Erin and Moe (GA)
Member Since 2019
Hi all -
Moe has been in remission for about four months; last insulin was given October 1st. He started acting off a couple of weeks ago so I took him to the vet on 2/3/2020 for a physical and full blood panel. All came back normal including BG in the office at 135. I've been spot checking his BG since then and it went up to the high 200s early this week, then jumped to 527 morning of 2/21. This morning before feeding it was 568. He is on Flagyl and taking Proviable DC probiotic for loose stools. I've stopped the Proviable this morning because of possible sugar ingredient.
I think I need to start insulin again before it gets even worse. My vet is unavailable until Monday. Question of the moment is whether the insulin I have is still good, and what dose to start at?
Insulin: I have a basaglar pen that was first used September 1, 2019. It has been refrigerated since then, and appears clear, no floaty stuff or anything that looks bad to the naked eye. I have two refills on my prescription, but if I can use what I have that would be great.
Dosing: He was started at 1 unit back in September, increased briefly to 2 units and dropped immediately back to one after BG went really low. I was giving 0.5 units at the time he went into remission in October. What do you suggest for a starting dose?
I am home all weekend, so I can monitor and do curves. I want to nip this in the bud.
Thanks so much for any insight.
Erin and Moe
Moe has been in remission for about four months; last insulin was given October 1st. He started acting off a couple of weeks ago so I took him to the vet on 2/3/2020 for a physical and full blood panel. All came back normal including BG in the office at 135. I've been spot checking his BG since then and it went up to the high 200s early this week, then jumped to 527 morning of 2/21. This morning before feeding it was 568. He is on Flagyl and taking Proviable DC probiotic for loose stools. I've stopped the Proviable this morning because of possible sugar ingredient.
I think I need to start insulin again before it gets even worse. My vet is unavailable until Monday. Question of the moment is whether the insulin I have is still good, and what dose to start at?
Insulin: I have a basaglar pen that was first used September 1, 2019. It has been refrigerated since then, and appears clear, no floaty stuff or anything that looks bad to the naked eye. I have two refills on my prescription, but if I can use what I have that would be great.
Dosing: He was started at 1 unit back in September, increased briefly to 2 units and dropped immediately back to one after BG went really low. I was giving 0.5 units at the time he went into remission in October. What do you suggest for a starting dose?
I am home all weekend, so I can monitor and do curves. I want to nip this in the bud.
Thanks so much for any insight.
Erin and Moe