? 2/22 phoebes amps 369 hubby may have done furshot but her +11 is 242. Should I shoot 4.5? Please adv

Status
Not open for further replies.
Please put "FS" in the unit column so it's easy for us to spot when looking at your SS. FS's happen...sometimes the happen multiple times in a row :banghead: Cudo's to your DH for helping out. Hope she's feeling pretty good today.
 
Please put "FS" in the unit column so it's easy for us to spot when looking at your SS. FS's happen...sometimes the happen multiple times in a row :banghead: Cudo's to your DH for helping out. Hope she's feeling pretty good today.
@Doodles & Karen do we give half dose? Her bgs have just been so flat and high. He could have possibly given her a double shot the other day. I know he was being nice and trying to help, but really??#! Your just giving me a heart attack. And I want to wring his neck.
 
Yep. The only thing to do with a FS is just go on with the day. They happen to everyone, even people who've been doing this for years. Don't be too rough on the husband!

You can still get a few tests in today, to see how she does, or you can give her a pokey break. She'll likely be fine this cycle-- the depot is still in place-- though her next couple cycles may be a little wonky as it re-fills.

Time for another dose increase tonight, or were you thinking of waiting until the next AM cycle when monitoring is easier?
 
Fur shots happen. I know they are frustrating, but Phoebe will get back on track. Try not to be too hard on your DH. I once did three fur shots in a row with Furball.
 
Yep. The only thing to do with a FS is just go on with the day. They happen to everyone, even people who've been doing this for years. Don't be too rough on the husband!

You can still get a few tests in today, to see how she does, or you can give her a pokey break. She'll likely be fine this cycle-- the depot is still in place-- though her next couple cycles may be a little wonky as it re-fills.

Time for another dose increase tonight, or were you thinking of waiting until the next AM cycle when monitoring is easier?
He was doing it this am, but since he missed I will wait and give increase tomorrow am. And give regular dose tonight. I am just soo frustrated because feel like were getting somewhere now feel we have to take 2 steps back.
 
Interesting
:) he probably did get some in.

Why did he think it was a FS?

Just a thought about the dosecrease, with bfg it usually took about 3-4 cycles for me to see the effect of the dose change.
She's been on the 4u for a little longer than ideal for TR, if you take her up tomorrow it will have been 12cycles rather than the 6cycles her numbers warranted, I know that there has been 'complications' I'm not criticizing, just an observation. But the longer she's in higher numbers the more probable that she develops glucose toxicity and the harder it will be to pull her BG down, and the more insulin she will need to pull her down.
So if it were me I wouldn't delay the dosecrease. Just my two cents worth.:)
 
Interesting
:) he probably did get some in.

Why did he think it was a FS?

Just a thought about the dosecrease, with bfg it usually took about 3-4 cycles for me to see the effect of the dose change.
She's been on the 4u for a little longer than ideal for TR, if you take her up tomorrow it will have been 12cycles rather than the 6cycles her numbers warranted, I know that there has been 'complications' I'm not criticizing, just an observation. But the longer she's in higher numbers the more probable that she develops glucose toxicity and the harder it will be to pull her BG down, and the more insulin she will need to pull her down.
So if it were me I wouldn't delay the dosecrease. Just my two cents worth.:)
he saw the insulin come out the back of the fur and smelled it and wiped it off.
I get where your coming from. But she has had some harsh issues this last week. I can't stay up with her tonight to observe her if I increase her dose tonight. If you guys think she would be ok tonight getting higher dose I will do it. And was keeping her on the 4.25 becayse she hit a couple of blues, so was holding for 8-10 cycles. Then she got sick with flareup and decided would raise it today to 4.5. But he did a fs.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-amps-291-2-245-pmps-305.173558/#post-1901558
Husband shot a furshot this am. Her bg is 369,was 390 when we got up. He's doing more harm than good!!! :banghead::banghead::banghead: :banghead:
I don't know if this would work or not for you, but for me, I can't give insulin without seeing the needle go into the skin. Callie is almost hairless on her tummy (started a little before diagnosis and just recently is starting to grow back), so I shoot there. I have also shaved some areas on her sides so I can shoot there. (Courtesy of a video sticky. Love those!) Do you think it would help your husband to actually see it go in? There's a video of shooting a hairless cat on one of the stickies, and that's why I started doing it. It has helped me so much. I still have done a few shots where the insulin oozes out a tiny bit, but it's nothing like it would be otherwise. (Well, yeah, to correct that...when she jumps right when I'm injecting. That's happened once or twice.) Just a thought...
 
Last edited:
I don't know if this would work or not for you, but for me, I can't give insulin without seeing the needle go into the skin. Callie is almost hairless on her tummy (started a little before diagnosis and just recently is starting to grow back), so I shoot there. I have also shaved some areas on her sides so I can shoot there. (Courtesy of a video sticky. Love those!) Do you think it would help your husband to actually see it go in? There's a video of shooting a hairless cat on one of the stickies, and that's why I started doing it. It has helped me so much. I still have done a few shots where the insulin oozes out a tiny bit, but it's nothing like it would be otherwise. (Well, yeah, to correct that...when she jumps right when I'm injecting. That's happened once or twice.) Just a thought...
@Glennie :) we have a shaven spot and ge said he saw it go in, then pulled out needle saw it pull out then saw the liquid at the back of the shot? Idk I kinda didn't hear what he said after"omg the insulin ran out, how did that happen I saw the shot go in...." I really am trying to be patient but after the possible double shot aND then possible no shot. I'm shot!!! I want him to participate but don't know if my heart can handle it.
 

Attachments

  • 20170222_125539.jpg
    20170222_125539.jpg
    39.3 KB · Views: 68
Callie is almost hairless on her tummy (started a little before diagnosis and just recently is starting to grow back), so I shoot there. You shoot on her belly???!!! Doesn't that hurt?
 
@Glennie :) we have a shaven spot and ge said he saw it go in, then pulled out needle saw it pull out then saw the liquid at the back of the shot? Idk I kinda didn't hear what he said after"omg the insulin ran out, how did that happen I saw the shot go in...." I really am trying to be patient but after the possible double shot aND then possible no shot. I'm shot!!! I want him to participate but don't know if my heart can handle it.
Callie is almost hairless on her tummy (started a little before diagnosis and just recently is starting to grow back), so I shoot there. You shoot on her belly???!!! Doesn't that hurt?
Nope, it seems easier for her there than anywhere. If I can get my husband or daughter to love on her while I'm shooting she's fine with it. She keeps the purr going. She often doesn't feel like being in that position so I do usually need help just to distract her. There have been a few times she's jumped, but usually not. It's impossible to shoot her neck because she rears her head back when I get close to her. I guess she thinks she's a horse...These kitties!
 
we have a shaven spot and ge said he saw it go in, then pulled out needle saw it pull out then saw the liquid at the back of the shot? Idk I kinda didn't hear what he said after"omg the insulin ran out, how did that happen I saw the shot go in...
Sometimes if you pull the syringe out too fast after giving the shot, a little bit of insulin can still be in the tip of the syringe and leak out. It's best to hold the syringe in while holding down the plunger for about 10 seconds if you can to try and get all the insulin in.
 
@Glennie :) we have a shaven spot and ge said he saw it go in, then pulled out needle saw it pull out then saw the liquid at the back of the shot? Idk I kinda didn't hear what he said after"omg the insulin ran out, how did that happen I saw the shot go in...." I really am trying to be patient but after the possible double shot aND then possible no shot. I'm shot!!! I want him to participate but don't know if my heart can handle it.
Thanks for being gracious when I'm suggesting something you're already doing. The shot thing is frustrating. So sorry! This whole FD thing is rough on everyone involved. The "possible double shot, possible no shot, and I'm shot"...I shouldn't say this right now, but that is funny. Maybe it will seem more funny tomorrow for you. Not it happening but what you said.

My 17 year old daughter wants to help by doing the testing and the shots (she does help by distracting her and glucometer testing), but I can't bring myself to let her. My 19 year old daughter is in nursing school, and I let her give Callie one shot, but no more. My husband helps with the glucometer when Callie won't cooperate with testing, but with his needle phobia, I 'm not even going to ask. I know I need to have someone besides me here that can do this, but right now it's hard to trust them. So I get it. I think it's great your husband wants to help, but I can also understand your concern. Hope it starts going better.
 
Thanks for being gracious when I'm suggesting something you're already doing. The shot thing is frustrating. So sorry! This whole FD thing is rough on everyone involved. The "possible double shot, possible no shot, and I'm shot"...I shouldn't say this right now, but that is funny. Maybe it will seem more funny tomorrow for you. Not it happening but what you said.

My 17 year old daughter wants to help by doing the testing and the shots (she does help by distracting her and glucometer testing), but I can't bring myself to let her. My 19 year old daughter is in nursing school, and I let her give Callie one shot, but no more. My husband helps with the glucometer when Callie won't cooperate with testing, but with his needle phobia, I 'm not even going to ask. I know I need to have someone besides me here that can do this, but right now it's hard to trust them. So I get it. I think it's great your husband wants to help, but I can also understand your concern. Hope it starts going better.
Thank you. Yes we do need to trust others but it's so hard to give up that control and worry. But I know he loves her almost as much as me. And he loves me more than her so I know he will eventually get it right. I don't mean to sound unappreciative of him. He is trying. I am just so afraid for her. I don't mind you laughing. :) I do have sense of humor. You have too in these situations. I couldn't imagine doing the belly that is a kill zone on phoebe. Lol I would be pulling back a bloody stump. Ty for your words and pep talk. :)
 
Sometimes if you pull the syringe out too fast after giving the shot, a little bit of insulin can still be in the tip of the syringe and leak out. It's best to hold the syringe in while holding down the plunger for about 10 seconds if you can to try and get all the insulin in.
Thank you, will school him some more tonight. The fact that he even picks up the needle is short of a miracle. :)
 
Sorry about the partial fur shot, but it's better to look at the long game. At one point hubby will be skilled and confident enough to do the shots. At that point, you will gain a lot of freedom. I was so grateful my DH could take over the shot time test, feed, shoot duties and I was no longer tied to the house for every shot time. FWIW, he never did a fur shot, but I did plenty. :oops: What was harder for me was getting him to test, it took months. I don't know if you've looked at this post on Testing and Shooting Tips, but the roll method described really helped me with my long haired girl.

I don't know if you've got it bookmarked yet, but the link above is from the Where Can I Find post.
 
Sorry about the partial fur shot, but it's better to look at the long game. At one point hubby will be skilled and confident enough to do the shots. At that point, you will gain a lot of freedom. I was so grateful my DH could take over the shot time test, feed, shoot duties and I was no longer tied to the house for every shot time. FWIW, he never did a fur shot, but I did plenty. :oops: What was harder for me was getting him to test, it took months. I don't know if you've looked at this post on Testing and Shooting Tips, but the roll method described really helped me with my long haired girl.

I don't know if you've got it bookmarked yet, but the link above is from the Where Can I Find post.
Yes bookmarked yesterday. He got the testing down pat first. And yes it will free up time for sure. Cheers for your hubby!! Abd yes will look at the roll method again. :)
 
It's fine that you don't want to take her up tonight because you are not able to monitor and for the issues that you have had.

But I am a little puzzled by this statement

And was keeping her on the 4.25 becayse she hit a couple of blues, so was holding for 8-10 cycles.
I cannot see any blue on the 4.25u on the ss:confused:

Sure she hit 190 on 4u, so holding that dose for 8-10 cycles was in line with TR, but when you change the dose and re start the count you are looking to see what they do on the new dose. If they stay over 200 then the dosecrease would be after 6 cycles, if she was above 300 you would possible take her up after 4cycles.

Maybe I'm missing something:confused::confused:
 
Thank you. Yes we do need to trust others but it's so hard to give up that control and worry. But I know he loves her almost as much as me. And he loves me more than her so I know he will eventually get it right. I don't mean to sound unappreciative of him. He is trying. I am just so afraid for her. I don't mind you laughing. :) I do have sense of humor. You have too in these situations. I couldn't imagine doing the belly that is a kill zone on phoebe. Lol I would be pulling back a bloody stump. Ty for your words and pep talk. :)
Callie loves her tummy rubbed. Otherwise there is no way it would work. Her civvies, on the other hand, are the same as your Phoebe. Not even going to try to pet their tummies. I value my life too much. LOL They are all so different!

He WILL get it right. I'll bet the next time it goes great. He sounds like a good guy.

And yeah, I really need to trust my family enough to help so I'm not so tied down. So far I've been able to work it out, but I know the day is coming when it's not going to work. One more thing to work on... :)
 
It's fine that you don't want to take her up tonight because you are not able to monitor and for the issues that you have had.

But I am a little puzzled by this statement


I cannot see any blue on the 4.25u on the ss:confused:

Sure she hit 190 on 4u, so holding that dose for 8-10 cycles was in line with TR, but when you change the dose and re start the count you are looking to see what they do on the new dose. If they stay over 200 then the dosecrease would be after 6 cycles, if she was above 300 you would possible take her up after 4cycles.

Maybe I'm missing something:confused::confused:
Nope it's me. It's all jumbled in my head @Nan & Amber and I had dis cussed it and fir some reason I tjought it was 10 to 12 cycles hold. But yes ok. Jesus will this ever get easier? Will definitely up her dose +6 she is 296. I want her to get lower. I feel so bad it's been since Nov she's been in 300 and above. Thanks Gill.
 
Nope it's me. It's all jumbled in my head @Nan & Amber and I had dis cussed it and fir some reason I tjought it was 10 to 12 cycles hold. But yes ok. Jesus will this ever get easier? Will definitely up her dose +6 she is 296. I want her to get lower. I feel so bad it's been since Nov she's been in 300 and above. Thanks Gill.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
It's been a rough couple of days for you, I hope I didn't make you feel bad, it wasn't my intention, I wondered whether there was something I wasn't seeing.
It does get easier:bighug::bighug::bighug: hang in there.

What I'd suggest is to reassess dose at least every 6 cycles, ie stop look back and see what data you have (I would do that cycle 5) then using the guidelines on the protocol, see what you think should be your next step, ie increase or hold, as a sanity check what I always did was ask the question on cycle 5 Dosecrease or not? I'd make it the title of Georges condo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top