2/22 Rosa AMPS 95 +4 52 +4.5 41 +5 63 +5.5 72 +6.5 63 +7.5 64 +8.5 86 +10 95 PMBG 103 +16 96

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oops - totally meant to get a +2 this morning. Not sure if the alarm didn't go off or if I just slept through it. Looks like I caught her just in time at +4 though...checking again in half an hour!!
 
Way to wake me up Rosa!! :D

It's only her 3rd cycle at this dose, but I'm thinking I'm going to have to give the reduction anyway. With starting work tomorrow morning, although Michael can monitor her for a while, she will be on her own for a few hours. Does it sound reasonable to give the reduction and be ready to increase again if it fails?
 
Good catch April! :D I agree on your plan, safety first. Some kitties when they start seeing a lot of green put their paws on the accelerator. Do you have an autofeeder for those hours when no one will be around?
 
Thank you - I'm so glad I didn't sleep through the +4 alarm as well!! :D And thank you for confirming my safety first plan - it'll be the first time I've left her alone for more than an hour and, of course, I'm scared of something going wrong those few hours there won't be anyone home.

We don't have an autofeeder yet, but all the cats graze on and off all day - there's always food left in the bowls at the next feeding time (I'm probably putting out a little too much but I don't want Rosa to go hungry if she needs food). We're planning that Michael will get morning tests up to at least +6 and text me the numbers, then we'll decide whether or not he needs to work from home, give some carbs before leaving for work or just make sure the lc food is topped up for her for later in the afternoon.

She does seem to be back on a mission to race down the scale after being nearly a week at the 0.75 dose - this is looking like her first set of reductions from 2.0 to 0.75 where she just kept on dropping every 3rd or 4th cycle. The only problem now is there's not that many more doses we can drop her to!!
 
Tests until +6 should give you enough information to determine if Michael needs to freshen the food with higher carbs. It's great having him as a backup.:)
 
That's what we were hoping, and his work is fairly flexible fortunately - that's probably going to save my sanity over the next few weeks! Most days he can work from home if we're not happy with her numbers. He has meetings one afternoon a week, but not until about 3pm so he could still be home until +7.5 or +8 even then. :) Occasionally he has a meeting on Friday mornings, but our housemate works Sunday-Wednesday and has said he will test on Fridays when required. He hates anything to do with needles, so I was surprised when he offered, but of course very grateful too. :D
 
I am too, except that that doesn't always stop her going for another one right afterwards - she seems to only like 3 cycles at most doses before she goes for another low number! And today, every time her numbers start heading back up, she goes and eats some lc...and then somehow she's lower at her next test so I'm not sure what's going on there - reverse food spike or something? She's just eaten again right after a test at 86 - I'm kind of expecting the next one to be back in the 60s.
 
Not having many more doses to drop is hardly a problem ;) what a great room mate you have :) maybe Rosa will help him get over his phobia :D
 
That's true - I'm just surprised how quickly she seems to manage 2 or 3 reductions in a row when it suits her! :)

He's good - he really is. Once we got past the dry food problem and agreed with him that he'd keep his bedroom door shut so Rosa couldn't get hold of it, everything's been fine. And I agree, the testing lancets are one of the easier needles to handle - maybe she will help him yet! :D
 
China's ready, willing and able to come haul Rosa out of the deep end if you need her April!!
cat with life preserver.jpg
 
Thank you :) She might still need it at this rate - she really doesn't want to get those numbers up much today!!

I hope you're feeling better soon too Chris - hopefully China will let you get a good night's sleep tonight!
 
Thank you China - she must have decided to come and say 'Hi' to you after all. After that drop this morning, I'm a bit happier with her rising towards PMPS than dropping!!
 
Thank you - exhausted but happy here :D One day I'll get a full night's sleep without having to test her late, then early, I swear I will. Otherwise the next time we go on vacation anywhere, I'll be spending all my time in the hotel room catching up on sleep!! So worth it when she starts grabbing one reduction after another like this though :D
 
And a question - we absolutely cannot stay up late tonight to monitor as I have to be in the office by 8am tomorrow. Once I've at least introduced myself and spoken with my new manager, I'm sure they'll be fine if I show up some days looking like a zombie, but for my first day I just can't.

Do you think it would do a lot of damage to her progress if I skipped tonight so we can sleep and started her on her reduced dose in the morning? She doesn't seem to really be bouncing (as usual) and I'm concerned that if she goes back down into the 60s or 50s I'll have to stay up until +7 or so. But at the same time, I don't want to stop her progress while she's doing so well. Any thoughts? It's not even as if I can really BCS it now she just earned a reduction to 0.25!!
 
A BCS dose would be a 0.1u dose. If you look in the New to the Group sticky, you'll see photos.

If you feel like you need to skip, that's OK. Just think of it like a "fur shot."
 
Hmm...I guess I could convince myself I gave her a fur shot!! ;) It's just one of those things - of course after trying to find work for 8 or 9 months, something comes up right when Rosa's racing down the dosing scale as fast as she can! I want to give her a shot at OTJ if she can get there, but just tonight before my first day I think I really have to try and sleep too. Difficult decision but I don't want to give the shot and then have to sleep anyway - though I will get just a couple of tests through the evening to see exactly what the impact is on her...just for data gathering purposes.
 
When kitty is on a mission (like Rosa is) I doubt if skipping one shot is going to make much difference

If you look at @MollynSkooter 's spreadsheet, Skooter hardly blinks when she's had to skip (which makes it VERY nice for her! She can actually have a bit of a social life!!) but until you do it with Rosa, you won't know

But I'm figuring she'll do fine :D
 
Thank you :) She did get right back on track last time I had to skip so I'm hoping it won't affect her too much.

If it was just because I wanted a day off tomorrow, I'd give the dose. I just don't think I've got much choice but to be fully awake tomorrow morning this once. And I'm trying not to kill Michael on his first morning on his own with her either - if he had to stay up late and monitor then get up early to do her morning tests after the few weeks we've just had with her, he might find it difficult to cope too!
 
Thank you :) It's going to feel a bit weird as it's been over a year since I had a job with moving here and then needing work authorization. But I'm sure I'll get back into the swing of a regular routine soon enough!

She is, she's doing so well - I'm really pleased with her. Not only her numbers either - she's just doing so well in herself and is so happy and full of energy. And still so loving in spite of all the tests, shots and change to her diet. :D
 
I will say, it is very nice that Skooter doesn't even flinch when he has to miss or on those occasions that he gets an actual fur shot. There have a been a few mornings where I have not shot as I was not going to be able to come home during the day to check on him, and its like it never even happened. I am sure Rosa will get right back on track for ya :)

Good luck tomorrow on your first day, you will do great, just like Rosa will!
 
I just looked at Skooter's ss - it barely seems to have an effect when you have to skip. That's great for the occasions where you just can't give a shot :D

Last time I skipped Rosa went up to 300 overnight, but got right back on track within 3 or 4 hours the next morning - I'm hoping she can do the same tomorrow but if it takes her all day to get back into green, at least I'll know she's safe tonight :)
 
So far so good with the skipped shot - maybe I forgot to tell her I didn't give her the insulin!! ;) Fingers crossed she doesn't go too high overnight...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top