2/22 Moonie AMPS 263 OUR 2ND ANNIVERSARY HERE!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roni and Moonie

Very Active Member
Dear FDMB family--Our story is so long, today is a bitter sweet day for us! Moonie' vet visits started 1/4/08-2/22/08 before she was put on insulin (humilin N-2U bid) by our very uninformed former vet--DX-floating kneecap,UTI,transient diabetic( :?: ),neuropathy, arthritis. Fructosamine was in the 700's--Moonie being transformed from a happy ,jumping , active cat, to a terrified, hiding, inactive,sadly ill baby, that we hardly knew.She would NOT let us touch her, much less shoot or test her-vet says she's fractious cat, must be urine tested--OK I can do this.

So I begin an 11 month journey of testing urine 3X per day, water input, urine output, ketone testing & the hardest-giving Moonie shots, while vet keeps raising the N!! Moonie fought me every single day, fought every shot, every attempt to help her! I cried every day for almost a year!

Thank God I was lurking here & finally went on health, & when he said give the cat 4 units of N-I said NO!!!
Went to a vet specialist who put her on lantus,Bless her, and Moonie's life finally began! She started on 1 U bid & the healing begins. I learn the ins & out of urine testing and became quite good at it--Moonie's urines are negative a LOT & doses were lowered!!-After her 1st dental, 5 teeth TAKEN out, her UG is negative so much we lower her dose all the way to 0.1U ! I have met up with Jill & Jojo, who start guiding me & save the day!!
I am now leading the forum called Alternative Monitoring for those who cannot BG test as yet & want to use UG tests in the interim!!
Life is a little less stressful and JOY-Moonie is jumping on the bed, couch, & all her old spots--Still BG tests are impossible, she scratches me so much~I cant take anymore! I was going CRAZY!!
We come on Lantus & on AM boards--Thank our lucky stars! An LL member-Jackie-comes here for Moonie's 1st BG test, & has a hard time but gets her!!! -So we begin the sporadic bg tests, still ug testing, until 1/09 when Moonie finally lets me test her every day! 11 MONTHS LATER! We Got IT!!

So Begins Our Good Life in Lantus Land--Moonie is Not Fractious anymore. She is healthy. she is happy, she can jump to her happy places, she is shiny -she is loving-she is well!! Today is a milestone for us!! Where I always prayed for OTJ, I pray for her continued good health.
Was it my error to not be BG testing & maybe back then she could have been OTJ--did I miss that moment?--Guess I'll never know
Thank You ,Dear Lantus Land for saving Moonie's life, my sanity, & our whole family. This Is A Success Story!! Seeing her sweet, happy, purring face every day, our bond together-I have learned so much--My tears are those of JOY-Thank you all who helped us & those we help & pay it forward-Best 2 years of my Life! (And Moonie gets a dosecrease for her annifursary!!) :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
What a sweet post Roni, Moonie is one lucky and loved kitty.

Happy Annifursary to you both and many more happy, healthy years!


:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Dear Roni & Moonie, Your story is amazing and a real inspiration. I remember, 4 years ago, being in denial about bg testing at home, trying instead to test Stu with KetoDiastix, and "scientifically" with a measuring cup measuring how much water he drank, changing his diet to LC (and, to boot, he was an ice cream freak and couldn't understand why he was forbidden to lick our plates!). Moonie's history is a must-read. Wow, she has come so far! Happy, Happy Anniversary!!!!! Good luck with the doscrease. Stu sends his special affection to Moonie.

Ella & Stu
 
Congratulations Roni and Moonie! I remember very well all the troubles you went through trying to get the BG tests! You are in inspiration and show others what persistence can do.
 
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
(((Roni & Moonie)))
What an inspiring wonderful post! Happy Anniversary to you both!! I couldn't agree more - although only a month & a half into this Sugar Dance - my most important prayer is for Baby's Good Health - sure I want her OTJ - but that is secondary to everything else. An enriched, beautiful bond & healthy numbers are a blessing that I will never take for granted.

Moonie is so blessed to have you & I wish for you continued success … and Blessings in Abundance - I do believe that everything happens when it is supposed to, so don't look back on any missed opportunities.. Everyday holds the possibility of a miracle & Moonie is doing sooooooooo good!! Have a fabulous day & week!! cat_pet_icon
 
Happy Anniversary Roni & Moonie.

We can only look forward and learn from the past.
Moonie is happy and healthy and if you have to give her insulin forever, you know
you will.

She is lucky to have you as her Mama bean and you are lucky to have her as well.
G-d gives us what he knows we can handle and Moonie was given to you for that reason.

You have helped so many of us "newbies" here with your support, encouragment, advice and compassion.

Thank you for being here for all of us. We will try and do you proud by passing on what we have learnt from you to others.
 
Happy Anniversary Roni & Moonie! Yours is a story of great love and I think that, more than anything, is what brought Moonie back to the happy and healthy kitty she is today. :YMHUG:
 
Roni and Moonie
Happy 2nd to both of you and such a success story. Living healthy, happy, shiney, and jumping around-ain't life grand!
 
Congratulations to your both! What an ordeal - I hesitate to even think what would have happened if you hadn't found your new vet and LL. Best wishes for continuing good health for Moonie.
 
69.gif
 
Congratulations and Happy Annifursary Roni and Moonie!

I have a friend who went through what you went through, and finally was able to get blood after a loooooong time.. terrified the whole time that the cat would eat her alive. :o She felt very empowered, much as I'm sure you do. :)

I remember you from way back when you first got here, and I've watched you grow and learn and become one of our best at paying it forward. Great job, Roni! Your baby girl lives a wonderful life because of the championing you've done for her.

Your story is an inspiring one! :) Scritches to your crazy lil girl for me!
 
Happy Annifursary Roni and Moonie!!!

A Happy, Healthy kitty is the main goal we all have here :smile: And guess what...you have one!

So glad you found LL and so glad Jackie (would that be Jackie-O? :mrgreen:) was able to help you learn to BG test your fractious Moonie.

Happy dosecrease annifursary day!!
 
Happy Annifursery to You, Happy Annifursery to you, Happy Annifursery dear Roni and Moonie, Happy Annifursery to You!!!

What a wonderful story you've shared with us, Roni. You are si deducated to Moonie and her well being! It's nice to hear that Ms. Moonie is doing so wonderful and is able to jump to all her fav spots. Again, happy annifursery! Love ya both soooo much!
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie AMPS 263,+2~226,+3~188,+5~192

New dose hasnt kicked in yet!!--THANK U FOR ALL THE LOVELY GREETINGS & WELL WISHES--Going to art class- Be back soon-HUGS~!
 
Roni and Moonie said:
She is healthy. she is happy, she can jump to her happy places, she is shiny -she is loving-she is well!! Today is a milestone for us!! Where I always prayed for OTJ, I pray for her continued good health.
Was it my error to not be BG testing & maybe back then she could have been OTJ--did I miss that moment?--Guess I'll never know

You didn't miss that moment.. it never existed. You did the best you knew how, and kept pushing to learn more and do better. And your persistence is ridiculous.. I think you created lots of opportunities for Moonie that for most would have never existed as well. Inspirational to say the least.

Moonie is very lucky to have you!
 
Roni,
What a GREAT story of you and Moonie. I am so happy that she is back to being her loving playful self, just like the old days. You are doing a great job keeping her well.

Mike & Bo (GA)
 
party_cat HAPPY ANNIFURSARY MOONIE AND RONI !! party_cat

Your beautiful story is an inspiration to all of us here! You are a shining example of how loving persistence can bring about wonderful changes. Moonie's good health is a tribute to all you have done for her, Roni!
Your example has helped us all so much and your untiring kindness to us all is a beautiful gift to LL!!

Congratulations to you both....you have worked hard and it has paid off so far! I would not be surprised to see Moonie with her very own OTJ party ~ and I will celebrate all day long! But for now, I celebrate all you have learned and all you have done, dear Friend....HUGs to you and kisses to dear Moonie... :YMHUG:
Enjoy your day!!!
 
Oh wow Roni, that is such a great story... of how persistence and love can get you through some difficult times. I think your adventures with Moonie are so valuable for those who face challenges to read and I know you help those that struggle with their kitties. While many of us struggled for a day or two to get tests or shots, we can't explain through 'experience' how to help in such difficult cases.

Thank goodness you are here and can empathize with beans and kitties that are so challenging to test/shoot so the bean doesn't feel so alone. Not every kitty is easy to test or shoot; I sometimes forget that important point.

Congratulations on this anniversary and your loving care for Moonie. It's a wonderful story.
 
Happy Annifursary to our dear friends Roni & Moonie...and many, many more!
party_cat drinking24 party_cat drinking24 party_cat drinking24 party_cat drinking24 party_cat drinking24
 
Roni & Moonie! Your story is amazing!

Your strength to continue even though it was hard. That is so honorable and commendable. And you were able to find the right insulin! And life got better!

I could not say "Congratulations!" without a bigger smile on my face! :mrgreen:

Happy 2 years of life, Moonie!

party_cat party_cat party_cat
 
Congratulations on 2 years! Thanks for sharing your story, I knew some of it but not all of it. Also thank you for paying it forward by helping others who are urine testing. I have a lot of respect for you for doing that for so long. It's so much easier just to be able to poke the cat and know what is going on, versus having to try to interpret all the different factors that you did.

Moonie is doing so well these days, I'm proud of you. :YMHUG:
 
Sorry we are late to the party! Happy annifursary!

Moonie is a very luck kitty and you are on persistent mamabean! What a journey!
Best wishes for continuing good health for Moonie.

Cheers!
 
*Happy tears*

I am so so glad I stopped in here today!!!
(((Roni and Moonie)))
Congratulations! You are definitely a success story!!
big fat hugs to you!!! :-D
 
Congratulations on your healthy, happy, shiny, loving kitty.
Thank you for not giving up on her - the love you share is obvious.

You bring so much to this group. Have a terrific anniversary, and I hope Moonie gets some very special treats to celebrate.
 
((Roni))
What a wonderful story that Moonie has to tell regarding her sugar journey!
She certainly has come a long way.. and you have been such a caring and loving bean to get her to where she is today..

Give that shiny, happy, lovey kitty a scritch from me!

Happy Annifursary Moonie
clap.gif
 
After all this time I have never known the full story, just bits and pieces. Thank you so much for sharing the trials and tribulations over the past few years!!!! I can now see through all the ups and downs you have shown great patience and understanding of the process. what a great inspiration you and Moonie are!

Though I know its bittersweet, I do hope you are celebrating at home! party_cat

What a lucky cat...and what a lucky bean!
 
Happy Annifursary Roni and Moonie! May you have many more happy and healthy years together! I am so happy for you and proud of you both. You have faced so much together and you are such an inspiration. You give so much to all of us here on the Board. You are a success story.
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie AMPS 263,PMPS 226,+4~153

THANK YOU ALL FOR MAKING THIS ANNIFURSARY SO SPECIAL..
MOONIE SAYS THANKS TO ALL HER FRIENDS HERE.. party_cat drinking24 party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat
So tonite we celebrate A happy day in our lives, and wish all of LL beautiful dreams, good feelings, high hopes, and a good sleepus-Ni Ni LL!!
I now tuck everyone in like Jill & Jojo used to do for me. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
You are right Roni, it is a bittersweet day BUT it is still a celebration of Moonie's improvement and quality of life. So, while you may not be where you hoped you'd be - you are in a better place than you were. Happy Annifursary and may you both enjoy many more healthy ones.
 
2 years? wow! the time has flown by!
you and moonie have sure come a long way in the past 2 years. i'm so glad you've shared your story... and stuck around to tell it. :-D
ronnie, thank you for everything you do and have done in LL. we all appreciate your encouraging words...

Happy 2 Year Annifursary!!!
 
Happy 2nd Anniversary, Roni and Moonie!!! Thank's for sharing your story with us.
What an inspiration your story is to the people who are struggling. What a dedication of love.
Thank you for being her Roni.
 
Happy Anniversary!!! Wow what a story! I am so thankful that Scrabble has been pretty easy with the home testing and shots! I can't believe what you went through, but it does show that persistence and love do pay off!! Have a great day!!! Hugs!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top