2/23 Fred AMPS=304(.08);+2=374;+6=304

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
If I were going to be home today, I would have given 1.0 and monitored frequently. But, although I can get a +2, I won't be back until +8 or +9. So I decided to stick with our recent dose - he seems to be setting up a pattern.

Let me know what you think and how we might get his numbers lower, especially at AMPS and PMPS.

Thanks,
 
Re: 2/23 Fred AMPS=304(.08)

For that pre-shot, I think you're right on the money with a 0.8 since you can't monitor closely. I do think it's worth an "experiment" when you can monitor, to see what Fred might do with a 1u with a pre-shot in that higher 200 or low 300 range. :smile:

In terms of lowering the pre-shot, right now, those higher 200's and low 300's actually don't look too bad. :smile: The hope is that as you can gradually bring down the overall cycle, those pre-shots will be a bit lower as well. Some cats cooperate with this "theory" and some don't.

On ProZinc, a cat is considered "well regulated" with pre-shots in the mid-200's and nadirs between 50 and 100, so Fred is really close to that. :smile: What you're really looking for is "healing" numbers...below renal threshold, the point at which glucose spills into urine and is causing damage in the long term. There's differing opinions as to what that threshold is, but what I've seen around here is about 250 as the "threshold." Here's a nice graph if you scroll about half way down the page, as to what the numbers actually mean: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diabetes_in_cats The idea is to try to keep those numbers below renal threshold for as much of the day as possible.

Has anyone offered you patience pants yet? :-D
 
Re: 2/23 Fred AMPS=304(.08);+2=374

Kathleen and Fred said:
oops...what just happened at +2???

Will be back to test at +5 or +6

Looks like it may be a combination of a food spike plus the insulin hasn't onset yet. Hopefully he'll be working his way down by +5 or +6. :smile:
 
We seem to be stuck, here. Hope it wasn't the rotisserie chicken I used for test treats yesterday! :?

Thanks for the Diabetes in Cats article. I've been looking for something like that to get my head around.

Sorry about the anxiety....I just SO want him to be "fixed". So, I'll go ahead and order a pair of (XL) Patience Pants!!! :smile:
 
Hmmm. This looks like a bounce to me Kathy. Sometimes a bounce is reflected as a high pre-shot number, and sometimes a bounce will last a whole cycle. Basically, the counter-regulatory hormones that are acting as a safety net actually create temporary insulin resistance, meaning that until those hormones clear it, it looks as though the insulin is having no effect. Unfortunately, you just have to wait for those hormones to clear out.

Sometimes the inclination is to increase the dose to beat those numbers down, but you've got to look for the number that "caused" the bounce. In Fred's case, it looks like his liver/pancreas is maybe just panicking a bit about some healthy numbers in the upper double digits or lower 100's. There's not a whole lot of "breathing room" there, so I'd be hesitant to increase in response to a bounce in his case. But, I don't see anything to suggest that he's going "too low" at this point. :smile:

Some cats just are bouncy, and there's not a lot you can do to avoid it. They do eventually clear it, and then they get back on track. :smile: The tough part is there's no timeframe as to how long a cat will "bounce" in response to healthy numbers. The saying around here is that the bounce until they don't. :smile: It's time to put on those patience pants and wait this one out. :smile: My Eddie sometimes has cycle-long bounces too. And I can tell you, they are maddening, but there's not much that can be done for them. If you get a chance, check out some of the daily condos of the Lantus users. It's very common for them to sit in high numbers for an entire cycle after a lower cycle.

The nice thing is that it gives you a bit of a break from testing, and it gives Fred a bit of a rest from pokies for a cycle. :smile:
 
Hi Kathleen,

I think he has room to drop, so the next time you can monitor, you could try one unit on those higher 250+/300 preshots. Also, don't be fooled by the colors on the ss. They are wonderful to see progress, but they can make you think a pink is so much worse than a yellow, when his preshots were only 10 points apart. :-D
 
PMPS = 335
Should I be conservative and ride out the .8u or go for 1.0 to see if I can drop the next few test numbers?
Since I don't really know how to gauge a "bounce", I'm sort of at a loss, but I guess everyone else is too!
Need to shoot in the next 10 minutes. No pressure!
 
By +3, you should be able to see if things are going to headed in a good direction (not crashing in other words). I would not expect him to drop too low.
 
I got to thinking about his numbers over the last 24 hours and, except for that late afternoon 270 #, he's been pretty flat since +3 last night. Is it OK to just level out at a higher number? I know we want him to come down eventually, but this doesn't look like a bounce to me. Just looks like a plateau. And, my question is, is that a bad thing?
 
Bounces can look different. Some times it's a flat cycle or two after a low (Eddie does this sometimes) sometimes it's a jump up. The more he can stay in numbers under the renal threshold (generally thought of in the 250 range) the better for his pancreas.
 
PM+4 = 219.

Trying to cut back on food intake. Down about 3 oz from regular intake. Doesn't seem to mind if given little meals/snacks throughout the day. Not sure how BG will be affected, but believe reducing weight will help numbers overall.

Good Night! :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top