? 2/22 Moe AMPS 568; just out of remission

Erin and Moe (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hi all -
Moe has been in remission for about four months; last insulin was given October 1st. He started acting off a couple of weeks ago so I took him to the vet on 2/3/2020 for a physical and full blood panel. All came back normal including BG in the office at 135. I've been spot checking his BG since then and it went up to the high 200s early this week, then jumped to 527 morning of 2/21. This morning before feeding it was 568. He is on Flagyl and taking Proviable DC probiotic for loose stools. I've stopped the Proviable this morning because of possible sugar ingredient.

I think I need to start insulin again before it gets even worse. My vet is unavailable until Monday. Question of the moment is whether the insulin I have is still good, and what dose to start at?

Insulin: I have a basaglar pen that was first used September 1, 2019. It has been refrigerated since then, and appears clear, no floaty stuff or anything that looks bad to the naked eye. I have two refills on my prescription, but if I can use what I have that would be great.

Dosing: He was started at 1 unit back in September, increased briefly to 2 units and dropped immediately back to one after BG went really low. I was giving 0.5 units at the time he went into remission in October. What do you suggest for a starting dose?

I am home all weekend, so I can monitor and do curves. I want to nip this in the bud.

Thanks so much for any insight.
Erin and Moe
 
Morning Erin,

Awww, bummer that Moe may have come out of remission, but good on YOU for catching it and being proactive! I'm not one to give dosing advice, and I'm sure someone brilliant will chime in soon!

Maybe add the blue ? to the front of your title?

Good luck! (Give Moe a skritch from me, my sugar boy Jonesy looks similar to him ;) )

Darcy
 
Update: I spoke to my vet this afternoon and she agreed that Moe needs to start insulin again. She didn't think the old vial of basaglar would still be effective at 6 months old, so I got a new one this afternoon. I will be starting Moe on 0.5 unit 2x/day; first shot will be today at 5:00 pm. She wants an update after a few days to see how he's responding to that dosing and we will adjust from there if needed. He's currently hiding in a drawer in the closet, so I know he's feeling terrible. I hope he responds just a quickly this time around.
 
I am so sorry that you lost remission. We know very well how horrible that feels after enjoying no shots and confinement.

Glad you caught it ! Hopefully , as soon as he starts feeling better , he will quickly get regulated and maybe go back OTJ .
 
Last edited:
Poor old boy just climbed out of the drawer and vomited. Ate a tiny bit, went to the litter box and peed, and then vomited again. He’s now in his bed on the dining room table. I sure want to give him that first dose of insulin now and get him on the way to feeling better, but that will mess up his 12 hour schedule. I wish I could do something to help him NOW.
 
Oh, that's so sad...

On your previous SS it looks like his numbers were still above 100...

I apologize that I don't know his history - but was he ever under 100 for the 14 day OTJ trail? Or was that the trial? Sorry, I'm just a bit confused about his history of being OTJ...it's probably somewhere here?
 
Back
Top