2/22 Quincy AMPS 95 - lab results/B vitamin qs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Quincy

Member Since 2009
Hopefully today is the start of another full green day for the Q-man.

Got pretty good news from the vet's today. All Quincy's lab work is back. The complete blood panel and urinanalysis results were all within normal levels, and the urine culture showed no signs of infection. Hooray! The one abnormal result was the folate/cobalamin test - it showed that Quincy was below normal limits. I don't have the exact number, though. I spoke with the vet directly, and he said Quincy was lower than he should be, but he didn't consider him to be critically low or that he was in danger of getting critically low. At first, he wanted me to bring Quincy in so he could give him injections of B-complex and B-12 there. I think that was in part because he didn't think Quincy needed routine treatment and also because of the pain issue. I really don't want to bring Quincy back, though, as it's such an ordeal, so we decided the vet would order me my own bottle of B-12 so I could do those shots at home, and that when Quincy comes back for his next check up (in about 10 weeks, if all is well), the vet would give him a B-complex shot while they're doing all the other bad things (e.g., blood draws). My vet said even the B-12 shot has some level of pain, but admitted than the B-complex one was the one that really smarts. I mentioned that I knew others who did B-12 shots at home without problem... I hope that's my experience too!

We didn't go over the dosing amount/frequency yet - will get that when I pick up the medicine. He mentioned something about starting with 0.1 cc 2x a week. I didn't go through it all, in part because I was on another call at work. Will find out soon enough I guess.

If anyone else has gone the B-12 and/or B-complex route with their kitties, would definitely appreciate any input you can share re: dosing amount, dosing tips (shoot the same as insulin?), whether it bothered your kitty, how long it took to notice any differences in GI issues, etc., would be helpful. I'll post on the general health board too.

I'm kind of glad we picked up a little deficiency, as it suggests something relatively benign that I can try that might actually help Quincy.

Last post: Sat 2/20
 
Bear has been on B12 shots in the past. We recently resumed them to help with his GI and renal issues. I have a bottle of vitamin B12. The concentration is 1000 ug/ml. Bear's dosage is .25 ml once per week for four weeks, and then we will re-evaluate. I use a larger tuberculin syringe. He doesn't react with any pain. I have not noticed any change in his symptoms after two shots.

Congratulations on all the great bloodwork. I think that lowered B12/folate is a common finding in GI cats, and the B12 shots should help bring it back up.
 
Linda and Bear Man said:
Bear has been on B12 shots in the past. We recently resumed them to help with his GI and renal issues. I have a bottle of vitamin B12. The concentration is 1000 ug/ml. Bear's dosage is .25 ml once per week for four weeks, and then we will re-evaluate. I use a larger tuberculin syringe. He doesn't react with any pain. I have not noticed any change in his symptoms after two shots.

Congratulations on all the great bloodwork. I think that lowered B12/folate is a common finding in GI cats, and the B12 shots should help bring it back up.

Thanks for your reply! I remember in an earlier post you said it didn't seem to hurt him much either.

I was wondering if I can use the same needles for B-12 as I do for Lantus? My vet said that .1cc would equal 10 units, if I heard him right. I was planning on bringing in a syringe with me when I pick up the B-12 to find out exactly. I'd also like to get a copy of the actual lab work too, or at least write down the numbers.
 
Hi Laura,
I use B12 with Latte. I never got the test done ($$ reasons), but have been told it does not hurt to give it, if in fact they do not need it. I administer via subq because I have heard it can burn when giving it directly. others on the board here have corrected me and say its the b complex that burns. Either way, I still have only given via sub q so far.

I give it approx every 5-7 days (depending on her symptoms). Sometimes I think I notice it being helpful. Other times Im not so sure it makes a difference. If quincy needs it it SHOULD be helpful for sure!

I skipped 2 weeks with Latte recently, and she had not been eating well. Though vomiting I think only once in those two weeks. I gave it yesterday and she does seem to be eating a bit better in the last 24hrs. She is also brighter and energetic (she jumped on the couch for the first time in a year). I dont credit it soley to the b12 I gave yesterday, but I do think it could have helped.

As long as your vet measures it out correctly with the insulin syringe, that should be fine. I give ondansetron through a u40 syringe, which i brought to the clinic to have them calculate how much I should give with it.

I hope it helps. do you give subq's? I wonder why you cant give the bcomplex on your own? I think they give it via fluids????

Btw...I was going to ask, when you put karo in Quincy's food,how much do you use?

Hope you are having a good day!
 
Linda and Bear Man said:
I believe it would be acceptable to use an insulin syringe. There was another thread recently on this:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... f=3&t=6482

Yeah, that was my thread...Morris has had 3 shots so far. The recommended dose is 250 ug, which is 25 units on a U-100 insulin syringe (I verified this a couple of different sources to be sure). They do not faze him in the least so I don't think they sting...it is the B complex that stings. But after shooting less than 1u, 25u seems to take forever going in, For the complete protocol see:
http://www.cvm.tamu.edu/gilab/research/cobalamin.shtml

I thought that I was seeing results with Morris but he is back to not eating as of today...hasn't had too much solid LB action in the past day or so but yesterday it was one liquid and one little twisted hard knob. I am an expert on poos and their descriptions.
 
carolynandlatte said:
I hope it helps. do you give subq's? I wonder why you cant give the bcomplex on your own? I think they give it via fluids????

Btw...I was going to ask, when you put karo in Quincy's food,how much do you use?

Hope you are having a good day!

Thanks for the input Caroyln. No, I don't give Quincy subq's. I think the vet didn't intend for me to give B-complex on my own in part because of the pain (Quincy's a legendary fighter when it comes to meds and procedures he doesn't want) and in part because he didn't think Quincy would need regular shots (so that one shot at the vet's would cost less than my getting my own supplies).

As far as Karo goes, a little goes a long way - probably about 1/4 tsp along with a tbsp or so of wet food. He likes Karo and would even just lick some straight Karo off my fingers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top