydrated, so they gave fluids and a Cerenia injection and sent us on our way to continue trying to get her to eat (using syringe feeding if needed), ondansetron, mirtazapine, S. Bouliardi, and all the things I’ve been doing for the past several days.

They did not think it was pancreatitis. She hadn’t peed or pooped yesterday, but she peed well at the ER, which, even though it was a real mess, was a good thing she could pee!

She did pee and poop overnight, poop was still soft, but looked better than on Thursday when it was complete mush.

She did the same again this morning. Glad to see a Pee and soft poop.

Still no real appetite and I had to syringe feed her breakfast, took about an hour and a half to do that.
I know Mirtazapine is generally dosed once a day but I’m wondering if I should give it twice a day by splitting the dose in half ??
Has anyone done that to keep the dose maybe be more potent throughout the 24 hour period??


I’ve also been giving a half a dose of mirtazapine because that has usually worked for her in the past, but I think today I will give a full recommended dose and see if that helps more (or if someone thinks splitting the dose to two times a day and half would be better).

Hoping she starts to eat better that would make things go a lot smoother. It was certainly a long night and of course she decided to dip quite low and we were feeding some medium and even 20% two times, which barely did anything.

She was low on her Libre, but not low enough for me to poke her ear and frankly, I was so exhausted since she wasn’t too low on the Libre, that I managed her with carbs.

It was just a long night of her being in a low cycle after the past several days of barely any sleep :banghead:

Wishing you all a very common very boring day :cat:.
 
So good to hear the litter box visits wear more normal over night! Those fluids seemed to have helped. Let’s hope the appetite will follow. Also good you were able to manage the low last night with food!
I wouldn’t think splitting the mirtazapine into two doses a day would hurt, as long as the total is not over the prescribed amount. Its potency does seem to decline with time after administering. Another thing to check is the expiration date from opening. The vet told me it’s safe to use after that date but that it may not be as potent, however I have not noticed that with ours. It’s out of date but works fine. So who knows…..
I so hope you are able to get some rest today and Ivy shows more interest in her food and that whatever it was has run its course. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, I am so sorry you still have to got through this with Ivy! I am so happy that they didn't find anything serious going on. I asked ChatGPT about giving Mirtazapine more frequently than once every 24 hours. This was the answer:

Mirtazapine should generally not be administered more frequently than every 24 hours, even if the maximum dose is not exceeded. The active ingredient has a long half-life (up to 39 hours in cats) and is metabolized by the liver and kidneys. Administering it too frequently can lead to an overdose, even if the total amount is distributed throughout the day.

So even if it would not be harmful, it doesn't sound that it helps so much either.

All fingers and paws are crossed! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
So good to hear the litter box visits wear more normal over night! Those fluids seemed to have helped. Let’s hope the appetite will follow. Also good you were able to manage the low last night with food!
I wouldn’t think splitting the mirtazapine into two doses a day would hurt, as long as the total is not over the prescribed amount. Its potency does seem to decline with time after administering. Another thing to check is the expiration date from opening. The vet told me it’s safe to use after that date but that it may not be as potent, however I have not noticed that with ours. It’s out of date but works fine. So who knows…..
I so hope you are able to get some rest today and Ivy shows more interest in her food and that whatever it was has run its course. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Deb, it’s an interesting question about the expiration. The container I’m using expires 08/ 26.
However, I had opened it in February 2023. I wonder if even though it’s not expired because it had been previously opened if it’s not working.???
I wonder if anybody knows?
@tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom
 
Hi Staci, I am so sorry you still have to got through this with Ivy! I am so happy that they didn't find anything serious going on. I asked ChatGPT about giving Mirtazapine more frequently than once every 24 hours. This was the answer:

Mirtazapine should generally not be administered more frequently than every 24 hours, even if the maximum dose is not exceeded. The active ingredient has a long half-life (up to 39 hours in cats) and is metabolized by the liver and kidneys. Administering it too frequently can lead to an overdose, even if the total amount is distributed throughout the day.

So even if it would not be harmful, it doesn't sound that it helps so much either.

All fingers and paws are crossed! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
Hi Heike, Very interesting question and point. Thanks for doing the research. I guess I’ll see what other information I get back.
Thanks for your help as always. Hugs to you and Binie! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
I don't know the answer for the Mirtazipine, but I really hope it will start showing an effect soon.
You must be exhausted, you had quite a hard week :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Lots of hugs and good vines for both of you.
Hi Cecile, thank you so much for your sweet support. We really appreciate it. Yes, you know I’m exhausted.
No rest for the weary. Just gotta get her feeling better again.
Sending you hugs and hope it’s not too cold where you are :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree with what was posted above about mirtazapine. When Chai was having her issue I tried mirataz but it really didn’t work. My first experience with the pills with my cancer kitty years ago was she became vocal and agitated and I suspect was given too high a dose for her. St tge time you could only give it 5 days and then take a break for 2 days. Her appetite tanked on those days. I worry about seratonin syndrome if giving more often than every 24 hours even at a lower dose. If you want to try something that can be dosed twice a day, try cyproheptadine. I still like it better.
 
I agree with what was posted above about mirtazapine. When Chai was having her issue I tried mirataz but it really didn’t work. My first experience with the pills with my cancer kitty years ago was she became vocal and agitated and I suspect was given too high a dose for her. St tge time you could only give it 5 days and then take a break for 2 days. Her appetite tanked on those days. I worry about seratonin syndrome if giving more often than every 24 hours even at a lower dose. If you want to try something that can be dosed twice a day, try cyproheptadine. I still like it better.
Hi Elise, that’s interesting about your experience using it. In the past, I have used it with Ivy and found it very helpful if she wasn’t eating.
However, I’m wondering if the package I’m using since it was opened two years ago is not effective. I’ve never used the other medication you mentioned.

What can you tell me bout serotonin syndrome?

thank you. :bighug:@tiffmaxee
 
Hi Elise, that’s interesting about your experience using it. In the past, I have used it with Ivy and found it very helpful if she wasn’t eating.
However, I’m wondering if the package I’m using since it was opened two years ago is not effective. I’ve never used the other medication you mentioned.

What can you tell me bout serotonin syndrome?

thank you. :bighug:@tiffmaxee

https://www.google.com/search?q=seratonin+stndrome+cats&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-us&client=safari

This is AI generated.
 
I think the issue with the mirataz ointment is it is compounded so once opened it may degrade. Or may not. I keep an unopened tube on hand because invariably they need it 40’days after the tube was opened. At that point I toss the old tube just in case. My compounded cerenia ointment also has a 30 day expiration—from day mixed

I am nervous about serotonin syndrome. Idk if all vets are aware of the issue or not. MDs are because of psych drugs and raves.

mirataz increases serotonin. So does Zofran. So does gabapentin. Probably other drugs as well but those are the three I may use in my boys. Idk how big a risk it is for cats but I don’t use any of these three drugs in combination. I use cerenia if using mirataz (and actually I use cerenia as my first drug of choice, being aware many of you prefer Zofran. I just know that if I’m using nausea meds I will likely reach for mirataz next)

i use Zofran only if still nauseous after 4-5 days of cerenia…then I use it while taking a break from Cerenia and I don’t use mirataz those days. This is just how I do it, not necessarily the right way
 
Btw the antidote for seratonin syndrome is cyproheptadine. Mirataz is less likely to cause ss and neither is ondansetron which I have used uninterrupted due months at a time without any issues other than constipation with my cats.
 
Also I limit Zofran to 2 mg every 12-24 hours max

I feel it is safe. It only lasts a short number of hours and I had to use ondansetron every 6-8 hours at times. The people on the scl/ibd group and the vet there as well as my internist vet says it’s necessary to dose often enough. It depends on how bad the nausea is so I disagree with this. Now Max did fine every 12 hours but I wonder if it really helped enough in retrospect. Advice for people does not always apply to cats.
 
Hi Staci!

I'm sorry to hear she's still not feeling well but happy to hear she'd gone to the toilet.

Along with my boys we're sending lots of PAWsitive thoughts and healing vines. ❤️ :bighug:❤️ :bighug:
 
Just curious, did they happen to do a cobalamin (vitamin B12) test in the blood work the other day?

I ask because Kona has had a few ER visits from not eating and some of the other symptoms that Ivy has. None of the vets could ever figure out what was the cause of these episodes as we did all the tests for pancreatitis and everything else and never got an answer.

My main vet suggested that I do B-12 shots every month and we haven't had issues since. Could just be coincidence and obviously anecdotal, but I wonder if Ivy could benefit from B12 to help with any gastrointestinal issues that might be going on. Maybe ask your vet to see what they think? Even if she doesn't need it, it's water soluble and she'll just pee it out. Not sure on the counteractions with all her other conditions or meds though.

Good luck, Kona and I are thinking of you and Ivy. Hopefully it passes quick and she's back to normal. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yes, 4 mg ondansetron is a good dose I think. My vet had me give Max 8 mg of cerenia. Cerenia starts at 2mg per kg. So maybe 12 mg. I didn’t use Cerenia often. With Chai she was just a little over 7 pounds when I gave it to her. Once she stopped vomiting I just gave ondansetron. every cat is different with this.
 
Just curious, did they happen to do a cobalamin (vitamin B12) test in the blood work the other day?

I ask because Kona has had a few ER visits from not eating and some of the other symptoms that Ivy has. None of the vets could ever figure out what was the cause of these episodes as we did all the tests for pancreatitis and everything else and never got an answer.

My main vet suggested that I do B-12 shots every month and we haven't had issues since. Could just be coincidence and obviously anecdotal, but I wonder if Ivy could benefit from B12 to help with any gastrointestinal issues that might be going on. Maybe ask your vet to see what they think? Even if she doesn't need it, it's water soluble and she'll just pee it out. Not sure on the counteractions with all her other conditions or meds though.

Good luck, Kona and I are thinking of you and Ivy. Hopefully it passes quick and she's back to normal. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Good suggestion. You would want to test for it before starting. Chai was normal but she did need folate. A full gi panel will answer if she needs both or either.
 
2/22/25
Amps 154 Libre

Good morning, well yesterday was quite a day with an ER visit due to Ivy not peeing or pooping all day. As as well as a very diminished appetite for the past several days. (See prior links for more details)

The ER vet felt she was probably dehydrated, so they gave fluids and a Cerenia injection and sent us on our way to continue trying to get her to eat (using syringe feeding if needed), ondansetron, mirtazapine, S. Bouliardi, and all the things I’ve been doing for the past several days.

They did not think it was pancreatitis. She hadn’t peed or pooped yesterday, but she peed well at the ER, which, even though it was a real mess, was a good thing she could pee!

She did pee and poop overnight, poop was still soft, but looked better than on Thursday when it was complete mush.

She did the same again this morning. Glad to see a Pee and soft poop.

Still no real appetite and I had to syringe feed her breakfast, took about an hour and a half to do that.
I know Mirtazapine is generally dosed once a day but I’m wondering if I should give it twice a day by splitting the dose in half ??
Has anyone done that to keep the dose maybe be more potent throughout the 24 hour period??


I’ve also been giving a half a dose of mirtazapine because that has usually worked for her in the past, but I think today I will give a full recommended dose and see if that helps more (or if someone thinks splitting the dose to two times a day and half would be better).

Hoping she starts to eat better that would make things go a lot smoother. It was certainly a long night and of course she decided to dip quite low and we were feeding some medium and even 20% two times, which barely did anything.

She was low on her Libre, but not low enough for me to poke her ear and frankly, I was so exhausted since she wasn’t too low on the Libre, that I managed her with carbs.

It was just a long night of her being in a low cycle after the past several days of barely any sleep :banghead:

Wishing you all a very common very boring day :cat:.
Glad she’s peeing and pooping! Hope her appetite kicks back in soon, have a good Sunday with the old girl!
 
Thank goodness for the bit of improvement. I have used Mirataz often in past with various cats and it has been very effective. I prefer it because its transdermal, rub on inner ear, voila!
 
Hi Staci. I give Butch Cerenia daily 4mg. He is almost 16 lbs. I cut a 16mg tablet into 4 quarters.
I have also used the Mirataz transdermal often with Butch and other cats of mine. Sometimes it has taken good 2 to 3 days to really see the appetite pick up.
Sending you both prayers, healing vibes and lots of hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm so sorry your poor girl (and by extension you) is still going through this, but I'm glad that there's been some improvement for you! I hope she starts feeling like herself soon!
 
Back
Top