? 2/23 Buddy AMPS 119 - was 50 last nite

lbeachstace

Member Since 2022
Are we supposed to lower Buddy's dose this morning. He hit low numbers a couple of times yesterday and hit 50 and low 50s 3x yesterday.

Last post
 
Last edited:
Buddy is a long term diabetic ( diagnosed over a year ago)
the rule of 3 drops between 40 and 50 on 3 separate days to earn a reduction. A drop below 40 would be an immediate reduction, however.
 
thank you.

our last reduction he went under 49 once and we were told he earned a reduction. that was right on his one year diagnosis date. so are we not to follow that guideline?
 
thank you.

our last reduction he went under 49 once and we were told he earned a reduction. that was right on his one year diagnosis date. so are we not to follow that guideline?
I just found it , it was on 1-24

I don't want to give you the wrong information ,so I'm going to tag some experienced members for you ok, I see they have helped you in the past

@Suzanne & Darcy

@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

Hi ladies I don't want to give her the wrong information ,can you please read her post and then my post #2 and #7
Thank you
 
Last edited:
The TR guidelines say "under 50", not "at 50". More details and discussion here: Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

The one caveat I'd say for Buddy is that he went officially into what we call high dose territory, 6 units and above. Typically there is some other condition present that causes a cat to need that much insulin. If there is another secondary condition contributing to insulin resistance, I tend to be more cautious, especially with a cat on a higher dose. When he was over 6 units, I did suggest a 0.5 unit reduction when he went under 50.

Now we have more BG data on him in lower numbers. Buddy has been in the 50's several other times on the 6 unit dose, and seemed to be fine staying there. Not sure I would have reduced.
 
The standard definition of a newly diagnosed cat is one that has been diabetic less than a year. I "broke" that rule when Neko became a long term diabetic, because her secondary conditions were a complications, and she generally held her reductions when she went under 50.
 
Back
Top