2/22 Rex PMPS 169 +1 174 +2 140 +2.5 138

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/22 Rex PMPS 169 +1 174 +2 140

Hey Rich

I think Rex is looking better but he needs more insulin....I'd increase his dose to 1.75u. I also think you're holding the doses too long....try not to get attached to a dose; ir Rex needs more insulin, he does.

Glad you stopped by!
 
Re: 2/22 Rex PMPS 169 +1 174 +2 140

History:

We tried to get Rex to eat Tiki Puka Puka Luau with 0 cals from carbs, but he would not eat it after 5 days and for some strange reason his BG was very high. (but he was really not very interested in tiki). He is a fan of Merrick. (He was also sick during this time - cough and cold and many vet visits)

So it looks like his high numbers are coming down, staying down, and he is bouncing less. I am so afraid to live in green, but I know I must. I just don't want his BG to crash.

I looks like his past 4 cycles are trending down.

Marje, should I see if his BG numbers come down more in the morning? If he is trending down still should I wait to increase his insulin until his number stop trending down?

I just don't know how aggressive I should be with his insulin. Am I suppose to aim for green?

I was under the impression I should wait 3-5 days before changing his dose? I did increase from 1.25 to 1.5 on the 9th, but I realize now I should have increase more. We were just changing food and didn't know how Rex was going to react.

Thanks for any help and insight! :)

Rich
 
Hi Rich, good to see the two of you here again. I hope Rex is feeling better now. His numbers today look better than they did a while ago. Nice and flat too. Greens can be scary at first, but the more time that Rex can spend in the 50-120 or normal zone, the more that his pancreas can heal. For some background reading, here is a good post on glucose toxicity that explains why you might not want to hold a dose too long.

Are you home this weekend? If you are and can monitor, the timing might be good for an increase as Marje suggested.

Regarding the food, a number of people have found that their cats do better with low carbs rather than no carb food. Looks like Rex was telling you that when he didn't want to eat it. :lol:
 
Rich

Sorry I didn't get back to you....I think you posted about 2 mins after I signed off last night.

Looking at his SS, he didn't get any lower last night so i would increase his dose this morning if you are aiming for tight regulation or remission. He needs to get into green nadirs for TR/remission. If you are aiming to just keep him in the 100-200 range, then don't raise his dose and see how he does.

From the TR protocol:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


If he's getting into blue but not green nadirs, then you want to increase the dose every 10 cycles or so (depending on how low is blue nadirs are). If he's not getting blue nadirs, I'd increase after every six cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top