2/22 Nova - AMPS=243, +6=185, PMPS=221, +3=146-advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dawn & Nova

Very Active Member
She does have more energy today.. she wants to sleep (usually does most of the day) but can't seem to fall asleep.. so she's been watching out the window.. and glaring at the pair of shorts she dragged upstairs from the basement last night.. "ebil shorts! EEEEEEBBBBILL"..

Hoping for some blue today.. +2 is promising!


yesterday
 
Re: 2/22 Nova - AMPS=243, +2=225, +3=225, +5=189

BLUE!!!!!!

Oh man.. I'm so excited.. in a few days when this dose settles in could be some amazing times!
 
Re: 2/22 Nova - AMPS=243, +2=225, +3=225, +5=189

So Nova is reacting how I expected so far to the increase..and seems to have more energy.. so I don't think the climb the last few days was due to sickies or an infection..

I won't really know for a few days until I see where she settles..but I've been thinking.. if (and my question is based completely on IF.. not guaranteed situation) she does end up back to where she was-ish on 1U.. that's going to be a little bit too much insulin.. with her surgery date approaching quickly.. I'm wondering would it be better to:

A) Back off a tiny bit if we get back to the greens mid-day.. maybe try to pull off 0.9.. as she's reaching cycle 5, 6 or 7ish..
B) Continue with 1U.. go a little bit "past" where I want to be.. and then reduce down to 0.9 or 0.8..

For *my* sake I slightly prefer A.. would (hopefully) give me a bigger hope of getting some sleep this weekend (worrying about the surgery will be enough stress).. and try to be as prepared as I can to take 20 hour a day care of her afterwords if necessary.. option A also has a smaller chance of rebound.. which I'm not sure this is the best time for it..

However, what's best for her is paramount.. my sanity is secondary :).. is there any major advantage/disadvantage with either of the routes for her?

This isn't my typical line of thinking.. surgery in 6 days is my primary concern.
 
Hmmmm. I feel totally under qualified to answer your questions, but I can give you my 2 cents.

Your comfort level is one of the most important things, so go with your gut, first. But, it seems like your gut is undecided.

1 unit is a pretty small dose. It looks like she had some good results in the past couple of weeks. You are assuming you will have to increase, but these higher number could be the new dose wonkiness...so you may find that 1 unit is her dose, it just hasn't settled yet. I don't think it would hurt her if you decreased a bit, it's not like you are cutting out the shots, but...just make sure you need to decrease.

What does your vet say about her insulin before surgery? Are you supposed to be decreasing for some reason?
 
Sara & Magnolia said:
1 unit is a pretty small dose. It looks like she had some good results in the past couple of weeks. You are assuming you will have to increase, but these higher number could be the new dose wonkiness...so you may find that 1 unit is her dose, it just hasn't settled yet. I don't think it would hurt her if you decreased a bit, it's not like you are cutting out the shots, but...just make sure you need to decrease.

What does your vet say about her insulin before surgery? Are you supposed to be decreasing for some reason?

I don't think I'll have to increase above 1U.. moved back up to 1U 3 cycles ago.. and her numbers are returning to happy blues.. greens soon I predict.. but I suspect 1U will be a tiny too much by the time she settles again..

The morning of surgery we're going to do half her regular dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top