2/22 Oscar amps 322 +9 121 pmps 133 dosing ??s

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37299

Recap from yesterday:

amps 245 fed 1oz
+2.5 fed 1oz
+6 95 fed 1oz
+8 109
+10 173

pmps 147 fed 1oz
+3 fed 1oz
+4 54 fed 1oz
+5 57 fed 0.5oz
+6 56 fed 0.5oz

So this morning's number was quite a shocker. He doesn't really see pinks much at all, even when he is not on insulin. I am seeing a pattern of increasingly higher and higher amps numbers after runs of greens in the evening. I am wondering if he has bottomed out during the past few nights while I have been sleeping. I'll try to get a reading today at +9 to see which direction he is going. I am not sure if I should take a reduction to 1u tonight just in case - since he is trying to clear the bounce during the am cycle and it is the actual dose working on him without the liver's glycogen at night when I can't monitor as closely.

WCR - he obviously doesn't like the 300s - he has spent the morning sleeping so far. Appetite is healthy and normal though.

I'll post this same bit over in the levemir specific form to see if there is any advice over there too. Link to the levemir thread: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=37373&p=393672#p393672
 
Re: 2/22 Oscar amps 322 +6 224 dosing ??s

Nice numbers yesterday. To me this looks like a bounce, but I'm not good enough to give dosing advice. Tess has been having much higher bounces after a run of low numbers too. I'm not sure why, but am trying to ride it out. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/22 Oscar amps 322 +6 224 dosing ??s

I normally would ride it out too ..... but the lows that he has been hitting are quite low..... and he was riding the mid 50's before I went to bed, so if he went lower around +8 or +9, then it would have been quite low, and I am worried about his safety. My sleep cycle is already so messed up as it is because of the O-man. I really can't get up at 3am after going to bed at midnight in the hopes that I catch something when I have doctoral classes to sit through and rehearsals to play in all day!
 
Re: 2/22 Oscar amps 322 +6 224 +9 121 dosing ??s

+9 is 121. He is still dropping considerably even with food in his system nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/22 Oscar amps 322 +6 224 +9 121 dosing ??s

You might try adjusting your feeding schedule or the carb% of the food to help slow the drops, which will hopefully lessen the bounces a well. It's a slow process as it takes time to see the effects. I'm considering that w/ Tess now. I put the question out in our condo for advice, we'll see what others say. The hardest part is not breaking down and feeding really LC when the numbers are way up. Consistency in feeding just like w/ the insulin. :YMSIGH:
 
I figured that the worst that could happen is that we see high numbers for a few cycles. I'd rather that happen than him go through a hypo while I am sleeping :shock:
 
I'm wondering why you didn't take the dose reduction on 2/20. The numbers below 40 earn an automatic reduction. Taking the reduction now was warranted. I'm not sure when you're feeding, but with a later nadir, you may want to spread meals out further.
 
just stay on top of his numbers. Remember, you don't have to wait 6 cycles if a reduction fails. If it looks like 1 unit isn't holding, you can go right back up to the last good dose. I probably would have held the 1.25 for a few more cycles to see what happened when the bounce cleared.
 
I posted in a thread about dosing for the evening of 2/20 and the consensus was that the early drop was due to the previous dose since it was too early in the cycle for the reduction to 1.25u to have caused it. We held it to see if anything changed once the 1.5u dose cleared the system.

During the day I try to feed at shot time, around +3, and again around +6 or +7. At night he gets food at shot time, +3 and again at +5.

So far today it looks like the 1u held.... amps of 139. We'll see if he rises this cycle, or holds steady. I'll definitely bump him back up if we see yellows for two cycles or more! Thanks everyone for taking a look at his spreadsheet :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top