? 2/23 Blaze amps 142 +3 107 +6 100 +9 95 PMPS 91 +1.75 125 *3 86CALIPERS QUESTION

Did Blaze get some tasty treat he shouldn't have........
There’s nothing that I see that he could have gotten into to! He did get a little 20% and 15% when he was getting low. I’m wondering if he dropped again after the last test I got last night or maybe this is a mink bounce? I’m not sure :woot: going to test in about 20, we’ll see what he’s up to:rolleyes:
 
There’s nothing that I see that he could have gotten into to! He did get a little 20% and 15% when he was getting low. I’m wondering if he dropped again after the last test I got last night or maybe this is a mink bounce? I’m not sure :woot: going to test in about 20, we’ll see what he’s up to:rolleyes:

That's a good possibility.
 
Had DH but calipers today so we’re going to try to use it tonight so we’re both giving accurate doses, since he often does PMPS Monday through Thursday so I can go to the gym after work.
 
Blaze is really looking great Sarah! I was just looking back in his SS and can't believe how far he has come!
Thanks girl! I know, I can’t even believe we are getting all blues and greens now. Last year I was getting reds, pinks and yellows! He’s finally getting the hang of these nice lower numbers. I’m going out of town for a few days next weekend though so he will be on a reduced dose and I’m stressing it’s going to put us in higher numbers again. I hope it doesn't set us back in all the progress we’ve made :nailbiting:
 
Thanks girl! I know, I can’t even believe we are getting all blues and greens now. Last year I was getting reds, pinks and yellows! He’s finally getting the hang of these nice lower numbers. I’m going out of town for a few days next weekend though so he will be on a reduced dose and I’m stressing it’s going to put us in higher numbers again. I hope it doesn't set us back in all the progress we’ve made :nailbiting:
It seems like Blaze is good at getting back on track! but I definitely understand 'the fear' right now Mowgli is in a good set of numbers and I am totally holding my breath that this could be him finally 'getting it'
 
It seems like Blaze is good at getting back on track! but I definitely understand 'the fear' right now Mowgli is in a good set of numbers and I am totally holding my breath that this could be him finally 'getting it'
He’s usually pretty good at getting back on track, it’s just so stressful because I feel like anything can throw things off at any time. I’ll definitely be holding my breath too while I’m out of town and once I get back and get him back on track:nailbiting:

And WOW! Mowgli is looking awesome! Nice blues and greens during the cycles lately! Definitely looks like he’s into something right now!:D Fingers crossed for you guys, I know you’ve worked so hard to get him here.
 
I have a question about calipers. We got a digital calipers and I’ve read the post about it so I think I have it figured out but just want some advice from others who have experience with it.

So we use ReliOn syringes 3/10 mL cc with the half unit markings, so the post says that 1 unit on these syringes is equal to 1.32 mm. So to figure out what 0.25U is, I would multiply 1.32 by 0.25 to get 0.33, is that correct? And we are doing a fattened 0.25U dose right now so does that mean I should be giving maybe 0.36 on the calipers? I’m not sure how to measure a fattened dose. I just want to make sure I’m doing the calculations correctly and doing it all right. But since myself and DH give insulin, this seems like the best way to be giving Blaze an accurate amount of insulin each time.
 
Also, the ReliOn syringes have a ring around the top of the syringe. Do you measure from the first line or do you mean from the ring? It’s hard to get the calipers even with the ring if so.
 
It’s hard to get the calipers even with the ring if so.
I'm not familiar with the ReliOn syringes, but would it work better if you used the other side of the calipers (used to take inside measurements)

upload_2020-2-23_22-33-5.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-2-23_22-33-5.png
    upload_2020-2-23_22-33-5.png
    97.5 KB · Views: 91
Do you measure from the first line or do you mean from the ring?
Push the plunger all the way in, where does it stop? That should be zero.
the post says that 1 unit on these syringes is equal to 1.32 mm. So to figure out what 0.25U is, I would multiply 1.32 by 0.25 to get 0.33, is that correct? And we are doing a fattened 0.25U dose right now so does that mean I should be giving maybe 0.36 on the calipers? I’m not sure how to measure a fattened dose.
0.25 of 1.32 is 0.33. 0.5 of 1.32 is 0.66. If a fattened dose is in between, it would be around 0.49. The difference between 0.25 and 0.5 is again 0.33 mm, so half of that is 0.16. Add that to 0.25 measurement to get 0.33 + 0.16 - 0.49. Work for you? The other option is to load a syringe with what you've been calling a fattened 0.25, measure that, and use that measurement. Remember, it's consistency in your measurements that count, not you compared to anyone else.
 
Back
Top