2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +3 45 +3.5 62 +4 66 +4.5 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

PMPS 254
+1 208
+2131
+3 97
+4 68 (fed a little too much)
+4.5 83
+5 92
+11 410
AMPS 395

Good morning LL,

I have a bouncy girl...that's for sure. :-D For the moment only 4ps present.

I'm going to the doctor in a couple of hours, then I'll be here all day.

Have a great Hump Day!
 
Re: 2/23 Enana +11 410

Good morning guys ... sorry to see the red this morning but at least you can go to the dr's without a worry, right? have a great day!
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395

good luck at the Dr's looks like Enana sure had a beautiful night and we are into a bounce lets hope it does not last too long
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +2 364 +4 345

Ketones are 0.1

All quiet in the Houston front. Enana is comfortably sleeping in her box, surrounded my 30 foil-glucose-strips-wrappers (from which she gets much enjoyment).

Gordo snoozing off by the window.

Life would be better if she wasn't in pink.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +2 364 +4 345 +6 338 Question?

Hello everyone.

Can anyone enlighten me about why sometimes she can drop or raise 100 points in one hour and others she just stays flat?
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +2 364 +4 345 +6 338 Question?

The easy answer: Because she's a cat!

More likely, because Enana's pancreas is sputtering and intermittently producing some insulin (or not).
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +2 364 +4 345 +6 338 Question?

This is driving me insane! :lol:

I guess sputtering is not a good thing. Is there anything else I can do to help her? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +2 364 +4 345 +6 338

Sputtering is good!! Cats need insulin because their pancreas has stopped producing insulin. When we say a pancreas is sputtering, we mean that it is intermittently coming back to life and doing it's job... that is a good thing! The best thing you can do is to just keep at what you're doing and follow the protocol to give Enana as much time in numbers under 120 as possible, as those are the numbers at which the pancreas is most likely to keep healing and start doing more work on its own!

At first, you are going to have bounces... Enana is in LTS (Liver Training School). Right now, her liver has gotten to where it interprets normal low numbers as abnormal, so it panics when Enana hits them and dumps some sugar in the bloodstream as a defense mechanism to bring the numbers up to what the liver now interprets as normal. The more time Enana spends in lower numbers, the lower and less frequent the bounces will get, as her liver is trained to once again see low numbers as normal.

You're doing the stuff you should... now you just have to let the insulin do its thing (yeah, that whole patience business sucks!!). Remember... marathon. Not a sprint!!

Was happy to help last night! And glad to have someone to burn the midnight oil with! LOL
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +2 364 +4 345 +6 338 +8 336

Great job you two!! Very cool that you guys were able to be there for each other last night.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +6 338 +8 336 +11 228 Uh?

AMPS 395
+2 364
+4 345
+6 338
+8 336
+11 228

Am I supposed to shoot to a number that have dropped this much?
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +6 338 +8 336 +11 228 Dose Question

See what the PMPS looks like. That drop from +8 is over 3 hours. I suspect that even if the PMPS is lower, numbers are going to be coming back up shortly but let's see.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana AMPS 395 +6 338 +8 336 +11 228 Dose Question

Ok. Thanks Sienne.

Can you see any patterns or there isn't enough data? I still dont know how to read how reacts to shots.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 Help

Oh Natalia, I know you have got to be stressed with Enana's numbers. I would definitely test her in 20 and have some HC ready. That of course is me who knows nothing so I really hope somebody that knows what they're talking about comes along to help you. Choco was just at 56 and I gave him a tsp of FF Chicken/Gravy Lovers HC food. I'm not sure if that was the right thing to do but it's kind of what I've been doing in the past (when he gets in the 50's). Good luck.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 Help

Thanks Maria. Enana has never been in the 50s... :YMSIGH: Im very very nervous. You are a PRO at this :lol:
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 Help

Try not to panic. 62 is a nice number, a little fast of a drop. Feed mini meals, retest in 20 minutes and post.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 Help

Natalia, Barbara is great and has been very helpful to Choco and I in my many panics. :O) I've got about 10 minutes before I test Choco again and I'm hoping that bit of HC he got stops his numbers from dropping anymore. :? Let's slow it down Enana.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62Help +1.5 36

She is 36, I just gave her about 1/2 tsp of HC FF gravy. She is acting normal. Looooved the HC.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62Help +1.5 36

Just gave her 1 1/2 tsp more. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62Help +1.5 36

you said you gave 1/2 tsp, and I usually give more like 2 tsp. But let's see where she is in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62Help +1.5 36

Hang in there. The gravy is the important part. You don't want her to become full. See you in a few.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62Help +1.5 36

LOL :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm sorry Natalia I'm not really laughing at you. I'm laughing at the thought of you biting your toenails. You've got good help now. Enana is going to be okay. :-D
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +1.5 36

well, I gave 1/2 and then after you said two, I gave her 1 1/2 more.


Im happy she is in green but SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO nervous!
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +1.5 36

Enana will be fine. Sounds like she's enjoying her greens... either that or she's just enjoying the fact that she has you stressed over her. cat_pet_icon :lol:
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +1.5 36 +1.75 38

A little more HC gravy or karo... that wasn't much of a rise
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +1.5 36 +1.75 38 +1.80 44

whoa, Enana! Didn't need to earn your decrease with such dramatic flair! You're going to give your bean a heart attack!

You're in great hands, Natalia, and like last night, you are doing great. Hang in there, okay?
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +1.5 36 +1.75 38 +1.80 44

good, she's coming up a bit. How about a little more, Enana?

How is she acting?
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +1.5 36 +1.75 38 +1.80 44

Sorry about the word...but a little bi**chy :lol: but she's a tortie!

I'm hanging! I'm hanging! I want her to heal I want her to heal!

PPPPPleasssseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee I want her to heal

57! More gravy??
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +2 57

is she acting full, or still eager to eat more? If she's still interested in food, you can give a touch more gravy. I would test again in 1/2 hour. Sometimes they can bobble back down again. Good job!
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +2 57

Is that grace and a sense of humor I see, even with such low numbers??? You officially rock, Natalia. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +2 57

Looking good, looking good. Great job Natalia! I'll check with you girls tomorrow. Night!
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +2 57

Thanks Christie :-D

My students and friends would say that I am certifiably crazy! haha_smiley haha_smiley
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +2 57

59. HC or LC?

I always leave food in an automatic feeder to eat at +7/=8 or so...Should I do that tonight too? With LC?
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +2 57 +2.5 59

you're not going to bed yet, if that's what you're asking. :smile:

I would probably give a dab more gravy for good measure, and then test again in an hour. She probably has another hour or two before she starts to head up naturally - this rise is just from the high carb food.
 
Re: 2/23 Enana PMPS 157 +1 62 +2 57 +2.5 59

haha...no, I'm not planning in going to bed yet. I'm not THAT crazy ;-)

I'll stay up. ~O)

Question: What should I do tomorrow morning if she is low? I have to go to work...and cannot stay longer than AMPS. :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top