Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +2 364 +4 345 +6 338
Sputtering is good!! Cats need insulin because their pancreas has stopped producing insulin. When we say a pancreas is sputtering, we mean that it is intermittently coming back to life and doing it's job... that is a good thing! The best thing you can do is to just keep at what you're doing and follow the protocol to give Enana as much time in numbers under 120 as possible, as those are the numbers at which the pancreas is most likely to keep healing and start doing more work on its own!
At first, you are going to have bounces... Enana is in LTS (Liver Training School). Right now, her liver has gotten to where it interprets normal low numbers as abnormal, so it panics when Enana hits them and dumps some sugar in the bloodstream as a defense mechanism to bring the numbers up to what the liver now interprets as normal. The more time Enana spends in lower numbers, the lower and less frequent the bounces will get, as her liver is trained to once again see low numbers as normal.
You're doing the stuff you should... now you just have to let the insulin do its thing (yeah, that whole patience business sucks!!). Remember... marathon. Not a sprint!!
Was happy to help last night! And glad to have someone to burn the midnight oil with! LOL