2/22 Rooh PMPS 126 +2.5 102 +4 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jmeli

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Yesterday events-

AM shot +9.5 BS went from 75 to 54 and Rooh threw up. Had to assist feed some sugar. Apparently too much because he shot up to 96!

An hour later he had diarrhea.

Then he appeared to feel bad for a few hours. I waited a few more hours beyond shot time for him to start eating but he still refused to eat. Instead he nibbled a little on the cat grass and kept looking at me, like do something mom!

I offered him 4 diff wet foods and he acted as if they were not even there and kept looking at me like do something! I finally put 2 tbs of Epigen in front of him and he wolfed it down and then proceeded to go on about life as if his tummy ache is gone and life is good.

Hummmm... Did i get played or what!?! :eek: This is the old Rooh boy I have not seen in a while. :rolleyes:
That guy would play the starve out game forever if you didn't give him his kibble. Being that he was acting like the world was coming to an end just before eating and his BG was 75 at that point, I didn't feel comfortable giving him his shot so I skipped it (just in case he threw up again).

8 hours later, 20 hrs since his AM shot his BG is 80. What's up with that??o_O

This morning he tried to play the not eating game again but i put a few pieces of epigen on his wet and he ate. 1 hr later his BG is 69.

Should I shoot? and if so should i keep him at 2.25?
 
He is really coming down the dosing ladder pretty quickly. I think maybe his pancreas is kicking in some glucose and doing its job. I cant give advice, but hopefully you get more experienced eyes on here soon. I dont think I would shoot that 2.25, and if you shoot at all, maybe a bcs as long as you can monitor very close today. Has he eaten since +8. I would with hold food til you can get another test. Can you get another test now?
 
Do you know the carb count on the Epigen?

Chances are you're seeing some carryover from the shot yesterday morning. Laura's right, though -- Rooh's pancreas is kicking in and he's coming down the dose ladder even with a reduced dose and a skipped shot. This is a SS of a totally different nature than in January.

Have you fed within 2 hrs of shot time? Are you around today to monitor and do you have strips and HC?

ETA: from your post above, it sounds like you fed. For the future, if you're going to stall, don't feed.
 
Sienne, I am so bad about feeding before the shoot. I test, i feed...then wasnt sure if i should shoot and he was hungry. I am terrible at stalling without feeding when he screams for food. :( I will be leaving the house in 1 hr and be gone for 1.5 hrs.
 
I do have plenty of strips and HC. Not sure of the carb count but Epigen 90 is low carb below 1o%.
 
Im not really sure what time you gave the last shot. It says on your ss yesterday amps, but was that shot on time, or did you stall? Because i see you have noted +21 where the +22 cell is. If the last time you fed was really at +19, and , if you havent fed since then, I would get a "true" +24 and see if he is rising. Even if you have to skip the dose this am. at least you know what hes doing without food on board. Since you wont be around to monitor, skipping might be wise.

Edit- I see now you have 21.75 as the last test, so I guess you are on true time.
 
+2 hrs since he ate BG 98 he is on the rise. I will be leaving in 30 min and gone for about 2.5 hrs. Should i shoot walking out the door? His regular dose or reduce?
 
If it were me. and I was about to leave for 2.5 hours, I would skip. What if you get tied up, or stuck in traffic..etc..better high for a day, then low, and not being able to monitor.
 
Good point.. I will give it when i get back. I just hope he doesn't fly to high on me. Update yall later.
 
When you get back, test and post the number before you shoot please. If you end up shooting late, remember, that you need to be able to shoot 12 hours later, and adjust the shot times going forward.
 
Looks like your little guy is surfing green:D. If it were me, I would skip. But..that is just my opinion. Maybe someone else can chime in?
 
Yeah, I feel like i should shoot, but I just dont know if i should stick with the 2.25 dose. The last time he had it he had to eat constantly to keep in the safe zone then he did that dive at +9 and got sick.

Please someone else chime in!!
 
If you skip, and you see his numbers coming back up into non normal numbers, you can always resume the insulin. I just worry that you had to carb him up on 2/20 to keep him up.
 
Yes, but with Lantus, you really cant. Its hard to say what is going on, since he was at 2.5u on 2/17, then down to 2.25 on 2/19, then you reduced to 1.5 on 2/20 and back to 2.25 on 2/21, which was his last dose over 24 hours ago. He could still be using up the depot from the 2.5, and may start bouncing up. I have a feeling he is trying to go off the juice. Like I said, I dont feel that comfortable telling you to skip, but unless someone advises you too, thats my suggestion for now.
 
Youre welcome! I like to stay on the safe side of things, especially given the data you have for the past 3 days, and his declining dose . Just post his numbers after each test, and maybe by normal pmps shot time we will get some more data to help with dosing advice from others. You are doing a great job with him! Paws crossed hes on a mission to go otj!:)
 
He is creeping up at 117 +29 hrs since last shot. I am shooting and giving 2.25u. Please please i hope its going to be alright!!
 
Is he eating better now??

Considering he's been able to stay in normal numbers on no insulin for so long, I'd be worried about shooting that much.

If you have plenty of supplies and can test tonight, I think I'd shoot, but a reduced dose...maybe a BCS of 1 or 1.5 unit

Something has definitely changed with Rooh...in a good way!
 
Yes he is eating good now. I know I would feel much better at 1, but I just wasnt sure how much to give. I dont want him going to high again and I wasnt sure if his depot has drained and how all that will affect the shots going forward.
 
Since he's been looking so good lately, I think you'd be fine to shoot the 1 unit and see how he does....we may need to go back to 2.25 but with him staying in green on nothing for over 24 hours, I think it'd be fine to try a smaller dose for now
 
Thank you Chris so much. I know I need a lot of hand holding with this insulin stuff. :confused:
 
That's what we're here for!

There may be other opinions later on that would have shot the entire 2.25 dose, but since you've skipped or shot reduced doses for 3 of the last 7 cycles, I think it's better to be safe

Would be great if Rooh's pancreas is kicking back into gear!
 
One question though...Was this his "usual" shot time? Or are you changing shot times?

Since it says this was +29.5 that's kind of a strange time to shoot, but as long as you can shoot again in 12 hours, it's fine
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top