2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79 +6 101 +7.5 91 +11 279

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392

Gobbles, whatcha doing way up there? Time to come down to blues and safe greens. You can do it, work that extra juice :smile:

Morning Kat, hope you have a good day,
Kathie
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392

Good Morning Good luck with the increase...Lets get Gobbles back to the blue! Have a great weekend :-D
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392

Morning Kat
I hope Gobbles ditches that amps and comes down nice and easy. Hear that Gobbles??? Come on sweetie!!!
Got my fingers and paws crossed for the new dose. have a great day. - mary and ollie
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392

Good Morning Ladies--yes, Mr. Gobbles needs to get his little hiney out of that tree...or mom here's gonna climb up there, get him and then he get's no catnip for a week!!!

Let's hope his dose increase does the job! He had his shot at 4 a.m. (I went back to bed!!!) and woke up in a good mood, slightly hungry & finished his AMPS can of FF, sociable, gentle meow-purr and then begged to go out on the sun porch (its only 32 degrees here), which is where he's at now.

Have a wonderful weekend :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

Kat --

What does the "ketones" mean in your subject line? Do you have a question or did you test for ketones and Gobbles tested positive? If the latter, was this an above trace level?
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

I just followed Gobbles to the LB. Lots of pee clumps, as usual. I got a ketone test. It may be my imagination and poor lighting, but I swear he's between negative and trace. He's got the five P's. He's eating and I saw him drink a little water at AMPS. He did, however, have some mighty high numbers these past few days. I will test him again, if he gives me a chance, next trip to the LB. I am probably just "over-worrying" about Gobbles. I have some chicken on hand I'm going to boil and serve him some warm juice, to increase his fluid a little. When I test him again, I'll update his condo. Like I said, just mom here worrying!!

My question: How serious is, between negative & trace? Would he necessarily show symptoms if he was "trace"?

For my reference, I have copied & pasted the symptoms of DKA here:

Signs of Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA)

Drinking excessive amounts of water OR no water
Excessive urination
Diminished activity
Not eating for over 12 hours
Vomiting
Lethargy and depression
Weakness
Breathing very fast
Dehydration
Ketone odor on breath (smells like nail-polish remover or fruit)


Ok then, he doesn't "drink excessively" and I seen him have a quick drink at the water bowl AMPS. He does have "excessive urination" but he's had that since before dx. He was a little "lethargic" yesterday but he always is when his BG is over 400, which it has been for many days, sporadically. He has been playful and in fact I'd say his activity has increased, so he doesn't have "diminished activity". He's been eating every day, throughout the day, so he's "not eating for over 12 hours". He has not "vomited". I see no evidence of "weakness". He is not "dehydrated" (did the scruff test) and he is not "breathing very fast". I just took a good, healthy whiff of his breath and there is no "acetone or fruit" odor....
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

Sienne and Gabby said:
Kat --

What does the "ketones" mean in your subject line? Do you have a question or did you test for ketones and Gobbles tested positive? If the latter, was this an above trace level?
I was typing while you were...
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

My question: How serious is, between negative & trace? Would he necessarily show symptoms if he was "trace"?
no, he wouldn't necessarily show symptoms if he was throwing trace ketones. "trace" ketones is an indication to wake up and pay attention. they can *usually* be handled at home by increasing insulin, making sure kitty is eating well, increasing water intake/administering fluids, and addressing any infection or stress.

in my experience (alex is a ketone prone kitty), a trace reading will pop out at you. there won't be any question in your mind as to whether the reading is trace or negative. however, to be on the safe side... stay on top of this and test again at the next opportunity.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

Again, mom here being mom: Does anyone use a "ketone meter"? I found a couple on eBay (just now), but there are different ones. I did find the Abbott Xtra, but it looks like an ordinary glucometer to me...
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

Between negative and trace is a "heads up." Continue to add water to his food and to keep a watchful eye. Get another test as soon as you can. Likewise, if he seems lethargic or just "off," I'd be concerned there was an infection brewing. A reading above trace means a trip to the vet.

Most of the symptoms that you're noting are when ketones are advance (e.g., DKA). Typically, you don't notice an acetone smell until ketoacidosis is present, although some people here who must have a far more sensitive nose than mine say they can tell at trace levels.

It's also important to have followed the instructions for testing carefully. Reading the strip after the indicated period of time is crucial. You want to test One way to try to sort out if this is a matter of lighting, is to test yourself and read the strip under the same lighting.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

just wanted to add:

make sure you're using fresh urine.

compare the strip with the color codes on the cannister exactly 15 seconds after dripping the strip in urine.

generally, the strips expire 3 months after opening the cannister. check the cannister for directions. sometimes it'll say how long they're good for right on the cannister. if it's not marked on the cannister, check the box or pamphlet that came with the strips.

note: the expiration stamped on the box is for unopened strips.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

Sienne and Gabby said:
You want to test One way to try to sort out if this is a matter of lighting, is to test yourself and read the strip under the same lighting.
Great idea! I will try it. And I am going to go hook a reading light up where I read the strip...
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

What you could do is add a bit of water to Gobbles' meals to help in get more fluids in his system. That's what I've done with Blackie, and I'm sure that others on here do the same. Keep up the excellent work!
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

Morning Kat ~O)

Hope the ketones is a lighting/reading strip issue... like others said, the more fluids the better if there is a trace amount...

Have a great day, lower #s please Gobbles ;-)
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 +4 282

Kat,
I used a Nova Max ketone meter with Bob. It can check both blood glucose and ketones, but the strips cost a fortune.
If it were to get to the point where you can smell the ketones on his breath, there's no mistaking it, and the vet or ER would be a must.
Carl
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

Sienne and Gabby said:
Continue to add water to his food and to keep a watchful eye. Get another test as soon as you can.
I added one can water to one can food. He is drinking the "chicken water" I made for him this morning (I boil skinless, boneless natural raw chicken breast in two inches of water, then drain the water off, separate & keep chicken breast for snacks, meal supplement). I just followed the little stinker to the LB, but he dumped rather than peed...LOL
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 ? ketones

Jill & Alex said:
generally, the strips expire 3 months after opening the cannister. check the cannister for directions. sometimes it'll say how long they're good for right on the cannister. if it's not marked on the cannister, check the box or pamphlet that came with the strips.note: the expiration stamped on the box is for unopened strips.
I didn't have the box for the test strips I've been using, so I tossed those in the garbage; I don't like to be wasteful, but Gobby is worth more than an $8 box of strips. I have an unopened box of strips (relion brand) dated 10/2015, just opened today and will use those for next test.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 +4 282

Carl & Bob said:
Kat,
I used a Nova Max ketone meter with Bob. It can check both blood glucose and ketones, but the strips cost a fortune.
If it were to get to the point where you can smell the ketones on his breath, there's no mistaking it, and the vet or ER would be a must.
Carl
I will put the ketone meter on hold for now. I'll be sure to smell his breath every time I test him (so that will be at least 4x per day!!!) I've already made my husband aware that if his ketones go to trace, or breath smells like acetone/sweet--we will be taking a trip to the vet, or ER, if vet is closed. He is very supportive of me and his son...
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 +4 282 +7.5 156

I just tested Gobbles' urine with a fresh box of ketone strips. Same reading as the one I took this morning: looks like between negative & trace; the tan negative color has a very slight pink hue.....
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles AMPS 392 +4 282 +7.5 156

Hi, Kat. I don't have any advice/experience with ketones.
I just want to stop by & let you know I'm sending positive thoughts that it gets better instead of worse.
You're such a good mama, I'm sure you'll be on top of things.
Keep updating -- Gobbles is in good hands!

~Josie
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMBG 102 ? dose, sloping, increase, ???

Gobby has sloped all day, from amps 392 to pmbg 102; a gradual slope. I increased him from 2.0 to 2.25 a.m. shot today. I posted a ?, then removed it. I thought it high time for me to make a decision...on my own, and therefore, just 5 minutes past shot time (4:05 p.m. EST) I shot his new, increased dose. Opinions?

Recap:

AMPS 392
+4 282
+7.5 156
PMPS 102
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS - sloped all day-shot anyway ? opinion

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Great job, Kat, and gooooooooo Gobbles!
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS - sloped all day-shot anyway ? opinion

I think you made a wise decision. Good job!

Have you gotten any tests since you shot?
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS - sloped all day-shot anyway ? opinion

Dyana said:
I think you made a wise decision. Good job!

Have you gotten any tests since you shot?
I will in 10 minutes,,,,waiting for +4 at 8:00 pm EST...
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS - sloped all day-shot anyway ? opinion

I would have started with a +2, if your using Lantus, as that is the typical onset time for that insulin. Especially because of the recent dosecrease and dropping numbers.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS - sloped all day-shot anyway ? opinion

Kat

I agree with Dyana only I would have started with a +1 because he's got a dose increase on board, he was clearing a bounce, and you shot a dropping number.

But you know what else I think? \M/ \M/ \M/ \M/ :thumbup :thumbup for shooting without asking!!!!
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS - sloped all day-shot anyway ? opinion

I didn't get a +1 or a +2 because I left my house right after I shot, and didn't get home until after +2.... But anyways: +4 = 84
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84

nice number.

How about feeding 2 tsp of low carb now to see if it will help Gobbles get onto his surfboard?
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84

Ok, I might have to take away one of those "you rocks" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :razz: :razz:
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84

Libby and Lucy said:
nice number.

How about feeding 2 tsp of low carb now to see if it will help Gobbles get onto his surfboard?
Ok; done. I know this is probably going to make a difference: When I shot at 4 pm EST, I gave him 1 & 1/2 pieces of hard Temptations treats ("Blissful Catnip Flavor")--something I normally don't do, but did so because of his sloping numbers, dose decrease + me having to leave for a few hours...probably not the smartest thing I've done today.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84

Scroll back up.....I put a bunch of "you rock" emoticons on there for you shooting low. I was joking about taking one back because you shot and left ;-)
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84

I don't think 1 and 1/2 temptations would have much of an affect on J.D.'s bg, but he's not that carb sensitive. ECID.

You'll get a +5?
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84

Doesn't look like the temptations treats hurt anything, Kat.
84 is nice!

Carl
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84

Marje and Gracie said:
Scroll back up.....I put a bunch of "you rock" emoticons on there for you shooting low. I was joking about taking one back because you shot and left ;-)
That went completely over my head, Marje--but then, I'm just shy of being 5' tall....LOL I was torn between shooting a full dose, shooting a smaller dose or shooting at all, because I had to leave right after shot time....my husband even said "are you sure he'll be okay for a few hours?" I assured him he would be and so gave him 1.5 pcs. temptations treats...just in case...and I thank God I have everyone here at FDMB to help me!!!
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84

+5 = 79. Therefore:

PMPS 102
+4 84
+5 79


BTW, shot time here is 4:00/4:00. So his next shot time is 4:00 a.m. (in 7.5 hours). I set my alarm to get up and give it. I am sure that there will probably be no one on board if I have a ? re: shooting. Any advice regarding shooting then? Like, what if he is still sloping: Shoot? Reduced Dose? Shoot Late? How about a minimum BG number to shoot at? That's all I can think of for now....
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79

How did you get to 4:00am shot time. You don't have to answer that, it's kind of a retoricle sp? question. It's just not a sho time that I would choose for myself.
Keep these available.
Dealing with Low Pre Shots and How to Handle Low Numbers

You'll do fine. You've come a long way. Have the coffee maker set and ready to go if you need it.

I can set my alarm and get up with you, if you really really need me to.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79

I can also set an alarm and get up to help you. Actually...I don't even have to get up....I just use my phone :lol:

The other thing I can do is subscribe to your condo (this one) and if you need help, just post on this condo and it will buzz me. i'll wake up and help you. If you don't need help, open a new condo so I don't get buzzed.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79

and if he bounces, you can shoot early if you want to. Who wouldn't want a 2am shot time? ;-) Just kidding, sort of. If you keep shooting 2 hours early every time he bounces, pretty soon you will have backed all the way around the clock!
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79

Dyana said:
How did you get to 4:00am shot time. You don't have to answer that, it's kind of a retoricle sp? question. It's just not a sho time that I would choose for myself.
Keep these available.
Dealing with Low Pre Shots and How to Handle Low Numbers

You'll do fine. You've come a long way. Have the coffee maker set and ready to go if you need it.

I can set my alarm and get up with you, if you really really need me to.
His shot time was moved up 2 hours (when I was helped in that regard and shot early on 2/20) and then I moved it another 1/2 hour up (myself, undirected) on 2/22. As far as being a good time; I don't work and am willing to do whatever it takes, at any hour of the day or night, to get my boy in decent numbers :mrgreen: Thank you for the links; I already have a set printed out and right here next to my laptop :-D No Dyana, you don't have to get up with me--have a nice, restful, uninterrupted sleep. I just want to be prepared as to what I should do, if I am unsure, when I get up at 3:45 a.m. to prepare for his 4 a.m. shot. Any advice?
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79

Kat

Just scroll back to Dyana's post and read down.....let me know if you have questions.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79

My advise would be to get a +11 or a +10 and compare that number to your pre shot number. That way you can tell if he's surfing quietly along, or rising or dropping.
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79

Marje and Gracie said:
I can also set an alarm and get up to help you. Actually...I don't even have to get up....I just use my phone :lol:

The other thing I can do is subscribe to your condo (this one) and if you need help, just post on this condo and it will buzz me. i'll wake up and help you. If you don't need help, open a new condo so I don't get buzzed.
You're so sweet Marje. I would hate to wake anyone up. I haven't been doing my new AM condos until later in the morning because after I wake up, give him his 4 a.m. shot; I go back to bed and start it later (which is usually by about AM+4.)If I have an "urgent-I-can't-figure-out-what-to-do" question later, then I will post on this condo and I am so, so appreciative...to you and all my other FDMB Family cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79

Libby and Lucy said:
and if he bounces, you can shoot early if you want to. Who wouldn't want a 2am shot time? ;-) Just kidding, sort of. If you keep shooting 2 hours early every time he bounces, pretty soon you will have backed all the way around the clock!
Ok...I would certainly like to shoot early if he zooms to pinks, reds!!! As far as shot time--makes no difference. As it is, I try to be asleep by 12, then just set the alarm to get up for his shot and if necessary, any testing. So by "early", we are talking 1-2 hours early?
 
Re: 2/23 Gobbles PMPS 102 +4 84 +5 79

Dyana said:
My advise would be to get a +11 or a +10 and compare that number to your pre shot number. That way you can tell if he's surfing quietly along, or rising or dropping.
I will get a +6 next. I can try for a +10 or +11, but that means I probably won't go to bed until after him 4 a.m. shot...unless I set my alarm twice :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top