2/23 Chuck +9 41 AMBG 33 +13 57 +15 101 +17 206

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
Edited yet again: I'm skipping the morning shot and monitoring to see how long the .25U lasts. Didn't really expect it to do anything until the depot was filled. I'll be picking up some gravy FF today (soon) in case this happens again. Gotta say I was a little concerned with the low numbers, especially combined with his lethargy. He's much better now, social, wanting my attention, laying on my computer desk looking out the window.
--------------------------------------------------------

Edited: It's now 6:30 a.m. Tested him at 57; Liv-A-Littles after the test. Wasn't planning a curve first day, but am guessing that's what I'm in for, in order to monitor the low numbers. Vet is only in until noon today, will probably call...

---------------------------------------------------------
Edited: It's now 5 a.m. and time for the morning dose. NOT! Encouraging him to eat more, gave more "kitty krack" (just a couple pieces), sprinkled ground up Liv-A-Littles Chicken on his food...
--------------------------

At 3:30 this morning, Chuck was acting a bit strange, so I decided to test him. Mentally prepared for a big number, I got the shock of my life when he tested at -- 41! FF low carb immediately, along with a couple pieces of "kitty krack" - those dry "treats".

I'm guessing, based on a 400 point drop in 9 hours, that he's still insulin sensitive. So much for the plan to bump him to .5U today, and I'm certainly glad I didn't start him with the vet-recommended .5U!
 
Re: 2/23 Chuck PMPS 437, .25U +9 41

Morning Susan ~O)

Quite the +9 :o :mrgreen:
Yes, I think it's safe to say the increase is off the table for now at least :lol:
Are you going to get another test soon?
 
Re: 2/23 Chuck PMPS 437, .25U +9 41 AMPS 33

Great job :!: Keep testing and feeding if necessary... you want him out of the 30s ASAP.
 
Re: 2/23 Chuck PMPS 437, .25U +9 41 AMPS 33

Morning Susan,

How is Chuck doing now? I hope his numbers are rising a bit. My Zeus was 33 a couple of days ago, but luckily he likes the gravy food and it brought him up quickly.

Kathie
 
Re: 2/23 Chuck PMPS 437, .25U +9 41 AMPS 33 +1 57

+9 41
AMBG 33
+13 57


please adjust the subject line in your first post to reflect the above.

sigh... well, we know he's still insulin sensitive! do you have high carb wet foods with gravy on hand in case this ever happens again? wet HC will bring numbers up quickly and then leave the system faster than dry HC.

unless you can afford to be hours off schedule... i think i'd skip this morning's shot, but continue testing to make sure his numbers stay up. it would also be good to know what kind of duration he's getting off the 0.25u dose.


edited to add: i'd take his dose down to 0.1 unit.

01unit-1.jpg
 
Re: 2/23 Chuck +9 41 AMBG 33 +13 57

Edited yet again: I'm skipping the morning shot and monitoring to see how long the .25U lasts. Didn't really expect it to do anything until the depot was filled. I'll be picking up some gravy FF today (soon) in case this happens again. Gotta say I was a little concerned with the low numbers, especially combined with his lethargy. He's much better now, social, wanting my attention, laying on my computer desk looking out the window.

this board takes a little getting used to. it's a little different than the board used when chuck was on insulin the first time. instead of editing your first post with new information, you want to post a reply on your thread. that way the thread will bump up to the top of the list and we'll see there's new information/comments.

sounds like you have a plan in place. i'm so glad you caught that low this morning. it's also good for everyone to know what you're dealing with... including your vet. happy to hear he's feeling better.

it's possible his numbers could bobble up and down for awhile. you'll want to stay on top of his numbers until you see a substantial rise.
and yes... get some wet HC with gravy today. you never know when or if you'll need it.

i'll check back here later to see how things are going...
 
Re: 2/23 Chuck +9 41 AMBG 33 +13 57 +15 101

<WHEW!>

This .25 dose may be "wearing" off since he jump almost 50 points in the last couple of hours. I'll test a couple more times, but he really is much better than at 3:30! Right now, he's sitting on my mouse pad so I can't use the mouse, purring, and wanting attention.
 
Re: 2/23 Chuck +9 41 AMBG 33 +13 57

The other thing you need to know with the board is that only the subject line from the first post in the thread is visible on the board. So, your +15 number is only the subject in your last post. You'll need to edit the subject line in your first post so the +15 number is visible.
 
Re: 2/23 Chuck +9 41 AMBG 33 +13 57

wow, Susan, Chuck really does mean business, doesn't he?

Hopefully he won't bounce too high by tonight. Good luck with the dose reduction!!
 
He's coming up, past the greens and blues to the yellows... Definitely a shot tonight, but likely a very small, teeny tiny one. I talked with the vet and he was surprised at the drop with just .25U, so agreed that we need to reduce it if at all possible. Jill suggested .1U, so that's what I'll aim for...
 
He's coming up, past the greens and blues to the yellows... Definitely a shot tonight, but likely a very small, teeny tiny one. I talked with the vet and he was surprised at the drop with just .25U, so agreed that we need to reduce it if at all possible. Jill suggested .1U, so that's what I'll aim for...
 
Looks like a good plan. I bet your vet was caught off guard with that reaction. probably hasn't even thought of a 0.1 dose. ..

Hope Chuck likes the new dose.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top