2/23 GrayGray amps 345, +2-300; +5-340; +6-334

Have you been testing daily for ketones? How is her appetite and energy level? Any history of ketones?

Can you remind me the reason you are going with SLGS for dosing? Did you dose this morning? SS shows no dose.

Sorry for the million questions but the answers will help answer your question on DKA.
 
Have you been testing daily for ketones? How is her appetite and energy level? Any history of ketones?

Can you remind me the reason you are going with SLGS for dosing? Did you dose this morning? SS shows no dose.

Sorry for the million questions but the answers will help answer your question on DKA.
She has never had it before. I have never tested for it, do not have strips, and have only read about it here in the forum. Her appetite is nice and behavior is normal. I’ve just read that one should watch out for it when you have consistent high numbers. I am going SLGS bc with my work schedule I am unable to test Monday thru Friday am cycles after her morning meal. With little data this early in the Basaglar transition I felt SLGS would be most comfortable for me.

I did dose this morning. I just updated SS.;)
 
Thanks. It would probably be a good idea to get some Ketostix and start testing for ketones. How is her appetite and energy level?
 
I am 3 days away from my 1 week on 0.25u. On Wednesday I will re-evaluate and I reckon I will most likely bump GrayGray back up to 0.5u... I’ve had steady pinks for two cycles now. Should I be afraid of ketoacidosis?

Previous thread
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-20-graygray-pmps-200.225959/#post-2530788


High numbers alone don't exactly cause ketoacidosis, they can be a symptom of it but it's a combination of things . Not enough insulin, not enough food and stress/ inflammation and/or infection can lead to ketoacidosis. Which is why folks here ask about appetite and caution against skipping shots repeatedly for those with a history of it
Just don't want you to think high numbers = DKA

Checking urine sticks is a good thing for sure especially earlier in treatment before good regulation is achieved.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...1-25u-pmps-472-shot-1-25.224418/#post-2511122
 
Last edited:
As Ari said, by itself, high numbers are OK, as long as the other factors aren't there. Which why I was asking about appetite, whether there is any lethargy (a bad sign). Checking ketones is your first line of defence.

I think the pee should be OK to check, as long as it's just hers and not ancient.
 
Back
Top