2/22 Munchie AMPS 493

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
last condo

Thanks all for the feedback yesterday. Is the danger of increasing during a bounce that they may drop out after the bounce has cleared?

"The drop from 414 to 209 is substantial." Yeah, I've noticed this type of drop for her a number of times recently. Last night she did this as well: 581 to 336 by +4. 2/19 same: 532 to 348. *Does this indicate something in particular?*

I'm holding the 1.5 this morning but wondering if I should bump her up to a 1.5F tonight or if I should get another evening reading tonight to see if bounce has cleared. I know their response to insulin can change over time but haven't yet been successful increasing her past 1.5 for any extended period without her earning a reduction. What I don't understand about her numbers is when she earns a reduction but hasn't gotten regulated on the dose. I'll try skinnying the dose if she earns one I think.

In terms of the homeopathic remedy, she hasn't had it for about a week. I usually don't have to repeat the remedy but my homeopath and I were trying to see if repeating might help her since she had such great results the first time it was used (sometimes with chronic conditions it has to be repeated).
 
I'll try to get some eyes on your post about your questions for tonight's dose. And, yes, if the kitty is coming down from a bounce and also has a dose increase at the same time, she may dive down too fast and too low, and just set up another bounce.
 
Elizabeth & Munchie said:
Is the danger of increasing during a bounce that they may drop out after the bounce has cleared?
Yes! That's exactly right. Some cats can clear a bounce with a vengeance!

"The drop from 414 to 209 is substantial." Yeah, I've noticed this type of drop for her a number of times recently. Last night she did this as well: 581 to 336 by +4. 2/19 same: 532 to 348. *Does this indicate something in particular?*
What it indicates, at least to me, is that this is likely to be why Munchie is so bouncy. Bounces don't occur only because a cat drops into low numbers. They can occur due to a big, relatively fast drop in numbers.

I'm holding the 1.5 this morning but wondering if I should bump her up to a 1.5F tonight or if I should get another evening reading tonight to see if bounce has cleared. I know their response to insulin can change over time but haven't yet been successful increasing her past 1.5 for any extended period without her earning a reduction. What I don't understand about her numbers is when she earns a reduction but hasn't gotten regulated on the dose. I'll try skinnying the dose if she earns one I think.
If the bounce has cleared, I would increase. You're doing a good job of getting tests at night. What I would suggest, though, is increasing by 0.25u. Adding some fat to a dose makes sense if you're in lower numbers and trying to zero in on a good dose. I don't think Munchie is there yet so I'd encourage you to stick with the protocol and take the full increase.

If you think that having Munchie spend more time at a dose as a means of getting her entire level to come down is that you can use a slightly different approach. If you go to the TR Protocol (vs. our modified version), one option is to lower the dose only after there have been 3 drops below 50. (A drop in numbers below 40 always gets a reduction.)
TR Protocol said:
Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!
 
Hi guys .. glad you got your questions answered .. now if munchie would just come down and stay down .. hear that little miss? have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/22 Munchie AMPS 493 PMPS 374

Thanks All. Well, I was ecstatic that her PMPS was not a red. (and she was happier I could tell with her energy)

I'm not clear with her when her bounce has "cleared" because unfortunately the more I wait, the more she seems to bounce again. I increased tonight and am hoping that was okay. The pink was certainly better than her morning red. **If folks think I should have waited, let me know and if you can share your reasoning so I understand, that would be helpful.** Waiting 6 cycles with her is what I've often done in the past, but unfortunately she just seems to come up with more bounces during that 6 so that leaves me a little more confused about how to judge when a bounce has "cleared". Any insight on this would be great.

(Not having her daytime numbers makes me a little nervous with increasing but we can know pretty much for sure she wasn't sailing in the greens today. Plus I was able to check her urine right when I got home and her glucose was +2 and if she was in even blues for significant period of time, it would be less than that.)

Let's hope she does a gentle descent into better numbers tonight and not a nose dive.
 
So far, so good. +2.5 is 301 from a PMPS of 374...more gradual than last few nights.
 
I think about 35 points an hour is purfect. Keep it going down nice and easy Munchie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top