2/22-Scratchie-AMPS-310, +3-298

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

Good morning everyone and happy Friday!

Been a heck of a week, lots of hours but at least I got to work some of them from home during the evenings. Off today and that's good as I am one tired girl. I didn't hear the alarm last night for Scratchie's +7 - bad mom, slept right through it. I think he's confused as to why I'm home. Seems like he knows the days - I know, I'm crazy right? :lol:

Increased his dose to 3.25 so he's holding lower, hopefully this one will start working today and we'll see some yellow and blues? Gosh, I hope so! Been a while..

We have an appointment with the vet tomorrow morning for his wellness check up. I'm going to ask Dr. Stoker about switching to Lev. I still have a bit left in my last pen, but Scratchie seems to be having trouble with his shots lately so I'm wondering if he is feeling the sting? I also think that after 1 year on Lantus, it's time for a change and have talked to Marje and a couple of others about this, think it might be a good idea. I'm thinking I could do the switch next weekend, starting on the PM shot on Friday the 1st. Thoughts, suggestions are definitely welcome on this. He can't tell me no right? The vet? Just thought of that. A little nervous to start something new but I think with everyone here helping out, and advising us we'll be fine.

Don't know what I'd do without all of you.

(((hugs))) to all beans and kitties, and healing/calming vines to all that need them.

Jo
 
Re: 2/22-Scratchie-AMPS-310

Come on down Scratchie! Good luck with the vet visit and Lev discussion. You must have been tired. At least you got some sleep. I know that our fur kids know our schedule and know what day it is. If you're crazy, I am too. :lol: Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/22-Scratchie-AMPS-310

It's looking like he's liking the dose increase that you gave him yesterday. Hoping that he'll give you a lower surf in the yellows today, and perhaps a blue, too...? Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/22-Scratchie-AMPS-310

Hi guys .. ok scratchie, pretty close to yellow .. think you can be there next spot check? Glad you have today off and can hopefully catch a few cat naps .. Good luck with the discussion on Lev .. maybe it is just what scratchie needs .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 2/22-Scratchie-AMPS-310

I've stuck with Lantus mostly because the later nadir with Lev won't accommodate my work schedule. Even if your vet is uncomfortable with prescribing Lev (you vet may not be familiar with it), I think Scratchie is seeing better numbers since you've not been holding on to your dose for overly long.
 
Morning Jo, sending good Vetty vines for tomorrow's Vetty appt and also on your decision to switch to Lev. Come on down Scratchie and let's see a nice slide. Thanks for visiting us and have a great day.
 
Thanks Lisa!
Melissa - glad to know that I'm not the only crazy one out there! :-D
Angela - he's listening to you guys!
Devon - Thanks for the good luck wishes - we'll see what he says - cat naps sound good....
Sienne - Thanks, hopefully the Lev will help. I've been trying on his doses but he really doesn't settle into dosecreases in 3 days, maybe I should do the SLGS protocol rather than TR.

Thoughts anyone?

Thanks for the visits!!!
 
Morning Jo ~O)

Hope Scratchie comes down for you on the new dose :smile:

Good luck @vetty, and the switch to Lev should you decide that way.

Have a great day!
 
Jo

I think if your schedule can accommodate how different the lev curve is, and your vet is on board, it's worth a try. But I think you are doing fine with the current protocol. I think the issue is that he's not at the right dose yet.

I understand what you mean about needing to settle in more but if he is pink and yellow, you need to increase every six cycles. If he starts getting into blue, then give him longer. He was doing great at a higher dose and I think you're going to find he's probably going to need to be close to that again to show some good numbers.

The usual starting dose for lev is 70% of the lantus dose. However, he's not doing much on his current dose. I'd like to get a few other eyes on his SS so we can "discuss" with you on your condo what a good starting dose of lev might be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top