Donna and Flame
Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...6-226-9-235-pmps-288-3-263-dosecrease.173623/
Good morning L&L,
That number this morning shocked me. I am not sure if he possibly went lower into blue last nite or if this is a result of him just not feeling well. In either case, it's upsetting.
His PS last nite was 288 and at +3 he was 263 - so not a big drop, but he could have hit low yellows or high blues. Seems like he nadirs around +6 and drops a bit more till about +9 or +10 before he starts going up before PS.
He ate barely anything overnight. I tried1/2 can of FF chicken this am and he turned his nose up at it till I put some chicken dust on it and then he at a little bit. But what I noticed lately is, when he eats the food with the chicken dust, he sneezes or coughs afterwards. Wonder if he's either allergic to it or maybe if it's laying on top of the food, its still loose enough for him to sniff it in and inhale a bit. I also gave about 1/3 can Weruva Fowl Ball (chick & turkey) and he did almost all of that - only left a few bites. So, I left him a bit more of the Weruva food as well as the 1/2 can of FF before I went to work.
His breathing was not good this morning. I could hear a wheeze and rattle. Right or wrong, I gave him 1.25mg of Pred this AM. I can not be home with him today and I did not want him struggling with his breathing any more. He has been fighting the inhaler again in a big way so it's been difficult to get the required dose into him. If I can't get the inhaled steroids into him, then he needs something and the oral steroids are the only other choice, so I gave it to him. Had to crush his Pred, famotadine and Zyrtec in baby food this morning and of course, he lapped that up.
Eric is working from home today again thank goodness, so I've asked him to get a +2 or +3 test and a +6 test at a minimum for me today. I also asked him to just check on Flame occasionally and check to see if he's eating and if not, offer him some fresh food.
I honestly don't think he's nauseous - I think he just doesn't like the food he's getting and I think part of it is the breathing issues too. He'll eat his Turkey lunch meat treats and he almost takes my finger off trying to get to it and he'll lap up baby food with no problem, so I know he CAN eat.
I have gone thru this before with him where he was genuinely not feeling well and all I could get into him for a day or two was baby food and then he'd turn his nose up at regular food. I think he's playing me a little bit here, so maybe I need to back off the baby food.
Been using it especially to give his pills and supplements because I'm not sure he'll eat the regular food, but I know he'll eat the baby food, so I know he'll get the full dose he needs.
Let me ask a question... if I did increase his dose tonite or tomorrow AM, doesn't it take a while for the depot to fill? Do you think, based on his SS, that he would really drop on the first day of a dosecrease?
Can I get some experienced opinions on this please? He's been at this dose way too long and if I'm going to start him back on Pred, even every other day, I expect his numbers to go up.
Hope the kitties and beans are all doing well today!! Vines and prayers for ALL in need today.
Good morning L&L,
That number this morning shocked me. I am not sure if he possibly went lower into blue last nite or if this is a result of him just not feeling well. In either case, it's upsetting.
His PS last nite was 288 and at +3 he was 263 - so not a big drop, but he could have hit low yellows or high blues. Seems like he nadirs around +6 and drops a bit more till about +9 or +10 before he starts going up before PS.
He ate barely anything overnight. I tried1/2 can of FF chicken this am and he turned his nose up at it till I put some chicken dust on it and then he at a little bit. But what I noticed lately is, when he eats the food with the chicken dust, he sneezes or coughs afterwards. Wonder if he's either allergic to it or maybe if it's laying on top of the food, its still loose enough for him to sniff it in and inhale a bit. I also gave about 1/3 can Weruva Fowl Ball (chick & turkey) and he did almost all of that - only left a few bites. So, I left him a bit more of the Weruva food as well as the 1/2 can of FF before I went to work.
His breathing was not good this morning. I could hear a wheeze and rattle. Right or wrong, I gave him 1.25mg of Pred this AM. I can not be home with him today and I did not want him struggling with his breathing any more. He has been fighting the inhaler again in a big way so it's been difficult to get the required dose into him. If I can't get the inhaled steroids into him, then he needs something and the oral steroids are the only other choice, so I gave it to him. Had to crush his Pred, famotadine and Zyrtec in baby food this morning and of course, he lapped that up.
Eric is working from home today again thank goodness, so I've asked him to get a +2 or +3 test and a +6 test at a minimum for me today. I also asked him to just check on Flame occasionally and check to see if he's eating and if not, offer him some fresh food.
I honestly don't think he's nauseous - I think he just doesn't like the food he's getting and I think part of it is the breathing issues too. He'll eat his Turkey lunch meat treats and he almost takes my finger off trying to get to it and he'll lap up baby food with no problem, so I know he CAN eat.
I have gone thru this before with him where he was genuinely not feeling well and all I could get into him for a day or two was baby food and then he'd turn his nose up at regular food. I think he's playing me a little bit here, so maybe I need to back off the baby food.
Been using it especially to give his pills and supplements because I'm not sure he'll eat the regular food, but I know he'll eat the baby food, so I know he'll get the full dose he needs.
Let me ask a question... if I did increase his dose tonite or tomorrow AM, doesn't it take a while for the depot to fill? Do you think, based on his SS, that he would really drop on the first day of a dosecrease?
Can I get some experienced opinions on this please? He's been at this dose way too long and if I'm going to start him back on Pred, even every other day, I expect his numbers to go up.
Hope the kitties and beans are all doing well today!! Vines and prayers for ALL in need today.

