2.23 Charlie-Cat AMPS 300 +6 314 PMPS 300

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
Previous thread:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...the-bouncy-bounce-bounce.274212/#post-3046762

I thought we were looking at bouncing but now he's just high and staying high. I increased the dose to .1, which was the last good dose. But given that his +6 today was higher than his AMPS and yesterday, he barely dipped at all, I'm guessing we need to go back up again to .5. He has not been this high since he was diagnosed. I am also very frustrated because right before this he was hanging out in the low-high 100s every day.

The backstory is about 2.5 weeks ago, we reduced his steroid dose to 2.5mg. We also this week moved from transdermal to pill, in hopes that it would be more consistent. However, he may now be getting more than he was transdermal. And the new vet put the wrong dosage on the bottle and I didn't catch it until after I gave the first dose. WHY WOULD YOU HAVE PUT 5mg once a day on the bottle when he should be at 2.5 mg. I cannot even. They never called me back about his numbers being insane over the last two weeks.

He usually gets that around 5 pm with a snack (AM/PM shots are around 8:15, currently moving him a little back to accommodate his next blood smear for platelet count at 9:30 am next Monday... and 7:15 absolutely doesn't work for me, I'm a zombie and I forgot his dose the one morning I was able to get him that early. So I guess it is better for me to stay up til 11:30 pm than give him a shot at 7:15 in the morning.

I got a blood ketone test on him yesterday and the day before (.2 and .5, in the normal range). But I want to see him in the blues and greens and in remission. He is still only 5 years old and he should have a long life with his girlfriend Olivia and their third, Harold, both of whom are 4 and harassing the tiny cat Widget who is 6 but acts like she's 6 months. And my own mental health needs him to be well. I would never in a million trillion bajillion years put him down, but boy I could use the mental space of taking care of him back.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Rm-EkOfJ9tugvljDWDunDbVvf5f-iEjgHchCTpzfkQw/edit?usp=sharing
 
I'm feeling this so much today - your last sentence is exactly it. I wish we had solutions but just here to tell you you're not alone, sending support and hugs!! It's such a frustrating journey and I feel like I keep getting my hopes up. I see our kitties were diagnosed just a week apart <3
 
It has been a lot. My elderly parents moved near me this fall. They've both been in the hospital since December. One of our other cats got bitten right after Charlie came back from the dead and he's been through rounds and rounds of antibiotics before it was finally dealt with surgically last week and he's finally looking better. It might have been Charlie who was feeling better and was like, I remember, I don't like their being another boy cat here. Or it could be Harold put himself between some of the girls who hate each other.

Oh and my husband has been in a depressive episode and needs babying too and I'm just spent 100% of the time
 
That's so much to deal with, when it rains it pours - I'm so sorry you've been going through all of it. It's all so mentally exhausting, you have to learn which balls are OK to drop, but even then it's still SO much. :(
 
He was 300 amps, 314 +6 and PMPS was 300.

So, I feel like I want to increase his dose to .5. that feels like a big jump to me but he doesn't seem to have been below 200 in a while
 
I'm so frustrated. He had two different week-long stretches, one around New Years and one in early February when he seems to be doing really well. And now everything seems to be a mess.
 
I guess, since we haven't really switched to TR, I should wait a week and see if he starts coming down. But drop to .1 isn't all that much of an increase.

I can't see not switching to TR if he's having nadirs below 90 but still well above that other times, but I also can't wrap my head around how to do it with my life. And the decision tree in the AAHA report is exactly the kind of clear, concise, visual that helps me. Everything about TR is just pages of text and I can't figure out what to do when (I have ADHD, so nice, concise, easy to follow directions are really great, even though yes, I basically read for a living as a professor).
 
Back
Top